You are here:

Pay monthly products & services

Ask a question:
Reply
Rank 4: Established Poster
Posts: 76
Registered: ‎30-09-2015

Re: Vodafone Home Broadband / Vodafone Connect

I was reminded of this thread last night when I attempted to use my wireless PC to alter some input settings on my networked AV Receiver.

 

Of course my wireless PC was unable to find my wired network AV Receiver. At this point I realised why and went off to find a network cable.

 

Once my PC was connected by wire the AV Receiver became visible.

 

An update is long overdue so how about Vodafone accept that their inability to fix this in a timely manner and allow people to leave this dreadful service without penalty?

Message 61 of 367 (15,685 Views)
Rank 2: First Poster
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎25-05-2016

Re: Vodafone Home Broadband / Vodafone Connect

Further to my comments, I've now switched to vodafone, and I have to say everything I've tested has worked. TV (panasonic) can access my WD nas disk via DLNA, when the TV app first starts, ot complains it cant detect a DLNA server but after a monute or so it then appears, and i can stream from ot no problem. My TV, Sky and FIre stick can all stream happily and i can print to my epson wireless printer.  Testing using bt wholesales own test shows 37 mb download speed, about what i was getting with john lewis broadband.

 

I have checked, and my firmware upgraded to 5.4.8.1.160.13.77 so for me happy days, and im sorry DNLA doesn't work for others.

 

Richard

Message 62 of 367 (15,004 Views)
Rank 2: First Poster
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎15-06-2016

Re: Vodafone Home Broadband / Vodafone Connect

Adding my +1 to get this sorted. My old TV/amp had problems, I have a new Panasonic TV and I have to choose between having DLNA access on the TV, but not using SmartPhone app (as it can't see the TV), or having the Smartphone App but not DLNA.

 

Amp also could not update firmware/run app wired into router, but wifi is fine. I've tried adding a switch as others have suggested and this does nothing. This is a serious fault with what you're placing as a marker leading solution yet it's stopping all my smart devices - some of which I've had for 8 years, multiple providers and never had an issue. 

 

Also problems with my DLNA enabled Roberts aerial, but if I route that via a Wifi booster, problem goes away - I do not need the booster as I have a strong signal.

 

 

Wish I'd understood the issues more at the start, I would have returned.

Message 63 of 367 (14,959 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎25-04-2016

Re: Vodafone Home Broadband / Vodafone Connect

@MonkeyJabba: you'd need to add a router to stand a chance of getting your wired issues sorted. Typically, you would place a switch at the end of a single cable run to add more devices but usually it has no configurable routing. Regards.
Message 64 of 367 (14,836 Views)
Rank 2: First Poster
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎15-06-2016

Re: Vodafone Home Broadband / Vodafone Connect

@SpiralGalaxy5 thanks - yes, I think you're right. Not a great, tidy solution at all and likely to cause grief with my remote access requirements no doubt - which again were not easy in the first place with the VF supplied router!

 

Thanks for your help.

Message 65 of 367 (14,823 Views)
Rank 4: Established Poster
Posts: 76
Registered: ‎30-09-2015

Re: Vodafone Home Broadband / Vodafone Connect

Came home from work this morning (I work nights) to find my internet royally screwed up. Couldn't log into router it was that bad. 

 

After a hard reset it turns out I have had an upgrade. Not sure of the benefits but as I had previously used my former BT SSID and wireless password as well as 192.168.0.1 for the router IP address things needed changing.

 

Seems I cannot use my old BT wireless key/password any more as it doesn't include a capital letter. That will cheer the kids up with all their wireless phones/devices.

 

I would like to think all my wired to wireless (and vice versa) woes are over but I am still shellshocked over the hour I lost just regaining access to the network and the internet.

 

So time will tell.

Message 66 of 367 (14,667 Views)
Rank 2: First Poster
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎15-06-2016

Re: Vodafone Home Broadband / Vodafone Connect

Interesting, I had problems yesterday/this morning with my iPads losing the network, so I checked my router which I couldn't login to because THE PASSWORD HAS BEEN CHANGED BACK TO THE DEFAULT!!!

Not checked firmware, will do that later when I get home.

Seriously, how on earth does a router/firmware go back to a default password!?
Message 67 of 367 (14,631 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎24-10-2015

Re: Vodafone Home Broadband / Vodafone Connect

At last, the Vodafone Connect router has been fixed and allows DLNA streaming from my Seagate Goflex NAS. Only had to wait 8 MONTHS for some basic functionality! Be warned, it took a factory reset which wiped out the SSID I had given the router. Good luck everyone.
Message 68 of 367 (14,549 Views)
Rank 2: First Poster
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎11-01-2016

Re: Vodafone Home Broadband / Vodafone Connect

When you say it's been fixed.....You forced the factory reset yourself or you went through VF support?? which then picked up new FW or same ?
But you are saying a full reset has resolved... ?
Message 69 of 367 (14,538 Views)
Rank 2: First Poster
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎18-12-2015

Re: Vodafone Home Broadband / Vodafone Connect

[ Edited ]

What is is your software and firmware version?

 

This is where i am

 

System running for
17 days, 22 hours
Software version
5.4.8.1.160.13.77
Vodafone Connect router model name
Vodafone Connect
Vodafone Connect router hardware version
ADB 963168_ADBVOX25
Message 70 of 367 (14,534 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎24-10-2015

Re: Vodafone Home Broadband / Vodafone Connect

I was advised that a factory reset was required by Vodafone,  I was on the phone to them again yesterday.  They advised me that the firmware was only released yesterday. I did try just switching off and rebooting,  but this didn't work. After the reset my NAS finally appeared on the Xbox 360 and my Sony TV.  Not sure what version I am currently on as I am not at home currently, but Vodafone did say that the firmware had only just been released yesterday morning. 

 

Message 71 of 367 (14,508 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎24-10-2015

Re: Vodafone Home Broadband / Vodafone Connect

Sorry,  meant to add, the interface does look quite different. 

Message 72 of 367 (14,505 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎18-03-2016

Re: Vodafone Home Broadband / Vodafone Connect

My router now has the latest firmware, and it kept my settings and didn't require a factory reset from what I can see - it was updated automatically. There is now an option to disable DHCP on the router, and the interface has been totally redesigned. I haven't had the chance yet to see if it resolves the WiFi/LAN routing & visibility issues.

 

Message 73 of 367 (14,493 Views)
Rank 2: First Poster
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎11-01-2016

Re: Vodafone Home Broadband / Vodafone Connect

Just got home no change for me still

Software version
5.4.8.1.160.13.77

What is the latest FW version you have then with the updated interface etc??
Message 74 of 367 (14,437 Views)
Rank 4: Established Poster
Posts: 76
Registered: ‎30-09-2015

Re: Vodafone Home Broadband / Vodafone Connect

@cjwalsh, perhaps you were using default settings? I have always used 192.168.0.1 for my routers the default is 192.168.1.1, which the router defaulted to when updating.

 

A question:

My son is now complaining about wi-fi dropouts. If I enable Guest Wi-Fi and just put his android TV box on that Wi-Fi will it detract from the signal strength of the primary Wi-Fi?

 

My firmware is now: 5.4.8.1.271.1.41

Message 75 of 367 (14,429 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎18-03-2016

Re: Vodafone Home Broadband / Vodafone Connect

I kept the default IP address settings, but it kept my non-default WiFi settings.

 

Message 76 of 367 (14,424 Views)
Rank 4: Established Poster
Posts: 76
Registered: ‎30-09-2015

Re: Vodafone Home Broadband / Vodafone Connect

With hindsight perhaps a factory reset was a bit excessive but being unable to log into the router when my children claim the wireless internet is not working is a bit alarming.

 

Especially as the update came out of the blue.

Message 77 of 367 (14,417 Views)
Rank 2: First Poster
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎15-06-2016

Re: Vodafone Home Broadband / Vodafone Connect

Rebooted router, no new FW for me :-(
Message 78 of 367 (14,392 Views)
Rank 2: First Poster
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎11-01-2016

Re: Vodafone Home Broadband / Vodafone Connect

Did you reset it by holding a pin into the reset button - believe you will need to do that for pick up .... Would do it but wife is watching Netflix ...
Message 79 of 367 (14,388 Views)
Rank 2: First Poster
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎15-06-2016

Re: Vodafone Home Broadband / Vodafone Connect

I'll give it a go, I guess that's a hard reset though?
Message 80 of 367 (14,383 Views)
Got a question?

Get help and technical support on Vodafone's devices, products and services from our online community

If your question relates directly to your account or mobile number please contact our customer services team.

My Vodafone

My Vodafone

Stay in control of your spending and manage your account online.

Log in

Register for My Vodafone

Top up