cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ask

Solution

Could not activate cellular data network?

Ayri
2: Seeker
2: Seeker

Hi, It's my first time posting for help on this so sorry if I'm not that clear of my problem.

I've been having a problem with 3G on my iPhone4s contract that I've had for a few months now. I can never seem to connect where ever I am, Rarely I manage to get connected but I always recieve the message "Safari could not open the page because the server stopped responding." I resetted my Phone and tried again, The network icon at the top stayed on "Searching.." and eventually gave me a message saying "Could not activate cellular data network." I don't know if I've done something that could affect this or is it the area that I'm living in. My post code area is EH19. I always have the 3G Icon and Full bars in my area but I can never connect to the Internet on my Phone. Is anyone else having this problem or is there something wrong with my iPhone? Much help appreciated. Thanks :smileyhappy:

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi Dave,

Thanks for that. It was previously on a vodafone contract which is why the settings would have been wrong.

I managed to fix it last night from info on another forum which told me to get the correct settings by texting 'WEB' to 40127.

Did this and received a link which I was able to download straight to my phone (needed wifi for this).

Fixed within moments.

Cheerio.

View solution in original position

10 REPLIES 10

Retired-James
Moderator (Retired)
Moderator (Retired)

Hi Ayri,

Many thanks for your post here.

To be honest when it comes to this type of message there is usually two things that could be causing it;

1. The APN settings on the phone are incorrect.
  2. The account is not setup correctly.

Basically can you let me know if you are on contract or PAYG and also let me know what settings you have in your phone?

Also have you tried to do a full back up and restore via iTunes?