cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ask

Solution

Connecting my Synology NAS (DSM 215J) & TP Link Power Line (AV 200)

Crashmoe
3: Seeker
3: Seeker

Hi I do hope I can get some assistance either from VF or maybe from members.  I am a a senior citizen who has been enjoying the use of a Synology NAS for some years as a file server for my PC as well as a media server for my TV.  Joined VF yesterday and the the  internet and router are running fine, however I am now unable to connect to either my NAS or a TP Link Power Line AV200 which serves  Media to the TV in the Den.  Discovering this forum I can see that I am not the first who may have had some issues.  However, in my case I am not technically capable of understanding all the issues which I have seen raised on this and other forums.  Is there anyone who can spell it out (or an online source) so I can understand what settings I need to set up on the connect router in order to see these 2 devices.  I have just discovered "expert mode" and am scared witless!  I can see that my NAS and the VF router appear to have the same IP address but port forwarding???, DCHP???? etc etc are beyond me ken!

10 REPLIES 10

MrWhite
10: Established
10: Established

You said that the NAS and router have the same IP address?  If that's the case, you're certainly going to get conflicts.  By default the router will have an IP address of 192.168.1.1.  With your NAS, you'll either have to change its static IP address (ideally to one thta isn't goin to be used by another device, e.g. 192.168.1.100) or change the settings on the NAS so that it picks up an IP address automatically.

How are you normally connecting to the NAS?