You are here:
Ask a question:
Reply
Rank 1: Guest
mwv13
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎26-12-2010
Accepted Solution

BlackBerry Messenger

I got a BlackBerry for Christmas and I don't have BBM on the contract. How do I get it on my contract? Do I just ring the Vodafone customer service and ask?

 

Thanks :-)

Message 1 of 17 (32,255 Views)
Rank 13: Guide II
laurie_dunkley
Posts: 172
Registered: ‎25-12-2010

Re: BlackBerry Messenger

BBM will be on the BlackBerry. If it isn't working you need to activate BlackBerry Internet Service (BIS), which costs £5.00pm. You need to ring 191 to do this
Message 2 of 17 (32,236 Views)
Rank 14: Guide III
QyKo
Posts: 387
Registered: ‎16-07-2009

Re: BlackBerry Messenger

If its not on the device itself you will need to download it via App World.
Storm 9500 - Dec 08 - Oct 09 || Storm 9520 - Oct 09 - July 10
Bold 9700 - July 10 - Sept 11 || Bold 9900 - Sept 11 - Jan 12
iPhone 4s - Jan 12 - Feb 13 || z10 Feb 13 - Oct 13
S4 - Current
Message 3 of 17 (32,173 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
hshanan
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎27-12-2010

Re: BlackBerry Messenger

My son is on contract but bought a blackberry for xmas and is gonna use his contract sim in it.  I rang up yesterday to get the bb services added on for £5.00.  I would like to know whether using bbm will incur any additional charges?  i.e. will it charge any data to send a bbm message

Message 4 of 17 (32,097 Views)
Rank 35: Scholar IV
redpages
Posts: 2,224
Registered: ‎14-02-2008

Re: BlackBerry Messenger

BlackBerry Messenger sends messages via data although unless you're a massively high user it shouldn't make too much of a mark into an allowance. One BlackBerry Message can be as little as 1kb - there are 1024kbs in 1MB to give you an idea.

Message 5 of 17 (32,067 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
hshanan
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎27-12-2010

Re: BlackBerry Messenger

so do I need to spend another £5.00 on top of the £5.00 for bb services in order to use bb messenger?????? 

Message 6 of 17 (32,055 Views)
Rank 13: Guide II
laurie_dunkley
Posts: 172
Registered: ‎25-12-2010

Re: BlackBerry Messenger

if you're on contract normally there is a 500mb allowance included in your monthly price plan. The only additional cost wold be be BIS at £5.00pm for BlackBerry services eg BBM
Message 7 of 17 (32,032 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
kylereynolds
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎25-01-2011

Re: BlackBerry Messenger

hi im on pay as you go and i have had my phone for a while and i still dont know how to use bbm? just wanted to see if u can send my phone the updates for it so i can go on bbm , i have phoned 191 but it wern't any help just took all my cred and didnt help so hope u can thanks kyle p.s my phone is a blackberry 9500

Message 8 of 17 (31,355 Views)
Tech Team
Wayne
Posts: 18,014
Registered: ‎04-08-2008

Re: BlackBerry Messenger

Hi kylereynolds and welcome to the eForum

 

Thanks for your post here. To get BlackBerry messenger up and running you'll need to have the BlackBerry service added to your plan.

 

This page explains how to get it :-

 

BlackBerry on Pay as you go

 

Once you have this, and you have GPRS in capitals you'll just need to set your email up and you'll be away :smileyhappy:

 

Setup Email

 

Please let me know how you get on and if you have any more questions we'll be happy to help you further

 

Thanks

 

Wayne

 

eForum team

Message 9 of 17 (31,296 Views)
Rank 4: Established Poster
melkinny360
Posts: 60
Registered: ‎22-12-2010

Re: BlackBerry Messenger

I was wondering if there is a Blackberry Messenger Android Application. ... Default Re:Blackberry Messenger Android Application ... your BlackBerry smartphone must haveBlackBerry Device Software v3.7.x or .... BlackBerry Application Center and Storefront officially announced, vbreal,

******************

melkinny

Message 10 of 17 (31,212 Views)
Rank 4: Established Poster
melkinny360
Posts: 60
Registered: ‎22-12-2010

Re: BlackBerry Messenger

25 Jan 2011 ... see weve tried adding each other back and forward but nothing seems to be happening.

****************

melkinny

Message 11 of 17 (31,210 Views)
Rank 14: Guide III
QyKo
Posts: 387
Registered: ‎16-07-2009

Re: BlackBerry Messenger

Android is a complete different operating system than the blackberry OS
the BBM is on the blackberry servers therefore only available through blackberry.
Although i dont think it would be hard for them to set it up as a global instant messenger but i doubt blackberry would allow it as Andriod phones are major competitors to blackberry as is Apple OS
Storm 9500 - Dec 08 - Oct 09 || Storm 9520 - Oct 09 - July 10
Bold 9700 - July 10 - Sept 11 || Bold 9900 - Sept 11 - Jan 12
iPhone 4s - Jan 12 - Feb 13 || z10 Feb 13 - Oct 13
S4 - Current
Message 12 of 17 (31,192 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
SophiiLouise
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-02-2011

Re: BlackBerry Messenger

Hi,

I have just had the same problem & solved it.

I rang up vodafone on 191, press 1 then press 5 at the next menu.

You will be put through to somebody.

Tell them your bbm isnt working, they will need you to pay an extra £5 a month for all your blackberry devices to work such as.. bbm, internet, facebook etc... without it, all you can do is ring and text.

They will then give you this address http://mobileemail.vodafone.net/ to go to and you need to create an account. If like mine it says sorry your blackberry internet service is suspended etc.. its because it takes up to 12hours for everything to work.


Hope this helps

Message 13 of 17 (30,689 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
sophieeeee1234
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-12-2012

Re: BlackBerry Messenger

i topped up £10 to get my bbm and i rang up 40035 to activate it but when i pressed 1 it didnt work :/ what do i do?

Message 14 of 17 (11,799 Views)
Moderator (Retired)
Moderator (Retired)
Lee
Posts: 19,284
Registered: ‎27-10-2008

Re: BlackBerry Messenger

Hello sophieeeee1234,

 

Have you tried again since posting?

 

If not, could you do the honours and if you're still experiencing the issue we'll need to investigate.

 

I've sent you a PM which can be accessed here. If you could follow the instructions in the PM and send us your details one of the team will be with you as soon as they can.

Cheers,

LeeH

Message 15 of 17 (11,769 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
nicolaa
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-12-2012

Re: BlackBerry Messenger

hi i topped up £10 pounds for free internet and texts my texts are working fine but my internet isnt :/ and also i recieved a text saying i opted out of bbm but when i call 40035 it says im opted in but they havent even taken £5 credit off me and bbm certainly isnt working :/

Message 16 of 17 (11,311 Views)
Moderator (Retired)
James
Posts: 23,636
Registered: ‎21-07-2008

Re: BlackBerry Messenger

Hi nicolaa,

 

Thanks you for bringing this to our attention, I think we will need to check the account in full to see exactly what is happening.

 

So that we can do this I have sent you a quick PM, please follow the instructions on the PM and one of the team will be able to pick this up for you.

 

You can find your PM inbox here.

 

James

I’m part of the Vodafone Tech Team and here to help. As this is a public forum, we can only answer non account specific queries. Please note, we’re unable to reply to private messages.


If you see a helpful post, please click the 'Thanks' button to let the author know. If a post solves your query, please click the ‘This is the Answer?’ button. This helps others find helpful answers in the community too.

Message 17 of 17 (11,244 Views)