Support:

Vodafone Sure Signal

Ask a question:
Reply
Rank 3: Occasional Poster
jcurtis
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎04-04-2010

Re: Sure Signal - "Call Failed" error when making Outbound calls

Well, I left a message on the contact our CEO page and got a call back a day later, which was nice.

 

A new twist however which I should report to those looking at the issue.  I have put a new SS V2 int my Daughter in Laws house in WA15, which normally has exceedingly poor to non-exitent coverage.  Since putting this in the iPhone users have users have come in and picked up the SS box every time without a problem and had no first time call failure errors.  I can only assume it relates to the very poor coverage in the area, so the phones immediately latch onto the SS box with no alternates available.  Anyway, this box is been working perfectly with iPhone devices for the last week or so.

Message 141 of 621 (10,455 Views)
Rank 2: First Poster
scoobyflew
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎08-02-2011

Re: Sure Signal - "Call Failed" error when making Outbound calls

My Sure Signal was a nighmare to setup earlier this year, took 2 months and a replacement to get it working.

Now, all of a sudden, it's started failing on outgoing calls, again.
It sounds like the SAC problem, but it's been working for 5 months so it can't be that.

 

I've reset the box half a dozen times.

 

Can anyone from VF help resolve this problem?

 

Message 142 of 621 (10,445 Views)
Moderator (Retired)
Moderator (Retired)
Lee
Posts: 19,284
Registered: ‎27-10-2008

Re: Sure Signal - "Call Failed" error when making Outbound calls

Hi there scoobyflew,

 

From time to time SAC issues can return to a device if the Service Area Code is updated by the system.

 

The quickest way for us to check this would be for you to send us an email using the template in the first post in this thread.

 

I look forward to seeing your email.

 

Cheers,

 

Lee

eForum Team

Message 143 of 621 (10,430 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
mstjwebb
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-09-2010

Re: Sure Signal - "Call Failed" error when making Outbound calls

Hi Ben

It is an SAC issue as I said in my first post! I have been through all this before and it took a month to fix it! Mainly because people would not believe what I was telling them and because supposed tech people on the phones had no idea what I was on about!

The same thing is happening again because some muppet has again deleted my postcode from a database somewhere causing my sure signal to stop working. This is a big thread and therefore a big problem! I would like to escalate this problem as high as I can. Can you help me with that? Because unless I get it fixed quick I am taking my business elsewhere. How can I operate a business when I have no outgoing phone for a month at a time?

Message 144 of 621 (10,424 Views)
Moderator (Retired)
Moderator (Retired)
Lee
Posts: 19,284
Registered: ‎27-10-2008

Re: Sure Signal - "Call Failed" error when making Outbound calls

Hi there mstjwebb,

 

Many thanks for your post about the SAC issue.

 

In all fairness it's not a 'muppet' that has changed anything. From time to time the back end systems are updated and the Service Area Code is not amended for an unknown reason. It's my job to help our customers resolve this as quickly as possible.

 

The easiest way for me to help our customers is for them to follow the template in George's post at the beginning of this thread and contact us.

 

I submitted a request for another customer to change the SAC yesterday and today I've been emailed to advise it's completed. This is well within the timeframe you've suggested.

 

I've managed to locate your Sure Signal serial number from previous emails you've sent to us recently and can see you are on the incorrect SAC. I've requested for this to be changed and will update the thread when I've had confirmation the change has been completed.

 

Cheers,

 

Lee

eForum Team

Message 145 of 621 (10,414 Views)
Moderator (Retired)
Moderator (Retired)
Lee
Posts: 19,284
Registered: ‎27-10-2008

Re: Sure Signal - "Call Failed" error when making Outbound calls

Hi mstjwebb,

 

Update: I've now got a case reference for your SAC issue: INC65586.

 

I'll update the thread when it's confirmed as changed.

 

Cheers,

 

Lee

eForum Team

Message 146 of 621 (10,410 Views)
Rank 6: Frequent Poster
psychopomp1
Posts: 170
Registered: ‎11-09-2009

Re: Sure Signal - "Call Failed" error when making Outbound calls

Hi Lee
Any further news on the call failed error affecting iphone users? Its getting ridiculous now :smileysad:
Message 147 of 621 (10,397 Views)
Moderator (Retired)
BenJ
Posts: 3,428
Registered: ‎13-01-2010

Re: Sure Signal - "Call Failed" error when making Outbound calls

Hi psychopomp1

 

I know how frustrated you feel about this issue, I've said previously that I've been chasing this and that as soon as I have any news that I can share with you that I would. The latest information I have is that our support teams have identified the cause of the issue for the call drops and outgoing issues and are working on a fix for this. I have chased this up to see when this fix will be available or released, however I haven’t received a response back from this. I can only apologise for the delay, I've mentioned that I myself am suffering from this issue so I do know how frustrating it is. 

 

I promise as soon as I have more information I will let you know.

Thanks


BenJ

eForum Team 

Message 148 of 621 (10,379 Views)
Rank 6: Frequent Poster
psychopomp1
Posts: 170
Registered: ‎11-09-2009

Re: Sure Signal - "Call Failed" error when making Outbound calls

[ Edited ]

Thanks for update BenJ, at least we now know the cause has been identified, so hopefully a fix won't be too far away.
Cheers :0

Message 149 of 621 (10,372 Views)
Moderator (Retired)
Moderator (Retired)
Lee
Posts: 19,284
Registered: ‎27-10-2008

Re: Sure Signal - "Call Failed" error when making Outbound calls

Hi mstjwebb,

 

I've now had confirmation that your SAC has been changed. Can you confirm for me that service has now resumed?

 

I had the confirmation on Monday but this is my first day in the office this week.

 

Cheers,

 

Lee

eForum Team

Message 150 of 621 (10,337 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
dewidaniels
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎17-03-2011

Re: Sure Signal - "Call Failed" error when making Outbound calls

Lee,

 

I have the same problem.  I have an iPhone 4 and a Sure Signal.  The first time I dial, I get "Call Failed", then "Call Back" always works. My Sure Signal's serial number is 21230524197.  I'd be happy to supply you with any further details you need to help resolve the problem.

 

Dewi

Message 151 of 621 (10,306 Views)
Moderator (Retired)
Moderator (Retired)
Lee
Posts: 19,284
Registered: ‎27-10-2008

Re: Sure Signal - "Call Failed" error when making Outbound calls

Hey dewidaniels,

 

I've just sent an email in order that we can add you to our investigations.

 

Kindest regards,

 

Lee

eForum Team

Message 152 of 621 (10,302 Views)
Rank 5: Regular Poster
dazlicous
Posts: 89
Registered: ‎14-03-2010

Re: Sure Signal - "Call Failed" error when making Outbound calls

is there a eta when the fix might be rolled out to customers yet

Message 153 of 621 (10,287 Views)
Rank 6: Frequent Poster
vinsup
Posts: 292
Registered: ‎05-06-2008

Re: Sure Signal - "Call Failed" error when making Outbound calls

Lee,

 

I was contacted by one of your colleagues a few ago regarding some incompatibility issues with VSS and the iPhone. I was then told to wait till those problems are sorted out. I was also told a V2 VSS will be sent out to me which I am still waiting for.

 

Any update?

 

Vin
___________________________________________________________________________________________
SE P910i, Nokia 9300, Qtek 9100, TyTn, TyTn II, Touch Diamond, TP, TP 2, Trophy 7, 3GS, 4, iPad 2, 4S

_______________________________________________________________________________________
Message 154 of 621 (10,272 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
dewidaniels
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎17-03-2011

Re: Sure Signal - "Call Failed" error when making Outbound calls

Am I the only one to have noticed a dramatic improvement since iOS 4.3.5?

Message 155 of 621 (10,267 Views)
Moderator (Retired)
BenJ
Posts: 3,428
Registered: ‎13-01-2010

Re: Sure Signal - "Call Failed" error when making Outbound calls

Hi Guys

Just to let you know we do not have any more information at this moment in time,  we are still passing examples over to our support teams and requesting updates into this issue on a daily basis, as soon as we can share further information with you I will. 

 

Hi vinsup,

It was me you spoke to :smileyhappy:  

 

We are currently having a stock issue with the Sure Signal 2, I have put it in my diary to chase this up and get this resolved for you I've just seen that Lee last replied to your email confirming there is a delay due to stock. I can also confirm that the investigation into the iPhone issues is still on.

 

Thanks

BenJ
eForum Team

Message 156 of 621 (10,260 Views)
Rank 6: Frequent Poster
vinsup
Posts: 292
Registered: ‎05-06-2008

Re: Sure Signal - "Call Failed" error when making Outbound calls

Thanks BenJ. Glad to know that you guys haven't forgotten me. :smileyhappy:

Vin
___________________________________________________________________________________________
SE P910i, Nokia 9300, Qtek 9100, TyTn, TyTn II, Touch Diamond, TP, TP 2, Trophy 7, 3GS, 4, iPad 2, 4S

_______________________________________________________________________________________
Message 157 of 621 (10,260 Views)
Rank 6: Frequent Poster
vinsup
Posts: 292
Registered: ‎05-06-2008

Re: Sure Signal - "Call Failed" error when making Outbound calls

BenJ / Mods

 

I received the new V2 VSS today. Thanks. I connected the device as suggested and also spoke to one of your second line Tech Support guys. He guided me through the setup / replacement procedure of VSS. He has now asked me to wait for 24 hours before the new VSS can kick in.

 

I asked him if the 'baseband issue' of ithe Phone with the VSS has been resolved, he told me very categorically that 'there has never been any issue with the interoperability of an iPhone with the VSS'. I tried telling him that this problem was identified and acknowledged by one of your own team members, but he kept repeating the same message. Not sure what to make of it.

 

Can we get an update on this issue please? Thanks.

Vin
___________________________________________________________________________________________
SE P910i, Nokia 9300, Qtek 9100, TyTn, TyTn II, Touch Diamond, TP, TP 2, Trophy 7, 3GS, 4, iPad 2, 4S

_______________________________________________________________________________________
Message 158 of 621 (10,237 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
SWANENGRG
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎23-06-2011

Re: Sure Signal - "Call Failed" error when making Outbound calls

So does the V2 SS fix this iPhone issue & if so, where is mine & all the others please?

 

Just how long should we be expected to wait for this issue to be resolved?

Message 159 of 621 (10,231 Views)
Rank 6: Frequent Poster
gfendle
Posts: 457
Registered: ‎11-11-2008

Re: Sure Signal - "Call Failed" error when making Outbound calls


BenJ wrote:

Hi Guys

Just to let you know we do not have any more information at this moment in time,  we are still passing examples over to our support teams and requesting updates into this issue on a daily basis, as soon as we can share further information with you I will. 

 

Hi vinsup,

It was me you spoke to :smileyhappy:  

 

We are currently having a stock issue with the Sure Signal 2, I have put it in my diary to chase this up and get this resolved for you I've just seen that Lee last replied to your email confirming there is a delay due to stock. I can also confirm that the investigation into the iPhone issues is still on.

 

Thanks

BenJ
eForum Team



But on the 24th of July you said the cause had been identified and the team were working on a fix. 

 

Don't really understand why you can't get an ETA or why you need to keep sending them more information. Unless of course they haven't found the problem and they're not working on a fix.

Message 160 of 621 (10,624 Views)