You are here:

Pay monthly services

Ask a question:
Reply
Rank 1: Guest
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎20-08-2013

Do I need to activate new sim/deactivate old sim?

I have just upgraded my Vodafone contract and phone and received my iPhone 5 yesterday, including a new sim as my old one was an iPhone 3GS which has a different sim. I have kept my number (well I am assuming I have because I can't find anything with a new number and the upgraded contract is linked to my old number still) so I think I need to deactivate my old phone or activate my new one? I can't get anything other than 'no service' on my new phone and my old one is working fine. I am guessing there can't be 2 sims active with the same number. How do I go about solving this?

Thanks!
Message 1 of 6 (18,255 Views)
Moderator (Retired)
Posts: 7,505
Registered: ‎03-05-2012

Re: Do I need to activate new sim/deactivate old sim?

Hi skibs,

 

When you upgrade, you keep your number yes.

 

We send out new SIMs inactive for security reasons but it’s a simple process to activate it.

 

Just login to your My Vodafone and at on the left hand side of the main page, you’ll see a link that says ‘Activate SIM’. Click on this link and you’ll be asked to enter the old SIM number and also the new one.

 

The activation process is normally quick but can take up to 24 hours. When the new Sim is activated, it will automatically deactivate the old one.

 

Let me know how you go on.

 

Thanks,

 

Andrew

 

If you have the time, would you be able to complete a short feedback survey for me? You can find it here and it’ll go to ensuring I’m offering the best service I can.

I’m part of the Vodafone Tech Team and here to help. As this is a public forum, we can only answer non account specific queries. Please note, we’re unable to reply to private messages.


If you see a helpful post, please click the 'Thanks' button to let the author know. If a post solves your query, please click the ‘This is the Answer?’ button. This helps others find helpful answers in the community too.

Message 2 of 6 (18,174 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎20-12-2013

Re: Do I need to activate new sim/deactivate old sim?

Thank you for your advice, I also need to activate a new SIM. Unfortunately the requirements do seem to fall over when it is a SIM being replaced as the phone has been lost!

 

In the swap process you are asked for the old SIM number...clearly if the phone and SIM is lost we do not have that number(and I doubt many people know their SIM?). We are unable to find any details on our account regarding the old SIM as it has been reported lost and blocked?

 

I am at a total loss to be honest...surely this can be taken care of by account login to my vodafone...vodafone will know the number of the new SIM and it should be a simple transition to that that SIM for our contract number that needs to go on it! Come on, think about this and make it possible through account management online!

Message 3 of 6 (14,521 Views)
Posts: 3,391
Topics: 53
Thanks: 3,769
Solutions: 189
Registered: ‎09-02-2009

Re: Do I need to activate new sim/deactivate old sim?

[ Edited ]

You can get from your My Account. Click on Manage my settings and the old SIM card number is the second line on the my Setting Page. Copy it and you can paste it on the SIM Swap form.

If you have more than one phone, you will have a drop down Menu listing all the number. You can select the one you need.

Message 4 of 6 (14,514 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-04-2015

Re: Do I need to activate new sim/deactivate old sim?

Hi, I've got a very similar problem:

I lost my phone containing my sim but didnt bother reporting it as i knew my upgrade was due and that i would receive a new sim with my new phone. My new phone and nano SIM arrived a few days ago and i cant seem to activate my SIM because when i try to fill in the activation form it asks for my old sim number, which i dont know since that SIM is lost.

 

You said that I could find my old SIM number from the My Settings page on My Account, but I think that the website might have changed since then and I cant find that option anywhere. Is there any other way for me to retrieve my old SIM number so that I could fill in the activation form. Or is there any way for me to activate my new SIM without having to enter my old SIM number.

Thanks.

Message 5 of 6 (2,016 Views)
Posts: 401
Topics: 16
Thanks: 29
Solutions: 3
Registered: ‎13-10-2011

Re: Do I need to activate new sim/deactivate old sim?

Hi @n4rbs

 

We’ll need to access your account to get you old SIM details.

 

Contact our Live help team, they’ll be able to resolve this for you.

 

Thanks

Michelle

Message 6 of 6 (1,862 Views)
Help and Support
My Vodafone

My Vodafone

Stay in control of your spending and manage your account online.

Log in

Register for My Vodafone

YouTube help

Vodafone EuroTraveller