You are here:
Ask a question:
Reply
Rank 6: Frequent Poster
Digicom
Posts: 256
Registered: ‎02-02-2010

Re: Sure Signal - Flashing/Steady Power Light, No Other Lights Lit

[ Edited ]

15 days since this issue  been going on now and i have 2 units replaced since then now 1 of them new units has now gone faulty aswell and is now getting beyond a joke!

Are there any updates what so ever regarding when this will be resolved? As im getting sick of hearing tech support say we are working around the clock and will be fixed very shortly and is begining to sound like a stuck record!. :smileymad:

Regards

Digi

Message 481 of 1,260 (9,853 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
greybridge
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎01-12-2010

Re: Sure Signal - Flashing/Steady Power Light, No Other Lights Lit

I have been very happy with my VSS for over a year but recently I switched off my PC for a couple of days while away on business. I did not switch off the VSS. On rebooting my PC I have the steady green light and the solid green at the back plus the flashing orange to show that there is a working link. Having tried all of your suggestions without success all I can report is that on my last attempt, having disconnected the VSS for an hour, I did see the green lights cycle once but now I am back with just the first steady light. What can I try next please? 

Message 482 of 1,260 (9,833 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
greybridge
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎01-12-2010

Re: Sure Signal - Flashing/Steady Power Light, No Other Lights Lit

Apologies Moderator - serial number 21197110170
Message 483 of 1,260 (9,826 Views)
Rank 6: Frequent Poster
mtcsltd
Posts: 134
Registered: ‎19-08-2009

Re: Sure Signal - Flashing/Steady Power Light, No Other Lights Lit

I'm also having this problem. Pleas add my SS to the list of those having problems.

 

S/N; 21196767152

 

I use a Draytek Vigor 2820 ADSL router. UPnP is enabled. I haven't tinkered with the port forwarding settings. It's been working reasonably well up until a few weeks ago. Sometimes a reset fixes it. Today it's making no difference.

Wish it was more reliable!

Thanks for any help.

Mike

Message 484 of 1,260 (9,824 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
greybridge
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎01-12-2010

Re: Sure Signal - Flashing/Steady Power Light, No Other Lights Lit

Given that there appear to be a number of your paying customers who are unable to use their mobile phones due to a apparent failure of VSS it would seem to be not unreasonavle to expect some sort of soothing response from you!
Message 485 of 1,260 (9,816 Views)
Moderator (Retired)
Moderator (Retired)
Lee
Posts: 19,284
Registered: ‎27-10-2008

Re: Sure Signal - Flashing/Steady Power Light, No Other Lights Lit

Hey Digicom,

 

Many thanks for the update. Your post indicates you've now had two units and that one of those units has become faulty. Are you saying that one of them is working?

 

Have you tried de-registering the unit and re-registering 24 hours later?

 

Hey mtcsltd and greybridge,

 

I've just forced a resync of both of your units. Would you be able to update the thread to confirm whether this has worked for you or not?

 

Cheers,

 

Lee

eForum Team

Message 486 of 1,260 (9,805 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
sylv
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎20-05-2011

Re: Sure Signal - Flashing/Steady Power Light, No Other Lights Lit

lee
Will u force a resync on mine Im so tired of waiting how do you pick and choose who you re sync.
Serial number 21229058801
Thanks
Message 487 of 1,260 (9,800 Views)
Moderator (Retired)
Moderator (Retired)
Lee
Posts: 19,284
Registered: ‎27-10-2008

Re: Sure Signal - Flashing/Steady Power Light, No Other Lights Lit

Hey sylv,

 

Cheers for your post. I've just done that for you.

 

You need to factory reset your device and you should be ready to go.

 

We don't pick and choose, sylv! We are allocated posts to work on a first come, first served basis. If others have posted since the first reply was logged, then I feel a duty to do my best to address all posters at the same time :smileywink:

 

To factory reset:

 

  • Hold down the reset button until all the lights show (about 30 seconds) keeping the reset button held down.
  • Remove then re-insert the power lead.
  • Once all lights display release the reset button. The Sure Signal will come online in around 1 hour.

Let me know how you get on.

 

Cheers,

 

Lee

eForum Team

Message 488 of 1,260 (9,797 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
vchaney
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎23-05-2011

Re: Sure Signal - Flashing/Steady Power Light, No Other Lights Lit

Hi,

 

My SS is not working.I'm getting a flashing power light.

 

SS box no: 21197218163

 

SS has an IP address assigned, which I can ping from my laptop.

 

Traceroute shows that I can access the servers (See below).

 

I'm not sure how to proceed. The box was working well for nearly a year.

 

Vince

 

Traceroute has started…

traceroute to 212.183.133.177 (212.183.133.177), 64 hops max, 52 byte packets
 1  192.168.2.1 (192.168.2.1)  3.364 ms  0.651 ms  0.994 ms
 2  losubs.subs.dsl1.mbr-roch.zen.net.uk (62.3.82.17)  27.600 ms  33.196 ms  28.683 ms
 3  ae0-136.cr1.mbr-roch.zen.net.uk (62.3.80.137)  29.156 ms  27.877 ms  28.454 ms
 4  ae2-0.cr1.kp-leeds.zen.net.uk (62.3.80.70)  29.949 ms  28.683 ms  31.441 ms
 5  ge-3-1-0-0.cr2.kp-leeds.zen.net.uk (62.3.80.74)  28.484 ms  28.461 ms  29.783 ms
 6  ge-3-0-0-0.cr1.th-lon.zen.net.uk (62.3.80.78)  32.994 ms  63.078 ms  36.173 ms
 7  sl-gw23-lon-11-1-0.sprintlink.net (82.195.189.65)  36.675 ms  34.053 ms  34.041 ms
 8  sl-bb23-lon-9-0-0.sprintlink.net (213.206.128.62)  35.372 ms  34.426 ms  34.627 ms
 9  sl-bb20-lon-3-0-0.sprintlink.net (213.206.129.150)  36.511 ms  34.977 ms  35.588 ms
10  213.206.131.26 (213.206.131.26)  33.892 ms  37.126 ms  39.864 ms
11  vodafone-ltd.tengigabitethernet7-1.ar6.lon3.gblx.net (64.214.144.122)  46.017 ms  45.861 ms  43.586 ms

Message 489 of 1,260 (9,793 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
tbailey7
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎29-11-2009

Re: Sure Signal - Flashing/Steady Power Light, No Other Lights Lit

Hi Lee, would you please be able to force a resync at my sure signals as my message (copied below) on another thread hasn't been picked up as of yet (and i have little/no signal at both my addresses!!)

 

Many thanks

 

Tom

 

The serial number for my sure signal (V1) based at BB7 4PY is 21224323952.  The serial number for my other sure signal (V2) based at cw2 5fh is 40110712193.  It appears both of them have the same fault (a steady power light only, a green light on v1 and a red light on v2).  I have deregistered and re-registered v2 as it has never worked properly.  V1 stopped working approx 3-4 weeks ago (just before i purchased v2 for my new house).  if you could resync my suresignals or whatever it takes that would be gratefully appreciated.

 

Kind regards

 

Tom

Message 490 of 1,260 (9,788 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
sylv
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎20-05-2011

Re: Sure Signal - Flashing/Steady Power Light, No Other Lights Lit

Lee

 

Thanks for the response, does that mean that I have to post say every hour in order to get a response as I have been posting for a week now and only had two replies when I get a bit cross?  

 

I have tried a factory reset once again, the lights come on in sequence and then go out aprt from power then after 5 mins Im back to the flashing power light yet again.

 

Whatever has made this happen to so many boxes need to be sorted asap.  I have 5 contracts linked to this box in order to make a call in my house.  I will be leaving Vodafone if this is not sorted, Ive not been able to make calls/receive calls for a week now and Im paying for this kind of service.!!!!, would you pay for this???

 

I know its not your fault and you are taking the brunt of people frustration but where else do we go? you cant get an answer if you ring, you ccant deal with all the posts on this forum, theres far too many now!!

 

Where is the customer service for valued customers, or any service, we cant use our phones!!!!!!!!!!!!!

 

If by any mirale something happens to the box overnight i will post again tomorrow and let you know, but not much faith in that happening really.

Looks like it Ill be going to the Vodafone shop Saturday, I cant do another week like this.

Regards

Sylv

Message 491 of 1,260 (9,783 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
Kev6eel
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎24-07-2010

Re: Sure Signal - Flashing/Steady Power Light, No Other Lights Lit

My Suresignal (older version) has been working fine. Several weeks ago it stopped working and only has a solid power light.

On power up its steps through all the LED's then reverts to just the power light being on.

 

I went thru the checklist on the forum - 

it has an ip address

I can see it connected 

It doesn't see the internet

 

I have reset all the comms kit (router, BB modem, etc) No change

I have connected the SS direct to the BB modem No change

 

My router is a Netgear N300 (WNR2000 V2). ISP is Virgin Media (cable) 

 

What next?

 

Message 492 of 1,260 (9,777 Views)
Rank 6: Frequent Poster
Digicom
Posts: 256
Registered: ‎02-02-2010

Re: Sure Signal - Flashing/Steady Power Light, No Other Lights Lit

[ Edited ]

Hello Lee

Thanks for your reply just to confirm yes i have 2 suresignal units and both are not working.

Regards de-registering the units and re-registering ive done this 6 times since this issue first started  (17 days ago) on 10th May

Being honest i think these version 2 suresignals i just recieved are terrible and would prefer 2 of older versions again

 

Kind Regards

Digi

 

 

Message 493 of 1,260 (9,775 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
SammiC
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎27-05-2011

Re: Sure Signal - Flashing/Steady Power Light, No Other Lights Lit

Hi Vodafone,

Hope you can help.

We are having a problem with our SS suddenly after a year wihout problems.

I have check all the settings etc as suggested throughout the message boards and have also spent half my day on the phone to support. The engineer were able to verify all ports were opened correctly etc but its still broken! He asked me to call Virgin to see if they had made changes, they haven't.

 

We have a solid light power on the box and thats it, been like it since 25th May now.

Serial number is 21197206531

Netgear WNR2000v2

ISP Virgin

What do we do now? I live in an area surrounded by trees and have a newborn baby to look after with no Mobile signal to the outside world :smileysad:

 

Please advise

Sam

Message 494 of 1,260 (9,754 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
greybridge
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎01-12-2010

Re: Sure Signal - Flashing/Steady Power Light, No Other Lights Lit

Lee,

 

Much regret to report that your resynch did not work

 

I have tried a reset as well to no avail

Message 495 of 1,260 (9,745 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
SeanGlasspool
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎20-05-2011

Re: Sure Signal - Flashing/Steady Power Light, No Other Lights Lit

still got a flashing power light here too.
Message 496 of 1,260 (9,741 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
mwhale
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎22-05-2011

Re: Sure Signal - Flashing/Steady Power Light, No Other Lights Lit

My suresignal is now working!

 

Its been off for 2 weeks.

 

The fix for this is as described in the Troubleshooting guide. 

 

Simply hold down the reset button, wait for all the lights to come on. 

 

Keep your finger on the reset button and pull out the power cable.

 

Keep your finger on the reset button and replace the power cable.

 

release the reset button.

 

Once the device has reset you should see the power button and the @ button lit.

 

It then took a further hour for the device to work. 

 

Incidentally, if your device worked before the recent vodafone service upgrade, then it should work without doing anything to your broadband router configuration.

 

Thanks

Message 497 of 1,260 (9,733 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
greybridge
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎01-12-2010

Re: Sure Signal - Flashing/Steady Power Light, No Other Lights Lit

Lee,

I have carried out a factory reset as per your message 488 above to Sylv and my VSS is now working again. Thank you for your assistance to us all and I do hope that this works for other troubled owners

Greybridge
Message 498 of 1,260 (9,729 Views)
Moderator (Retired)
Moderator (Retired)
Lee
Posts: 19,284
Registered: ‎27-10-2008

Re: Sure Signal - Flashing/Steady Power Light, No Other Lights Lit

Hey everybody,

 

I'll address those that I know are fixed first of all.

 

Digicom, greybridge and mwhale - It's fantastic that your Sure Signal units are now in working order, thanks for letting me know.

 

Kev6eel, would you be so kind as to let e know your Sure Signal serial number please?

 

vchaney, tbailey7 and SammiC - I have just performed a resync for all of you on all serial numbers listed. Please let me know how it goes.

 

Cheers,

 

Lee

eForum Team

Message 499 of 1,260 (9,725 Views)
Moderator (Retired)
Moderator (Retired)
Lee
Posts: 19,284
Registered: ‎27-10-2008

Re: Sure Signal - Flashing/Steady Power Light, No Other Lights Lit

[ Edited ]

Hi SeanGlasspool,

 

Don't worry; I'm not ignoring you :smileywink: I just got a little lost in all the names I had to reply to just now.

 

I can see that George forced a resync for you a couple of days ago judging by his reply to your post in another thread.

 

If the resync hasn't worked, then you just need to perform a factory reset.

 

To factory reset:

 

  • Hold down the reset button until all the lights show (about 30 seconds) keeping the reset button held down.
  • Remove then re-insert the power lead.
  • Once all lights display release the reset button. The Sure Signal will come online in around 1 hour.

Let me know how you get on.

 

Cheers,

 

Lee

eForum Team



Message 500 of 1,260 (9,721 Views)