Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ask

Solution

iphone 4s unlocking

lancashirescott
1: Seeker

Hi,

I am looking to buy a used iPhone 4s, the one I have seen is currently locked to Vodafone, the vendor is not the owner per se just a seller.

I have limited knowledge on how this all works but from what I can gather there is a bit of confusion as to how I can go about unlocking this phone if I buy it, I know you can go to the Vodafone web page and request a phone to be unlocked (NUC?).

I am a monthly paying Vodafone customer without a present tying contract, which way would be best to proceed to unlock this phone if I can?

Should I request the unlock through a PAYG or would it be better through a monthly?

I ask this because I rung Vodafone this morning and the guy told me that only the original owner could request the phone to be unlocked, is this correct, if so seeing as I don't know the registered owner is there any way I can register as the new owner then unlock.

Any help advice would be much appreciated

Scott

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

jeffkinn
17: Community Champion
17: Community Champion
In a word no. You won't be able to get it unlocked under any circumstances. Don't buy it if it isn't already unlocked. Only the original owner can request the unlock. Vodafone won't unlock it for anyone else ever under any circumstances.

Jeffkinn_Sig.png

View solution in original position

17 REPLIES 17

Hi, I already had posted in a thread - but nobody bothered assisting, hence the new post started!

drey_p
16: Advanced member

@sparkytiger79 wrote:

Hi, I already had posted in a thread - but nobody bothered assisting, hence the new post started!

You may not get an instant reply to your post - this is a forum and not a LiveChat service.  Also, I would like to point out that Grolschuk did reply to your post about 4 minutes after you originally posted so I am not sure where you got the idea that no one had bothered to reply!

PWIAC

Hello,