Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ask

Solution

Nokia Denim update

JasonHendry5
3: Seeker
3: Seeker

just wondering if anyone knows if well see this Denim update before christmas or will it be 2015 for the lumia 930.  On the app store i have music app that says it needs update and isnt installing, im hoping the denim update fixes this.

24 REPLIES 24

drey_p
16: Advanced member
16: Advanced member

Hi there

Vodafone won't comment on when Firmware will be released and the reasons why are covered in the Firmware FAQs here.

However, looking online, there seems to be a wide range of release dates varying from the end of this year to early 2015.  There doesn't seem to be a specific date at the moment.

PWIAC

im new to the win phone, im coming from the iphone eco and update system there was very fast lol, but i still wouldnt go back.

The Denim update has started rolling out in the UK... I got it on my Lumia 930 this morning.

You also appear to get something called 'Message+' which takes the normal 'Message' (SMS) service and adds Chat to it. The App appears to have been written by Microsoft, but is actually for the Vodafone Message+ (RCS) service. More details here: http://www.vodafone.co.uk/message

There are versions available for Android and iOS, but no official mention of the WindowsPhone version on the above link. Even if you decide not to use it, don't uninstall it as it does not appear the be in the WindowsPhone store, so you won't  be able to get it back if you change your mind later.

The service is now available on 3 platforms, but appears to be for Vodafone customers only, so I'm struggling to see why anyone should use it in preference to, say, WhatsApp. Maybe time will tell...

So if the microsoft website is showing Denim being available in UK on Vodafone on my 1520, why no update available, another communication error?

https://www.microsoft.com/en/mobile/support/software-update/wp8-software-update/availability-in-euro...

SynthFG