You are here:
Ask a question:
Rank 2: First Poster

For anybody using ICS on their Galaxy S ...

As regular posters will know I've been running Team Hacksungs ICS Build 12 on my phone for several months now and been very happy with it - I've had the odd random reboot in that time but as it's been rock solid in every other respect I didn't think any more of it.

However, this morning I was in the process of updating the host file for AdFree, when all of a sudden I get this little gem pop up on screen:

Encryption unsuccessful
Encryption was interrupted and can't complete. As a result, the data on your phone is no longer accessible.

To resume using your phone, you must perform a factory reset. When you set up your phone after the reset, you'll have an opportunity to restore any data that was backed up to your Google Account.

Given the date today, my first thought was that this was some kind of April Fools prank by Google or one of the apps I had installed on the phone, so onto the internet I went ... sadly no - I found mention of the same message in an ICS thread on XDA dating from earlier this month.

Either way, I've had to do a factory reset, which has lost me all my apps, but signing back in to my Google account has restored a lot. I regularly back my camera pics up to my laptop, so I just need to copy them back over later.

The most annoying thing is that I'm on holiday on the Norfolk coast at the moment and only have access to dial-up internet, so I won't be able to restore any apps yet - the 3G signal the phone picks up is next to useless up here, so this has given me a salutory lesson to get something like Titanium Backup installed once I'm back to a level playing field.

Just wanted to make any fellow ICS users aware ...

Message 1 of 11 (4,521 Views)
Rank 13: Guide II

Re: For anybody using ICS on their Galaxy S ...

[ Edited ]

i have been using this i.c.s rom v1.6 for the last two weeks now without any problems