Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ask

Solution

Sim Card Registration Failed

stepher
Not applicable
Hi

I bought a nokia N97 Mini on contract today from one of your stores. I keep getting the Sim card registration failed message and was wondering is this due to me transfering my number from t mobile or a fault with my new sim? please help
20 REPLIES 20

hrym
17: Community Champion

That could be a faulty SIM.  Your best bet would be to drop into a Vodafone shop and get a replacement.

OrlaDeane
2: Seeker

I have a Nokia 100 that I use as my English phone as I'm an Irish student studying in Wales, the phone was fine but now it's saying Sim Card Registration Failed, I use this phone to receive calls about job offers and am extremely worried that I'm missing something. Anyway you can fix this?

hrym

Your best bet is probably to drop into a Vodafone shop and see if they can help.   They don't offer a repair servcie as such, but they'd be able to try a new SIM for you and see if that helps (ask them to activate it as well).

Failing that, Carphone Warehouse have a Geek Squad (not sure if it's is all their shops) who may also be prepreed to have a look for you.

AnnS

Hello OrlaDeane

Presumable this is a PAYG SIM.

You may have used the phone to receive calls about job offers, but have you made a chargeable activity during the last 270 days?  It is an Ofcom ruling that all PAYG SIMs have to be in use and this means outgoing.

Please see the thread below.

PAYG Disconnection Times

Try an alternative SIM in the phone and see if it makes a difference.  You could also try topping up a small amount and making a chargeable call.  

My phone now tells me my sim is not registered, I'm expecting a call about a job within the next few days and this is just highly inconvenient. Anything that can be done?

hrym