cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ask

Solution

Is it true that the VSS only works on PPPoA?

Onzadog
4: Newbie

Please go easy on me.  I'm no expert on such things.  My understanding is that PPPoA works with a static IP address and PPPoE works with a dynamic address.  Am I also right in thinking that most domestic ISP only offer dynamic addresses and therefore, by default, only PPPoE to domestic customers?

I've been told by a CSR in Egypt that VSS only works with PPPoA.  Is this true?

Mine has worked for over two years and only recently started to have problems.  I've been with the same ISP all that time and longer.  Today they confirmed that I've always been on a dynamic IP address and they only offer static addresses at a premium.

If someone could help unconfused me, it would be very much appreciated.

8 REPLIES 8

Retired-AndyD
Moderator (Retired)
Moderator (Retired)

Hi Onzadog,

Please take a look at our Sure Signal Troubleshooting thread. If this doesn’t resolve your query, please post your reply either below, or in the relevant thread, together with the details requested, including the following information.

Your speed test results from here.
Your ping test results from here.
Your external IP address from here.
The results of a traceroute.
Your Sure Signal serial number:

VSS Traceroute command

On a PC:

Click on Start and select Run
Type CMD into the Run box and press enter/click ok
A black box will appear.
In this box type tracert 212.183.133.177 press Enter
Paste the output of this command into your reply.

This will help us get the quickest possible resolution for you.

Thanks

Andy

allegoricus
13: Advanced Member

PPPoA and PPPoE are your ISP's business. They are merely different transport protocols.

The only requirement is that the modem side of your router connects with your ISP via whatever is the correct mode (i.e. PPPoA or PPPoE).