Support:

Mobile Broadband

Ask a question:
Reply
Rank 13: Guide II
hooker1uk
Posts: 845
Registered: ‎11-05-2008

Network Error (tcp_error)

am sick and tired.

did any of you try changing your DNS settings as per the tutorial i posted ages back in this thread, this DOES resolve the problem until vodafone fix it properly.
Paul - Blogger at imwellconfused.me.uk @hooker1uk (twitter and Molome)

Current devices: Sony Xperia Miro*, Vodafone Smart Mini, Nokia 3510i, Samsung Galaxy S2, Galaxy Tab iii Kids, iPad2, Huawei Ascend g300, Alcatel OT903 Rooted*

*awaiting minor repairs
Message 181 of 216 (16,962 Views)
Rank 3: Occasional Poster
westlondonlad80
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎28-09-2008

Network Error (tcp_error)

Well Vodafone???
Message 182 of 216 (16,962 Views)
Rank 3: Occasional Poster
westlondonlad80
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎28-09-2008

Network Error (tcp_error)

Another 24 hours and still no news.
###### Rude.
Message 183 of 216 (16,962 Views)
Tech Team
Wayne
Posts: 16,871
Registered: ‎04-08-2008

Network Error (tcp_error)

Hi Everyone,

I've just spoken to Jon about this and he has sent a request off to chase this up for you.

We'll let you know when we hear anything.

Thanks

Wayne

eForum Team

I’m part of the Vodafone Tech Team and here to help. As this is a public forum, we can only answer non account specific queries. Please note, we’re unable to reply to private messages.


If you see a helpful post, please click the 'Thanks' button to let the author know. If a post solves your query, please click the ‘This is the Answer?’ button. This helps others find helpful answers in the community too.

Message 184 of 216 (16,962 Views)
Rank 3: Occasional Poster
westlondonlad80
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎28-09-2008

Network Error (tcp_error)

Im guessing every customer complaint / request has a tracking / reference number.
What is this one please?

When i write my letter to head office i would like to give them this reference number.
Message 185 of 216 (16,962 Views)
Moderator (Retired)
Jon_V
Posts: 13,083
Registered: ‎09-09-2008

Network Error (tcp_error)

I've just had it confirmed that we've unblocked the 174 range, but not 173. I have now requested for this to be raised as an emergency request and will let you know as soon as it's resolved.

Jon

eForum Team
Want to give me some feedback? click here
Message 186 of 216 (16,962 Views)
Moderator (Retired)
Jon_V
Posts: 13,083
Registered: ‎09-09-2008

Network Error (tcp_error)

Hi all,

I've done a few more tests and can confirm that we are no longer blocking www.manjam.com or www.jamroom.net or any other website starting with a 174 address.

Traffic is however, now being blocked somewhere else :blink:

Feel free to run your traceroutes again and see if anyone else can confirm this. Here are my tests for your information.

Tracing route to manjam.com [174.132.34.54]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 323 ms 329 ms 330 ms 10.252.224.61
2 308 ms 339 ms 329 ms host206.msm.che.vodafone [10.206.64.4]
3 315 ms 329 ms 329 ms host206.msm.che.vodafone [10.206.65.1]
4 115 ms 109 ms 129 ms host206.msm.che.vodafone [10.206.65.135]
5 126 ms 109 ms 109 ms host206.msm.che.vodafone [10.206.66.68]
6 155 ms 109 ms 89 ms host206.msm.che.vodafone [10.206.66.193]
7 176 ms 119 ms 119 ms host206.msm.che.vodafone [10.206.66.212]
8 105 ms 109 ms 139 ms host206.msm.che.vodafone [10.206.70.157]
9 * * * Request timed out.
10 188 ms 189 ms 129 ms TenGigabitEthernet7-1.ar6.LON3.gblx.net [64.214.
144.121]
11 296 ms 249 ms 279 ms The-Planet.GigabitEthernet7-3.ar2.DAL2.gblx.net
[64.208.170.198]
12 255 ms 309 ms 269 ms te7-2.dsr02.dllstx3.theplanet.com [70.87.253.26]

13 267 ms 279 ms 269 ms te3-3.dsr02.dllstx2.theplanet.com [70.87.253.126
]
14 256 ms 249 ms 339 ms po2.car11.dllstx6.theplanet.com [12.96.160.61]
15 * * * Request timed out.

Tracing route to jamroom.net [174.36.129.35]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 343 ms 359 ms 339 ms 10.252.224.61
2 296 ms 349 ms 359 ms host206.msm.che.vodafone [10.206.64.4]
3 276 ms 359 ms 329 ms host206.msm.che.vodafone [10.206.65.1]
4 315 ms 369 ms 359 ms host206.msm.che.vodafone [10.206.65.135]
5 306 ms 371 ms 357 ms host206.msm.che.vodafone [10.206.66.68]
6 285 ms 349 ms 388 ms host206.msm.che.vodafone [10.206.66.193]
7 294 ms 349 ms 339 ms host206.msm.che.vodafone [10.206.66.212]
8 286 ms 361 ms 378 ms host206.msm.che.vodafone [10.206.70.157]
9 * * * Request timed out.
10 155 ms 130 ms 138 ms TenGigabitEthernet7-1.ar6.LON3.gblx.net [64.214.
144.121]
11 255 ms 288 ms 270 ms InterNAP-Ken-Schmid-Seattle.ge-3-2-0.ar4.SEA1.gb
lx.net [64.213.33.230]
12 256 ms 288 ms 320 ms border1.t8-1-bbnet2.sef003.pnap.net [63.251.160.
85]
13 256 ms 268 ms 281 ms te1-1.cer01.sea01.seattle-datacenter.com [63.251
.162.74]
14 267 ms 279 ms 279 ms po01.fcr01.sea01.seattle-datacenter.com [67.228.
118.134]
15 255 ms 279 ms 279 ms jbsea1.jbservers.net [67.228.192.28]
16 * * * Request timed out.

Tracing route to c2.3f.85ae.static.theplanet.com [174.133.63.194]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 352 ms 329 ms 369 ms 10.252.224.61
2 218 ms 118 ms 119 ms host206.msm.che.vodafone [10.206.64.4]
3 95 ms 109 ms 109 ms host206.msm.che.vodafone [10.206.65.1]
4 106 ms 109 ms 109 ms host206.msm.che.vodafone [10.206.65.135]
5 95 ms 119 ms 119 ms host206.msm.che.vodafone [10.206.66.68]
6 96 ms 109 ms 109 ms host206.msm.che.vodafone [10.206.66.193]
7 106 ms 139 ms 109 ms host206.msm.che.vodafone [10.206.66.212]
8 96 ms 109 ms 109 ms host206.msm.che.vodafone [10.206.70.157]
9 * * * Request timed out.
10 106 ms 119 ms 119 ms TenGigabitEthernet7-1.ar6.LON3.gblx.net [64.214.
144.121]
11 214 ms 239 ms 239 ms The-Planet.GigabitEthernet7-3.ar2.DAL2.gblx.net
[64.208.170.198]
12 244 ms 249 ms 239 ms et1-1.ibr02.hstntx1.theplanet.com [70.87.253.54]

13 236 ms 259 ms 239 ms po2.car03.hstntx1.theplanet.com [207.218.245.10]

14 * * * Request timed out.

Jon

eForum Team
Want to give me some feedback? click here
Message 187 of 216 (16,962 Views)
Moderator (Retired)
Jon_V
Posts: 13,083
Registered: ‎09-09-2008

Network Error (tcp_error)

After speaking to our network team again, they believe it is likely for another ISP further up the chain from us, to have the same issue (i.e. blocking the entire range by mistake) as the change to these ranges was not well communicated back in February. I have passed along the tracelogs, and we will raise a case with our ISP, who will in turn raise a case with theirs, and so on up the line until traffic is reaching the proper destination once more.

We appreciate your patience while this takes place.

Jon

eForum Team
Want to give me some feedback? click here
Message 188 of 216 (16,962 Views)
Rank 2: First Poster
djmerlyn
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎21-10-2008

Network Error (tcp_error)

Its working fine from this direction.

Still a joke, but clearly working.

You have a drop out at your router.

1 10.20.133.198 (10.20.133.198) 0.078 ms 0.037 ms 0.025 ms
2 po101.cer02.sea01.seattle-jbservers.net (67.228.118.137) 0.449 ms 0.466 ms 0.390 ms
3 tuk-edge-09.inet.qwest.net (65.112.24.21) 1.126 ms 1.099 ms 1.014 ms
4 tuk-core-01.inet.qwest.net (205.171.11.69) 0.948 ms 0.996 ms 0.933 ms
5 snj-core-01.inet.qwest.net (67.14.34.14) 19.605 ms 19.483 ms 19.461 ms
6 sjp-brdr-02.inet.qwest.net (205.171.233.18) 19.634 ms sjp-brdr-02.inet.qwest.net (205.171.214.42) 19.630 ms 19.682 ms
7 63.146.26.42 (63.146.26.42) 24.676 ms 19.962 ms 19.907 ms
8 te1-1-10G.ar6.LON3.gblx.net (67.16.130.34) 153.646 ms * 153.362 ms
Message 189 of 216 (16,962 Views)
Moderator (Retired)
Jon_V
Posts: 13,083
Registered: ‎09-09-2008

Network Error (tcp_error)

Its working fine from this direction.

Still a joke, but clearly working.

You have a drop out at your router.

Hi djmerlyn,

That traceroute is what we would expect to see - after that endpoint router, we filter out traceroutes so you shouldn't expect to see traffic going any further than that.

What would be helpful, however, is to see another traceroute coming FROM the 174 block to one of our IP's, so we can compare how far that trace is getting. If it's hitting that same end router of ours, then we know everything is working fine on your return path, and we will try to resolve teh issue with our side of things.

Jon

eForum Team
Want to give me some feedback? click here
Message 190 of 216 (16,962 Views)
Rank 2: First Poster
djmerlyn
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎21-10-2008

Network Error (tcp_error)

Hi djmerlyn,

That traceroute is what we would expect to see - after that endpoint router, we filter out traceroutes so you shouldn't expect to see traffic going any further than that.

What would be helpful, however, is to see another traceroute coming FROM the 174 block to one of our IP's, so we can compare how far that trace is getting. If it's hitting that same end router of ours, then we know everything is working fine on your return path, and we will try to resolve teh issue with our side of things.

Jon

eForum Team


That IS from the 174 block, and its getting to the router where it wasn't before, so it IS working.

But you missed the point completely.

te1-1-10G.ar6.LON3.gblx.net (67.16.130.34) 153.646 ms * 153.362 ms

You should expect to see

te1-1-10G.ar6.LON3.gblx.net (67.16.130.34) 153.646 ms NUMBER.HERE ms 153.362 ms

Its dropping out, its the weekest point in the link.

Regardless, its working.
Message 191 of 216 (16,962 Views)
Moderator (Retired)
Jon_V
Posts: 13,083
Registered: ‎09-09-2008

Network Error (tcp_error)

That IS from the 174 block, and its getting to the router where it wasn't before, so it IS working.

But you missed the point completely.

te1-1-10G.ar6.LON3.gblx.net (67.16.130.34) 153.646 ms * 153.362 ms

You should expect to see

te1-1-10G.ar6.LON3.gblx.net (67.16.130.34) 153.646 ms NUMBER.HERE ms 153.362 ms

Its dropping out, its the weekest point in the link.

Regardless, its working.

The IP on your trace shows 10.20.133.198 rather than a 174 address - which is why I queried it, since your original traceroute came directly from the external IP rather than an internal router.

I'm still unable to access www.jamroom.net so our engineer has emailed you in an effort to get this fixed ASAP.

Jon

eForum Team
Want to give me some feedback? click here
Message 192 of 216 (16,962 Views)
Rank 4: Established Poster
klazico
Posts: 72
Registered: ‎28-08-2008

Network Error (tcp_error)

................................................................................
.................................................................................
............ ................................................................. ................................................................................
....................... .....................................
Message 193 of 216 (16,962 Views)
Rank 3: Occasional Poster
westlondonlad80
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎28-09-2008

Network Error (tcp_error)

it's a joke isnt it!!
Message 194 of 216 (16,962 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
gicapcolt
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎22-10-2008

Network Error (tcp_error)

VODAFONE.

This issue is having a serious effect on my business. I need to be able to access 173 addresses, specifically blockcrossholdings.com. Please provide an update on when 173 addresses will be unblocked. Many thanks for your help.
Message 195 of 216 (16,962 Views)
Moderator (Retired)
Jon_V
Posts: 13,083
Registered: ‎09-09-2008

Network Error (tcp_error)

VODAFONE.

This issue is having a serious effect on my business. I need to be able to access 173 addresses, specifically blockcrossholdings.com. Please provide an update on when 173 addresses will be unblocked. Many thanks for your help.

Hi gicapcolt,

We have unblocked both the 173 and 174 ranges now, but we are noticing that traffic is now being blocked further up the pipe (i.e. outside of our own network, and by another provider). We are trying to raise this issue with the various other providers affected.

Meanwhile, is that website address correct? I am able to view blockcrossholdings.com fine, but it appears to be a holding page, so I assume there's a typo in there somewhere.

Jon

eForum Team
Want to give me some feedback? click here
Message 196 of 216 (16,962 Views)
Rank 4: Established Poster
klazico
Posts: 72
Registered: ‎28-08-2008

Network Error (tcp_error)

yes vodafone, do you still want my details to look into this problem ?
Message 197 of 216 (16,962 Views)
Rank 3: Occasional Poster
westlondonlad80
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎28-09-2008

Network Error (tcp_error)

When you say it is being blocked further up the chain, What do you mean by this?

For very simple terms - are you saying that the company Vodafone use for internet access for it's customers are blocking websites or are you saying it is the website which is blocking access?
Message 198 of 216 (16,962 Views)
Rank 2: First Poster
djmerlyn
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎21-10-2008

Network Error (tcp_error)

That IS from the 174 block, and its getting to the router where it wasn't before, so it IS working.

But you missed the point completely.

te1-1-10G.ar6.LON3.gblx.net (67.16.130.34) 153.646 ms * 153.362 ms

You should expect to see

te1-1-10G.ar6.LON3.gblx.net (67.16.130.34) 153.646 ms NUMBER.HERE ms 153.362 ms

Its dropping out, its the weekest point in the link.

Regardless, its working.


I think eventually they will figure out what I said here, much like how I pointed out the bogon issue but they didn't get that at first either.

Eventually they'll fix that front router and it will work again.

Vodafone will likely find that nobody at the other end of the line is interested in helping, basically because- its their problem to fix.

You won't get a turn about until that router is fixed...again...still...as before but different issue.

Good luck
Message 199 of 216 (16,962 Views)
Moderator (Retired)
Jon_V
Posts: 13,083
Registered: ‎09-09-2008

Network Error (tcp_error)

When you say it is being blocked further up the chain, What do you mean by this?

For very simple terms - are you saying that the company Vodafone use for internet access for it's customers are blocking websites or are you saying it is the website which is blocking access?

Hi westlondonlad,

Since releasing the block on our side, we can now get as far as the computer one step BEFORE the target website. We've had a chance to check with the ISP's involved, and have confirmed that our traffic is reaching their network and being passed on.

This means either the websites themselves are blocking us (unlikely), or there is something else specific to our network which is preventing the websites from replying to us. We are still working on this as a matter of priority.

Jon

eForum Team
Want to give me some feedback? click here
Message 200 of 216 (16,962 Views)