Support:

Pay as you go services

Ask a question:
Reply
Rank 1: Guest
esferato
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎06-02-2014

Skype is not working

Hello, I'm international truck driver. I just bought vodafone usb dongle. All my friends using this because they can use skype just for free in all europe and it's not necessary to top up. I mean no internet but skype is still working. So why I can't use skype? It shows that my usb dongle is connected, no internet (except vodafone.co.uk) and skype is not working too. So my friends can use skype for free in all europe and i can't, why?

Message 1 of 11 (990 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
esferato
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎06-02-2014

Re: Skype is not working

Anyone?

Message 2 of 11 (981 Views)
Rank 44: Oracle III
Nabs
Posts: 7,699
Registered: ‎06-05-2009

Re: Skype is not working

Hi esferato,

 

Which network are your friends using?

 

I've not been aware of Vodafone UK ever offering free Skype to be honest.

 

Nabs



Find this post useful? Give it the thumbs up below!

Message 3 of 11 (976 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
esferato
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎06-02-2014

Re: Skype is not working

All my friends using vodafone uk :smileyhappy: they bought vodafone usb dongle K4201 with sim card in it. They didn't do anything. Just put stick in laptop, install software, push connect buttont and no internet but skype is on :smileyhappy: In all europe they can use skype I saw that myself.

Message 4 of 11 (973 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
esferato
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎06-02-2014

Re: Skype is not working

any help?

Message 5 of 11 (963 Views)
Rank 44: Oracle III
Nabs
Posts: 7,699
Registered: ‎06-05-2009

Re: Skype is not working

I'm not sure how your friends are getting online but they shouldn't be.

If they havn't topped up the device then there should be no way to access anything other than the Vodafone website.

They must have found some kind of loophole in the system that allows them online without credit.

 

Nabs



Find this post useful? Give it the thumbs up below!

Message 6 of 11 (960 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
esferato
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎06-02-2014

Re: Skype is not working

They can see just vodafone website nothing else and they still can use skype

Message 7 of 11 (956 Views)
Rank 44: Oracle III
Nabs
Posts: 7,699
Registered: ‎06-05-2009

Re: Skype is not working

Yeah, they shoudln't be able to use any kind of web service without having credit on their accounts.

 

If this is indeed a loophole then it could be costing Vodafone millions of £'s with people using data they are not entitled to.

 

Nabs



Find this post useful? Give it the thumbs up below!

Message 8 of 11 (951 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
Lill
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-02-2014

Re: Skype is not working

I have this problem too. My dad actually - hi is a international truck driver too. And he bought vodafone usb dongle K4201 before 1 month. And use skype just for free, but now he can't :smileyhappy: A don't know why and how can I help him?

I don't understand this info: http://www.vodafone.co.uk/shop/dongles-and-mobile-wi-fi/index.htm

I choosing Pay as you go and the model of dongle K4201.

There is price £20 for 1GB UK  (for up to 30 days) and for device.

My dad paid this price and use 1 month this dongle for Skype in Europe: Spain and France.

I see Additional Data Packs ??? 250MB  (for up to 30 days)  -  £5 ?

If I paid this will I have Skype again. And how can I pay ?

Message 9 of 11 (927 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
esferato
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎06-02-2014

Re: Skype is not working

[ Edited ]

Really, the same problem. And i have a lot of problems to topup, im not living in UK, i have my country's bank credit card and i can't top up via internet because u have to have UK credit card....it's horrible.

Message 10 of 11 (920 Views)
Tech Team
Ian_C
Posts: 2,695
Registered: ‎05-03-2010

Re: Skype is not working

Hi guys,

 

Vodafone UK don't offer Skype as part of any of our packages.

 

You can use Skype by downloading an app for example, but you'll be using your data allowance.

 

If it's a Pay as you go device you should have credit to be able to do anything. If your friend has managed somehow to get around this we'd be very interested to hear how he managed this.

 

Thanks

 

Ian

I’m part of the Vodafone Tech Team and here to help. As this is a public forum, we can only answer non account specific queries. Please note, we’re unable to reply to private messages.


If you see a helpful post, please click the 'Thanks' button to let the author know. If a post solves your query, please click the ‘This is the Answer?’ button. This helps others find helpful answers in the community too.

Message 11 of 11 (883 Views)