You are here:

Other manufacturers & OS discussion

Ask a question:
Reply
Posts: 15,940
Topics: 204
Thanks: 5,854
Solutions: 624
Registered: ‎01-01-2009

Re: Cubot One - No internet connectivity

There are lots of answers if you ask the right question and appreciate that the response might not fit with your preordained prejudice.

Jeffkinn_Sig.png

Message 21 of 62 (15,886 Views)
Posts: 13,156
Thanks: 6,286
Solutions: 392
Registered: ‎27-07-2009

Re: Cubot One - No internet connectivity

Look at it this way.  You need to make a repait to your car, so you buy a spanner, but it doesn't fit.  Is that the manufacturer's fault?

Message 22 of 62 (15,865 Views)
Rank 2: First Poster
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎04-09-2012

Re: Cubot One - No internet connectivity

Bad analogy - here is a better one:

 

I put petrol (airtime) in the tank and then the car will take me to some destinations, but not others. I feel an explanation is required from the petrol supplier.

 

Message 23 of 62 (15,857 Views)
Posts: 13,156
Thanks: 6,286
Solutions: 392
Registered: ‎27-07-2009

Re: Cubot One - No internet connectivity

The thing is, Vodafone don't support this device, so can only give you generic settings which ought to work, but can't be guaranteed to.

 

I'd suggest talking to Cubot, after all, it's their device.

 

To continue your analogy, if the petrol takes you to one direction but not another, that suggests the petrol's OK but the problem lies elsewhere - with the map perhaps.  Not the driver, obvoiusly.

Message 24 of 62 (15,847 Views)
Posts: 15,940
Topics: 204
Thanks: 5,854
Solutions: 624
Registered: ‎01-01-2009

Re: Cubot One - No internet connectivity


uspnet wrote:

Bad analogy - here is a better one:

 

I put petrol (airtime) in the tank and then the car will take me to some destinations, but not others. I feel an explanation is required from the petrol supplier.

 


Your analogy is even worse. Petrol is a generic product that will work in any petrol driven engine. Mobile phone signals are not generic but specific to different networks and thus some phones will work with a given network and others won't.

 

As I've said several times now, I fail to see why you expect Vodafone to do anything about a piece of equipment they neither sell nor support. It isn't their responsibility one little bit.

Jeffkinn_Sig.png

Message 25 of 62 (15,845 Views)
Rank 2: First Poster
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎04-09-2012

Re: Cubot One - No internet connectivity

I found this Cubot One page FYI:

 

http://www.cubot.net/pro_156.html

 

This looks like an intersting phone company.

Message 26 of 62 (15,839 Views)
Rank 40: Professor IV
Posts: 3,559
Registered: ‎18-10-2011

Re: Cubot One - No internet connectivity

Ok, so is it only the Google Play store that does not work?

 

Is it the App, or the webpage?

Could it be that the amount of data needing to transfer to load the thing is too large for a 2G connection and it times out before it can open?

 

Apart from the device not being made for the UK market (it wouldn't be using the 3G frequencies it is if it was) getting it going at all is a good feat.

 

As for the argument about needing to pay £300+ for a smartphone that is supported by vodafone that is a load a rubbish.

 

There are a number of Andriod and Windows8 devices starting from £50, up to the price that the Cubot would have been.

With the added benefit of being designed to work in this country and on the vodafone network.

Message 27 of 62 (15,822 Views)
Posts: 21,549
Topics: 72
Thanks: 144
Solutions: 179
Registered: ‎04-08-2008

Re: Cubot One - No internet connectivity

[ Edited ]

Hi everyone,

 

Please keep this thread on topic. Any further posts that are not directly related to getting the Cubot One up and running, will be removed.

 

Hi uspnet,

 

We don’t support dual SIM phones and outside of the settings that you’ve already got, there’s nothing further that we can do to resolve your issue.

 

There is, however, an immense amount of mobile phone experience available, from various members of the community, who I’m sure will be able to suggest some things for you to try, like grolschuk has already.

 

Thanks,

 

Wayne

Message 28 of 62 (15,810 Views)
Rank 2: First Poster
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎04-09-2012

Re: Cubot One - No internet connectivity

[ Edited ]

grolschuk  Google loses sync and then nothing - maps, calendar, mail, play are accessible using the Vodafone 3G data link. But everything still syncs and works when reverting to Wifi.

 

Therefore the most likely answer is that the Vodafone data network link to google is either accidentally or specifically preventing the connection.

 

All I ask is that Vodafone explain - surely they have access to all the tools, stats and info to see what is going on?  I have offered to send them a phone for their own tests if they cannot afford one.

 

Message 29 of 62 (15,807 Views)
Rank 40: Professor IV
Posts: 3,559
Registered: ‎18-10-2011

Re: Cubot One - No internet connectivity

[ Edited ]

I can't see why vodafone would treat data coming from you any differently to any other request from the same location.

 

There may be some intellegent bandwidth management that moves data between the high and low bandwidth frequencies going on (no idea if that is a valid technology, but would be good if not) and seeing lots of sync data going to/from google, it then bumps it up to the high bandwidth... which your phone does not support, so the connection dies.

 

At the point google loses sync, does all data stop? or are other things still loading new pages ok?

 

It will work fine on wifi as that is standard across most countries, and generally more robust than UTMS links.

 

If you were to borrow a phone that is designed for the UK and supported by Vodafone, and the same issue occurs, then things would need to be investigated, as it should work.

However if the same issue goes away in a different handset, that points to the other handset, and is not supported because it doesn't full work Smiley Happy

Message 30 of 62 (15,805 Views)
Posts: 13,156
Thanks: 6,286
Solutions: 392
Registered: ‎27-07-2009

Re: Cubot One - No internet connectivity

I'm wondering whether this goes back to the frequency issue that was raised earlier in the thread.  If the Cubot is operating at 850mhz, then it'll never pick up the Vodafone signal on a 900mhz mast (I believe Vf are migrating to this lower frequency as it has better range).   There are then two possibilities 1) the data time-out issue that can happen over 2G, either when the network's congested or when the app is demanding a lot of data, or 2) a switchover issue with the device itself, which would be cured by limiting the connection to 2G (GPRS) only.

 

Also, the Cubot is, as I understand it, a dual-SIM device and the data connection can be operated via either SIM.   Is it possible that you're directing the data connection at the wrong SIM slot?

Message 31 of 62 (15,799 Views)
Rank 2: First Poster
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎04-09-2012

Re: Cubot One - No internet connectivity

[ Edited ]

grolschuk  Hoorah - at last a dialogue with someone who wants tackle the issues. Thank you.

 

The 3G data issue occurs over the regular network - or using a sure signal femtocell I have in the office and at home. That signal is a solid 5 bars at all times.

 

I get 20Mb down/16Mb up using ookla speed test over the WIFi link - using the Voda 3G data link via suresignal I get "Network communication issues" - even when the test server is hosted by Vodafone.

 

The Vodafone data proxy is plainly "doing something" and I would love to know what ithat is. Because sometimes the service works over Voda 3g data - in fact it mostly worked over Voda 3g for months, and only in the past month or so has it got much less reliable.

 

After Google loses sync, pretty much everything with google stops. Chrome will not download a page - yet the native browser downloads pages with no hassle, Non google email works fine. All non-google aps that need internet access other than the speed test are fine, using the vodafone 3G data.

 

Currently, my only workaround is to get a 4G EE MiFi device and use that as a hotspot so the phone is viable when I am out of range of WiFi.  Maybe we should just forget all this nonsense and bring back landlines. eh? And at least you could always eat a carrier pigeon, in an emergency.

Message 32 of 62 (15,793 Views)
Rank 2: First Poster
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎04-09-2012

Re: Cubot One - No internet connectivity

hrym I have only one sim in the phone at present  

 

The phone is specifically labelled WCDMA850/2100 GSM850/900/1800/1900MHz

 

It is made by ALPS, which is one of the best assemblers. It is really well made and user satisfaction is very good. It is not a piece of junk. 

Message 33 of 62 (15,791 Views)
Rank 40: Professor IV
Posts: 3,559
Registered: ‎18-10-2011

Re: Cubot One - No internet connectivity

Yep thats one of the main things I think could be killing it.

 

The UK uses 900/2100 for 3G not 850/2100, so if anything starts to try to use the 850 portion of the conneciton, it will fail.

It may be well made, but it is made for a different market.

 

Also within the 2100 band each network uses a sub-section of frequencies. Picking numbers out of the air, if the device was designed for use for a market that uses 2100-2150 and vodafone use 2125-2175, it could cause issues when trying to work either side of the range.

 

As I mentioned, the best troubleshooting would be another handset that is supported to see if the issues follow, and if they do, you can then open a ticket for support.

 

Message 34 of 62 (15,779 Views)
Rank 2: First Poster
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎04-09-2012

Re: Cubot One - No internet connectivity

[ Edited ]

A much more engaging answer than most, thanks; but it still doesn't quite address the point that I get perfectly good internet access over Vodafone 3G for everything that needs internet access - but Google related services. So what is different about Google IP compared to everyone else? Is it routed through different ports? Does it have to go via the NSA/ PRISM?

 

I cannot see a list of the devices that Vodafone says its supports, I can only refer again to the marketing spiel for the SIM: "Whatever your device, we've got a price plan for you"   ... and I have a whatever device.

 

All devices really ought to have basic diagnostics that can address these issues if the notion of "standards" is actually irrelevant, and each network needs to be hand-tuned. The level of data usage logging in the handset suggests this is not an unreasonable expectation.

Message 35 of 62 (15,773 Views)
Rank 2: First Poster
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎04-09-2012

Tell us what you think

[ Edited ]

I got an email just now from fizzback@vodafone.co.uk :-

 

Thanks for contacting us.

Can you spare a couple of minutes to help us improve the way we do things?

Just answer a few quick questions in our online survey.

 

Here is my response:-

 

You only need to read this forum thread to understand the problem:

http://forum.vodafone.co.uk/t5/Network-Queries/Complaint-for-Mr-Hoencamp/m-p/2141909#M120062

 

...your users are weary of the almost autonomic conditioned responses from your people.

 

And your marketing tells lies:

http://www.vodafone.co.uk/shop/get-a-sim-for-your-existing-device/

   ... this says "Whatever your device, we've got a price plan for you."

 

This is blatantly misleading. I have described an issue I have at great length concerning the way my Cubot One works fine in all respects, except that when trying to access any google apps over the Vodafone 3G data network - it appears to be blocked. But it worked fine for some months and then has got progessively worse. Why?

 

Every other internet service is accessible using the 3G data link, but not Google. Everything works using WiFi, so I feel this deserves a technical explanation, not simply a "we don't support your phone" response.

 

Please do not simply "do enough" to survive as a business and accept you have a poor customer satisfaction rating that you attempt to plaster over with huge PR and marketing campaigns (that only make your exasperated customers feel more likely to hate you for your insolence).

 

Go the extra mile, spend some money, and ensure you reach Amazon style satisfaction. Or give up, because sooner or later you will face a PR meltdown and your shareholders will demand explanations and want to see evidence like this that you listened to and acted intelligently to handle extreme customer dissatisfaction.

 

Message 36 of 62 (15,799 Views)
Rank 50: Grand Master
Posts: 22,711
Registered: ‎13-10-2009

Re: Tell us what you think


uspnet wrote:

 

"Whatever your device, we've got a price plan for you."

 

This is blatantly misleading. I have described an issue I have at great length concerning the way my Cubot One works fine in all respects, except that when trying to access any google apps over the Vodafone 3G data network - it appears to be blocked. But it worked fine for some months and then has got progessively worse. Why?

 

Every other internet service is accessible using the 3G data link, but not Google. Everything works using WiFi, so I feel this deserves a technical explanation, not simply a "we don't support your phone" response.

 


It's not misleading - they are stating that they can provide you with a price plan for your handset.  At no point have they said that they will provide you with the support for the handset that you feel that they should be doing.   If you buy your own handset, and isn't one that is supported by the network, you can't expect them to provide you with technical support.  As said before, you would be best contacting the manufacturer of the handset. 

Has my post helped you? If so please click the Thumbs Up button! Smiley Wink

Message 37 of 62 (15,784 Views)
Posts: 15,940
Topics: 204
Thanks: 5,854
Solutions: 624
Registered: ‎01-01-2009

Re: Tell us what you think

There is a list - it's the phones that Vodafone sells. If they don't sell it then it isn't supported. That seems to be common sense to me.

Jeffkinn_Sig.png

Message 38 of 62 (15,741 Views)
Rank 40: Professor IV
Posts: 3,559
Registered: ‎18-10-2011

Re: Tell us what you think

So by that reasoning, if you were to go to the USA and buy an iPhone because they are really cheap over there...

Would it be vodafone's fault that the sim you purchase back in the UK will not work as expected with that handset?

 

There are too many makes and models designed for the different global markets to keep a list of what would work or not... There are probably 4 or 5 itterations of the iphone 5s alone, of which only one is fully supported by the UK networks.

 

As I mentioned above, the 1st step would be to see if it is a problem with the handset.

Who knows what is going on inside the software... it could be a bug that means the transport stacks are getting clogged up when on mobile data, but works differently on wifi.

 

Trying it on a phone sold by vodafone or any of the national phone retailers would either confirm or rule out a phone issue.

 

I would also expect there would be quite a few more people shouting very loudly if it was a network problem, the number of people using google phones all day every day, if everyone's sync failed while out and about, that would be newsworthy.

 

While the issues appear when connected to the data networks, it seems unreasonable to demand answers for something that as yet is not proven to be their problem, and things point more to the handset.

Message 39 of 62 (15,732 Views)
Posts: 16,434
Topics: 5,735
Thanks: 54
Solutions: 5,353
Registered: ‎15-09-2009

Re: Tell us what you think

Hi all,

 

We've recently removed a post from this thread for breaching our house rules. Whilst we encourage conversation within the community, there are certain rules everyone must follow. This ensures the forum remains suitable for everyone, as well as being free from excess clutter.

 

The person whose post has been removed has been contacted privately.

 

If you're unfamiliar with the house rules, please take a minute to view them here.

 

Thank you

Message 40 of 62 (15,727 Views)
Got a question?

Get help and technical support on Vodafone's devices, products and services from our online community

If your question relates directly to your account or mobile number please contact our customer services team.

My Vodafone

My Vodafone

Stay in control of your spending and manage your account online.

Log in

Register for My Vodafone

Top up