Support:

Mobile Broadband

Ask a question:
Rank 1: Guest
splotchy

Nokia X6 - How to use Nokia x6 as a modem?

I need to use my nokia x6 as a modem with my netbook. I was very disappointed there were no instructions with the phone, or any easy-to-find ones on the vodafone website or personal account page.

I am not a techie and will need very simple instructions for how to set up the nokia as a modem! Can anyone help?
Message 1 of 7 (6,485 Views)
Rank 6: Frequent Poster
welshrosco

Im not sure with this phone menu hopefully u r found this from a post on nokia forum.
Try this
Connect the phone in MTP mode.
Wait whilst it installs drivers or fails.
Go to windows device manager, remove all entries related to the X6/Nokia.
Disconnect the phone and reboot the PC.
Try to connect again, but don't run WMP to give it time to sort the drivers out.
Message 2 of 7 (6,485 Views)
Rank 6: Frequent Poster
welshrosco

Sorry was reading another post put my phone down and it copied over what i typed. Anyway. Have u tried using the pc suite that comes with the phone as this may have the feature in it. Some phones when plugged in to the pc show an options window might have what ur looking for.
Message 3 of 7 (6,485 Views)
Moderator (Retired)
George

Hi splotchy,

Firstly, a very warm welcome to the eForum Family, it's always great to see new faces on here :).

As welshrosco has said, I'd recommend using the PC Suite that came with your Nokia, it should be fairly straightforward. If this doesn't work though, I'd recommend setting up a manual dial-up connection as follows:

-With the phone plugged into a USB port go to the Start Menu
-Go to the Control Panel
-Go to Phone and Modem Options
-Click the Modems Tab (Fill in the location info if it asks for it)
-Highlight the Nokia Modem and click properties
-Click the Advanced Tab (On Vista or Windows 7, you'll need to click "Change Settings" first)
-In the Extra Initialisation Command Field type in at+cgdcont=1,"IP","internet" and press OK