Pay monthly products & services

Ask a question:
Reply
Rank 1: Guest
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎02-03-2017
Accepted Solution

data sim ACTIVATION

I've just signed up for a DATA SIM ONLY deal.via the net. I received it yesterday and it is not active.

 

CUSTOMER SERVICES SEEM INCAPABLE OF UNDERSTANDING ME WHEN I SAY I DON'T HAVE A PHONE NUMBER SUPPLIED WITH IT.

 

Can somebody PLEASE get me sorted ot I am cancelling it and going back to Three!

 

Message 1 of 14 (3,108 Views)

Accepted Solutions
Posts: 21,004
Registered: ‎14-08-2011

Re: data sim ACTIVATION

From the thread I pasted on earlier it seems a person received a resolution by persisting with Customer service until they engaged with a front line agent who had the required knowledge to sort this out. 

 

Is it possible the dongle is at issue? Maybe the APN settings need looking at. 

image.jpeg

 

View solution in original position

Message 7 of 14 (4,257 Views)

All Replies
Posts: 21,004
Registered: ‎14-08-2011

Re: data sim ACTIVATION

Hi

 

May I ask if you have a Vodafone store nearby as they usually can help. 

 

Also sometimes I've heard that inserting the sim card in a phone and activating that way can help. 

 

Failing that the community forum has official Vodafone Teams who read all posts and help where they can. 

image.jpeg

 

Message 2 of 14 (3,104 Views)
Posts: 21,004
Registered: ‎14-08-2011

Re: data sim ACTIVATION

Message 3 of 14 (3,099 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎02-03-2017

Re: data sim ACTIVATION

I'm over half an hour away from my closest Vodafone store in Barry and the sky has just gone ultra black with a torrential downpour just starting.

 

I'll,pop it into an old Motorola Timeport and see if that does any good

 

Thanks for the suggestion

 

 

Message 4 of 14 (3,098 Views)
Posts: 21,004
Registered: ‎14-08-2011

Re: data sim ACTIVATION

Ok. 

 

The link I added may hold some help too. 

 

 

image.jpeg

 

Message 5 of 14 (3,096 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎02-03-2017

Re: data sim ACTIVATION

Its definitly picking up a signal in the phone

 

But nothing on the dongle

 

Now saying the profile is invalid

 

Message 6 of 14 (3,095 Views)
Posts: 21,004
Registered: ‎14-08-2011

Re: data sim ACTIVATION

From the thread I pasted on earlier it seems a person received a resolution by persisting with Customer service until they engaged with a front line agent who had the required knowledge to sort this out. 

 

Is it possible the dongle is at issue? Maybe the APN settings need looking at. 

image.jpeg

 

Message 7 of 14 (4,258 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎02-03-2017

Re: data sim ACTIVATION

Sorry for the late reply.

 

The dongle is fine, just got a Three SIM into it  and it just sparked into life

 

Now the possiblity is the APN settings so I need to find how I get those...

 

 

Message 8 of 14 (3,069 Views)
Posts: 21,004
Registered: ‎14-08-2011

Re: data sim ACTIVATION

[ Edited ]
Message 9 of 14 (3,065 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎02-03-2017

Re: data sim ACTIVATION

Amazon it's unlocked and open to all networks.
Message 10 of 14 (3,059 Views)
Posts: 21,004
Registered: ‎14-08-2011

Re: data sim ACTIVATION

Cool. 

 

Then it should work when the correct Vodafone Apn's are entered. Good luck.  Smiley Happy

 

 

image.jpeg

 

Message 11 of 14 (3,056 Views)
Rank 50: Grand Master
Posts: 17,325
Registered: ‎25-03-2008

Re: data sim ACTIVATION

[ Edited ]

Hi @peterkin262

 

Before you are able to use the dongle, you first need the correct APN settings and download the correct software and drivers.

 

You can find how this can be done on the link below.  You will need to enter  the device, you will then find the correct settings.

 

Device Support

 

Software Download

 

As far as the number is concerned, with the SIM being preactivated, you will be able to see this on your dashboard as soon as you start using the service.

 

If you are unclear on the settings and software, live chat will always help and quite sure they will even email the setting and software information direct to you.

 

 

Message 12 of 14 (3,047 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎02-03-2017

Re: data sim ACTIVATION

[ Edited ]

Its all sorted now.

 

Over TWO WEEKS to get my Data SIM activated!

 

But it is now working.

Message 13 of 14 (1,189 Views)
Highlighted
Rank 1: Guest
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎02-03-2017

Re: data sim ACTIVATION

And thanks to @Lee and everybody else who tried to help.

 

Funnily enough the voice calls part was active though. I could insert the SIM into an ancient Timeport 260 handset and was able to dial 191 and get through.

 

I popped the SIM into my Huawei e8372 Wingle (?!) and was just about to complain to Vodafone when it suddenly burst into life.

 

But I've got a decent 3G signal here (No 4G funnily enough!) and a reliable data signal.

 

Thanks again.

 

Message 14 of 14 (1,185 Views)
Got a question?

Get help and technical support on Vodafone's devices, products and services from our online community

If your question relates directly to your account or mobile number please contact our customer services team.

My Vodafone

My Vodafone

Stay in control of your spending and manage your account online.

Log in

Register for My Vodafone

Top up