You are here:
Ask a question:
Reply
Rank 1: Guest
crobar
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-08-2011
Accepted Solution

How to connect to my work VPN?

Hello,

 

I would like to connect to my work VPN which I normally achieve through the standard Windows XP dial-up software. I believe this is a Microsoft PPTP VPN.

 

Whe I try to connect using my vodafone USB mobile broadband dongle connection I get error 619. I have model K3770 HSPA USB Stick and am a pre-pay customer.

 

Can I connect to the VPN, and if so how exactly?

 

Thanks,

 

Richard

Message 1 of 28 (16,343 Views)
Moderator (Retired)
James
Posts: 23,636
Registered: ‎21-07-2008

Re: How to connect to my work VPN?

Hi crobar,

 

Unfortunately this is a little beyond my area of expertise and I currently don't have any support in with me at this time of night.

 

However, please don't worry as I will pass your post onto our day team who will be able to assist you further.

 

James

eForum Team



I’m part of the Vodafone Tech Team and here to help. As this is a public forum, we can only answer non account specific queries. Please note, we’re unable to reply to private messages.


If you see a helpful post, please click the 'Thanks' button to let the author know. If a post solves your query, please click the ‘This is the Answer?’ button. This helps others find helpful answers in the community too.

Message 2 of 28 (16,325 Views)
Moderator (Retired)
Dave
Posts: 13,816
Registered: ‎28-11-2008

Re: How to connect to my work VPN?

Hi crobar,

 

We do have a section on RAS error 619 in our Mobile Broadband troubleshooting guide - have you checked over this already and followed the instructions there?

 

I realise that the VPN aspect of the query may be affecting this, so can I also get you to check these as they are a list of common reasons for this issue:

 

 - Wrong security details for getting through established security on connection (e.g. VPN login)

 - Wrong internet security parameters (e.g. CHAP, cyphering, OpCo dependant)

 - SIM/APNs not set up correctly - When attempting to connect, are you selecting the contract connection in error? With a PAYG SIM, you'd need to use the alternate pre-pay connection for it to be recognised.

 

Let us now how you get on.

 

Kind regards

 

Dave

 

eForum Team



I’m part of the Vodafone Tech Team and here to help. As this is a public forum, we can only answer non account specific queries. Please note, we’re unable to reply to private messages.


If you see a helpful post, please click the 'Thanks' button to let the author know. If a post solves your query, please click the ‘This is the Answer?’ button. This helps others find helpful answers in the community too.

Message 3 of 28 (16,317 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
crobar
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-08-2011

Re: How to connect to my work VPN?

[ Edited ]

Hi,

 

Thanks for replying. The VPN works fine on most other internet connections from the same laptop (i.e. connections where VPNs are not restricted such as some WiFi access points etc.). The VPN software I'm using is the standard Microsoft VPN software as supplied with windows. The VPN type is set to automatic, so I'm not sure exactly what type my work VPN is, but I suspect it will not be anything exotic, probably PPTP. For these reasons, I don't think the first two suggestions are likely to be the problem.

 

I gather from a other respondents on the forum here (e.g. http://forum.vodafone.co.uk/t5/Mobile-Broadband/Vodafone-Mobile-Broadband-Dongle-VPN-Connection-Erro... ) that I may require something called the MYLAN APN or MYLAN2 APN?

 

Is using the MYLAN / MYLAN2 APN as simple as changing a setting in the supplied software or are additional steps required? Must vodafone activate support for VPNs in some way?

 

If I go to the diagnostics for my device through the VMB software I see that my APN is set to 'SMART'.

 

I'm also sure I'm not selecting the contract option by mistake, I double-checked as although I'm a competent computer user I know such mistakes can happen.

 

Thanks

Message 4 of 28 (16,288 Views)
Rank 22: Tutor I
Jebelious
Posts: 1,800
Registered: ‎31-01-2008

Re: How to connect to my work VPN?

As you are using a PAYG modem you can not have the MYLAN APN's added to your account as this is not an option, you would need to get a contract Dongle to be able to do this unfortunately due to the way that the APN's use IP addresses.

Unless you can get the VPN server configured differently however i am not sure on the exact ways this needs to be configured but i am sure that someone at Vodafone knows the exact settings required :smileywink:
If i have helped please feel free to click on the Thumbs Up below
Message 5 of 28 (16,282 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
crobar
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-08-2011

Re: How to connect to my work VPN?

 

Could someone from Vodafone please confirm this, that VPNs cannot be used on a pay as you go mobile broadband dongle?

Message 6 of 28 (16,280 Views)
Rank 22: Tutor I
Jebelious
Posts: 1,800
Registered: ‎31-01-2008

Re: How to connect to my work VPN?

VPN's can be used but if the VPN software/servers are not configured to allow connections from the way that the APN's work then you will not be allowed to connect using the standard internet APN's

SMART
PPbundle.internet ?
PP.Internet
PP.Vodafone.co.uk

INTERNET
WAP.VODAFONE.CO.UK

If i have helped please feel free to click on the Thumbs Up below
Message 7 of 28 (16,268 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
crobar
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-08-2011

Re: How to connect to my work VPN?

 

Do you happen to know what the most crucial aspects of the VPN setup will be? E.g. particular ports, protocalls etc?

 

Message 8 of 28 (16,246 Views)
Rank 22: Tutor I
Jebelious
Posts: 1,800
Registered: ‎31-01-2008

Re: How to connect to my work VPN?

That unfortunately i do not know, perhaps a mod can get this information for you? (i have personally never setup or managed a VPN, my work one seems to be configured to allow connections from the IP range).

Over to Vodafone :smileywink:
If i have helped please feel free to click on the Thumbs Up below
Message 9 of 28 (16,190 Views)
Moderator (Retired)
BenJ
Posts: 3,428
Registered: ‎13-01-2010

Re: How to connect to my work VPN?

Hi crobar

you will need the MYLAN APN to have a fully secure VPN. Unfortunately this isn’t something that is offered to PAYG customers so I cannot guarantee this VPN connection would be 100% secure through the Vodafone network due to the APN being used, this would explain why you’re getting a RAS619 when trying to do this. Can you connect to the internet via VMC or do you get the 619 error

Have you tried making a DUN via windows and bypassing VMC entirely? You will need to make sure your using the correct APN which will need to be changed in the extra initialisation string (at+cgdcont=1,"IP","apnname here") which Jebelious has already pointed out for you.

  • Go to Start > Control Panel
  • Double Click on Phone and Modem Options (Fill in the location info if it asks)
  • Click the Modems Tab
  • Highlight the Huwaei Modem and click Properties
  • Click the Advanced Tab and type in the following where it asks for an extra initialisation command: at+cgdcont=1,"IP","internet"
  • Press OK and then OK again
  • In the Control Panel double click on Network Connections
  • Click on Create New Connection/New Connection Wizard
  • Choose Connect to the Internet and press Next
  • Choose Setup My Connection Manually and press Next
  • Choose Connect Using a Dial-Up Modem and press Next
  • Type in Vodafone when it asks for an ISP name and press Next
  • The phone number needs to be *99#, press Next
  • Username and Password and both web press Next and then create the connection.

To explain your question regarding VPN I'm unsure how much you know about VPN and networking in general so it might be useful to have a read of this link. As Vodafone’s IP range is a public range, it might be that your VPN server blocks public addresses.

 

I will check his for you if you can find out your network’s internal IP range. As this information is quite sensitive I’ve sent an email so we can get this without you putting it on the eForum. I’ve been speaking with a device specialist for this and he asks if you can supply a test account details so we can look further into this for you.

Thanks

BenJ

eForum Team 

Message 10 of 28 (16,132 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
crobar
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-08-2011

Re: How to connect to my work VPN?

 

Hello,

 

Thanks for giving me this info, I have only had time now to follow it up. Attempting to bypass the WMB software fails unfortunately. I have set up the connection following the steps you suggest, but when I attempt to connect I get the following error:

 

Error 777: The connection attempt failed because the modem (or other connecting device) on the remote computer is out of order.

 

I am quite certain I have followed your steps exactly. There is also an existing DUN connection for Vodafone, if I try to dial this I get the same error, Perhaps the VMB software/device is set up so that it cannot be bypassed in this way.

 

I have also had some futher information on my VPN from my IT department:

 

"The VPN is a PPTP vpn. For firewalls etc the network port used is 1723 (tcp)  as well as requiring gre traffic"

 

As for my knowledge of VPNs, this is very limited. I do know my way around a computer though (my job involves software development in C, C++, Matlab etc. and the use of many nonstandard engineering packages and multiple operating systems). I am confident I can supply any info you need, and follow carefully any supplied instructions.

 

I have also replied to the email I received, but thought I'd better follow up here as well as it's been so long. I can also supply more specific info about the VPN via email.

 

 

Message 11 of 28 (15,940 Views)
Rank 22: Tutor I
Jebelious
Posts: 1,800
Registered: ‎31-01-2008

Re: How to connect to my work VPN?

This command is incorrect as you are using a PAYG modem -
Click the Advanced Tab and type in the following where it asks for an extra initialisation command: at+cgdcont=1,"IP","internet"

This step is incorrect, change your APN to SMART so it reads:

Click the Advanced Tab and type in the following where it asks for an extra initialisation command: at+cgdcont=1,"IP","SMART"

Finally
Dial number try: *99***1#

Username and password are : web

Once you connect then retry the VPN
If i have helped please feel free to click on the Thumbs Up below
Message 12 of 28 (15,909 Views)
Tech Team
Wayne
Posts: 18,248
Registered: ‎04-08-2008

Re: How to connect to my work VPN?

Hi Crobar,

 

Thanks for your post here.

 

You’re probably already aware, but I have emailed you regarding this.

 

Let me know how you get on and if you have any more questions we’ll be happy to help you further.

 

Thanks

 

Wayne

 

eForum Team

 

If you feel I have helped with your query and you would like to leave me some feedback, you can do so here

 

 

 



Message 13 of 28 (15,893 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
crobar
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-08-2011

Re: How to connect to my work VPN?

Thanks Wayne for your email, which gave the same instructions as Jebellious above. I have left feedback for you and marked Jebellious reply as the answer.

 

I can now successfully connect to the internet and my work VPN.

 

Thanks everyone for your help, I do appreciate it, hopefully others can be helped by this series of posts as well.

 

Message 14 of 28 (15,884 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
patrao3g
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎16-04-2012

Re: How to connect to my work VPN?

Hi,

 

Could you also please help me to connect to VPN through Vodafone 3G dongle. I work for HP and VPN works fine on LAN, WIFI Broadband but not on Vodafone 3G dongle. I work from home and need to connect to VPN during work hours.

 

Please let me know if this can be fixed.

 

Regards,

Loy

Message 15 of 28 (13,954 Views)
Tech Team
DaveCD
Posts: 6,119
Registered: ‎26-07-2011

Re: How to connect to my work VPN?

Hi patrao3g

 

Thank you for your post and a very warm welcome to the eForum.:smileyhappy:

 

Please can you let me know if you have followed the steps above provided by Jebelious and BenJ, if you have and are still unable to progress please can you advise us at which stage it fails and what the error messages you see are.

 

Many Thanks

 

DaveCD

eForum Team

Message 16 of 28 (13,932 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
patrao3g
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎16-04-2012

Re: How to connect to my work VPN?

I tried and I am getting 720 error. I have Windows 7 OS, do you have instructions for Windows 7 as it is slightly different.

 

Regards,

Loy

Message 17 of 28 (13,899 Views)
Moderator (Retired)
Moderator (Retired)
Lee
Posts: 19,284
Registered: ‎27-10-2008

Re: How to connect to my work VPN?

Hey patrao3g,

 

Thanks for coming back to us.

 

If you take a lookat our Mobile Broadband Troubleshooting there are diagnostics to resolve the 720 error.

 

Error 720

 

Let me know how you get on when you try this.

 

Cheers,

 

Lee

Message 18 of 28 (13,891 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
patrao3g
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎16-04-2012

Re: How to connect to my work VPN?

Thanks it works now.

 

Regards,

Loy

Message 19 of 28 (13,882 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
dangermousie
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎17-08-2012

Re: How to connect to my work VPN?

I don't have the advanced settings, or that tab. What can I do?

Message 20 of 28 (12,555 Views)