You are here:
Ask a question:
Reply
Rank 1: Guest
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎19-06-2012
Accepted Solution

Solid Red Light Only Linksys WRT610N

I have gone through the trouble shooting guide (for steady power light only) and still cannot get my Sure Signal to connect. Help please....

 

Note that I had trouble executing a couple of bits from the troubleshooting guide:

1) Under the "Manually configure your Router to allow port-forwarding" I could not work out what I was supposed to do with the list of destination IP addresses. I set up the ports and protocols no problem. And I had no issue assigning a static IP address. But the list of IP addresses is a mystery. N.B. The other issue I found was that the instructions on http://portforward.com only contained the first 4 ports and protocols (missing out ports 8 and 1723) and made no mention of the IP addresses. I tried both versions of the ports and protocols list.

 

2) My router doesn't allow me to enter an MTU size of 1500. The highest it goes is 1492.

 

Please note I am a Mac user so any instructions need to be Mac friendly.

 

Thanks very much

Message 1 of 16 (4,784 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎19-06-2012

Re: Solid Red Light Only Linksys WRT610N

I just performed a traceroute and a pathping. The results are below.

 

Traceroute:

 

traceroute to 212.183.133.177 (212.183.133.177), 64 hops max, 52 byte packets
1 192.168.1.1 (192.168.1.1) 0.929 ms 0.437 ms 9.386 ms
2 telehouse-gw2-lo1.idnet.net (212.69.63.51) 7.401 ms 7.094 ms 7.534 ms
3 telehouse-gw6-gi4-400.idnet.net (212.69.63.246) 7.117 ms 7.106 ms 7.225 ms
4 lndgw2.arcor-ip.net (195.66.224.124) 11.245 ms 8.293 ms 11.164 ms
5 85.205.116.10 (85.205.116.10) 9.037 ms 8.723 ms 8.677 ms
6 * * *
7 * * *
8 * * *
9 * * *
10 * * *
11 * * *
12 * * *
13 * * *
14 * * *
15 * * *
16 * * *
17 * * *
18 * * *
19 * * *
20 * * *
21 * * *
22 * * *
23 * * *
24 * * *
25 * * *
26 * * *
27 * * *
28 * * *
29 * * *
30 * * *
31 * * *
32 * * *
33 * * *
34 * * *
35 * * *
36 * * *
37 * * *
38 * * *
39 * * *
40 * * *
41 * * *
42 * * *
43 * * *
44 * * *
45 * * *
46 * * *
47 * * *
48 * * *
49 * * *
50 * * *
51 * * *
52 * * *
53 * * *
54 * * *
55 * * *
56 * * *
57 * * *
58 * * *
59 * * *
60 * * *
61 * * *
62 * * *
63 * * *
64 * * *

 

Pathping

 

Ping has started…

 

PING 212.183.133.181 (212.183.133.181): 56 data bytes

Request timeout for icmp_seq 0

Request timeout for icmp_seq 1

Request timeout for icmp_seq 2

Request timeout for icmp_seq 3

Request timeout for icmp_seq 4

Request timeout for icmp_seq 5

Request timeout for icmp_seq 6

Request timeout for icmp_seq 7

Request timeout for icmp_seq 8

 

--- 212.183.133.181 ping statistics ---

10 packets transmitted, 0 packets received, 100.0% packet loss

Message 2 of 16 (4,779 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎19-06-2012

Re: Solid Red Light Only Linksys WRT610N

Any help please from technical support? Thank you.

Message 3 of 16 (4,767 Views)
Rank 3: Occasional Poster
Posts: 59
Registered: ‎13-06-2012

Re: Solid Red Light Only Linksys WRT610N

Hello,

 

Bear with me while I review the information and research a solution for you.

Regards,


Jesse Moore
Information Technology Professional

IF YOU LIKE MY RESPONE, DON'T FORGET TO KUDOS IT! :smileyhappy:

Twitter: jessemooreuk
LinkedIn: jessemoore08

------------------------------
Disclaimer: Advise given by myself is provided without warrranty, for official support please contact Vodafone Customer Services through your usual support channel.
Message 4 of 16 (4,757 Views)
Rank 3: Occasional Poster
Posts: 59
Registered: ‎13-06-2012

Re: Solid Red Light Only Linksys WRT610N

Hello,

 

I have two solutions for you:

 

Solution One:

 

1) Visit: http://192.168.1.1/VPN.htm

2) Ensure all VPN options are enabled, if not click "Enable"

3) Save Settings and then switch off/on the router. Wait one minute.

4) Power off/on the SureSignal.

 

Solution Two:

 

1) Visit: http://192.168.1.1/Status_Lan.htm

2) Click DHCP Client Table

3) Highlight and "Copy" the MAC address belonging to the Sure Signal Box. You can tell which one it is by comparing the MAC address written on the box vs what you see on screen.

4) Visit: http://192.168.1.1/DMZ.htm

5) Click "Enabled"

6) Click "MAC Address" under Destination, and paste the copied MAC Address into the box.

7) Click "Save Settings"

8) Power off/on the router, wait one minute.

9) Power off/on the SureSignal.

 

Let me know how you get on.

 

Regards,


Jesse Moore
Information Technology Professional

IF YOU LIKE MY RESPONE, DON'T FORGET TO KUDOS IT! :smileyhappy:

Twitter: jessemooreuk
LinkedIn: jessemoore08

------------------------------
Disclaimer: Advise given by myself is provided without warrranty, for official support please contact Vodafone Customer Services through your usual support channel.
Message 5 of 16 (4,755 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎19-06-2012

Re: Solid Red Light Only Linksys WRT610N

Hi,

 

All the VPN options were enabled. I added the Sure Signal MAC address to the DMZ screen and recycled both router and Sure Signal box as advised.

 

No change, I'm afraid.

 

Should I repeat the traceroute and ping tests?

 

Regards

Message 6 of 16 (4,742 Views)
Rank 3: Occasional Poster
Posts: 59
Registered: ‎13-06-2012

Re: Solid Red Light Only Linksys WRT610N

Hello,

 

Tracert already confirms that you are sucessfully routing out by the looks of things.

 

Can you pleast run this test: https://www.grc.com/x/ne.dll?bh0bkyd2

 

This will check what ports are open inbound to your home network. Can you run and report back.

 

Also do you have a work Laptop with VPN to the workplace? Just to help with VPN Diags.

Regards,


Jesse Moore
Information Technology Professional

IF YOU LIKE MY RESPONE, DON'T FORGET TO KUDOS IT! :smileyhappy:

Twitter: jessemooreuk
LinkedIn: jessemoore08

------------------------------
Disclaimer: Advise given by myself is provided without warrranty, for official support please contact Vodafone Customer Services through your usual support channel.
Message 7 of 16 (4,732 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎19-06-2012

Re: Solid Red Light Only Linksys WRT610N

Hi,

 

These are the results of the port probe. I don't have a work laptop with VPN.

 

FYI I switched off the OS X firewall and I disabled the firewall settings on the WRT610N. Neither of these changes made any difference.

 

GRC Port Authority Report created on UTC: 2012-06-21 at 08:36:37

 

Results from scan of ports: 0-1055

0 Ports Open

Ports Closed

1056 Ports Stealth

---------------------

1056 Ports Tested

ALL PORTS tested were found to be: STEALTH.

TruStealth: FAILED - ALL tested ports were STEALTH,

- NO unsolicited packets were received,

- A PING REPLY (ICMP Echo) WAS RECEIVED.

 


Message 8 of 16 (4,720 Views)
Rank 3: Occasional Poster
Posts: 59
Registered: ‎13-06-2012

Re: Solid Red Light Only Linksys WRT610N

[ Edited ]

Hello ksees,

 

This is very odd indeed.

 

Can you go to the "Administration" Tab on the Router, save a backup configuration and send that file in a PM?

 

I will review the config on a Linksys Simulator to see if there is a problem with the config somewhere.

Regards,


Jesse Moore
Information Technology Professional

IF YOU LIKE MY RESPONE, DON'T FORGET TO KUDOS IT! :smileyhappy:

Twitter: jessemooreuk
LinkedIn: jessemoore08

------------------------------
Disclaimer: Advise given by myself is provided without warrranty, for official support please contact Vodafone Customer Services through your usual support channel.
Message 9 of 16 (4,718 Views)
Rank 3: Occasional Poster
Posts: 59
Registered: ‎13-06-2012

Re: Solid Red Light Only Linksys WRT610N

POST UPDATE:

 

User is sending me by e-mail a copy of his router config.

 

Will post back after investigation.

Regards,


Jesse Moore
Information Technology Professional

IF YOU LIKE MY RESPONE, DON'T FORGET TO KUDOS IT! :smileyhappy:

Twitter: jessemooreuk
LinkedIn: jessemoore08

------------------------------
Disclaimer: Advise given by myself is provided without warrranty, for official support please contact Vodafone Customer Services through your usual support channel.
Message 10 of 16 (4,698 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎19-06-2012

Re: Solid Red Light Only Linksys WRT610N

Jesse - Any news please?

 

I have some further information. I connect to the internet using the BT Infinity technology (ISP provider is IDNet). My set up at home includes a BT supplied modem (Huawei Echolife HG612) that connects to the telephone socket. The Linkysys WRT610N connects to the Echolife modem. There seems to be a lot of chatter elsewhere in the forums that suggests the BT Infinity technology is not compatible with VSS or, at best, it is a struggle to get it to work.

 

Has anyone out there got the VSS to work on BT Infinity? If so, I'd appreciate details of the router used and any tweaks necessary (I will have to buy a replacement for the WRT610N if necessary).

 

Regards

 

Karl

Message 11 of 16 (4,629 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎19-06-2012

Re: Solid Red Light Only Linksys WRT610N

I've tried an Apple Time Capsule. Connected to my ISP fine. Set up port forwarding, etc. etc.

 

Still no change. The VSS does not connect and I'm am completely stealthed when I do a port probe at www.grc.com.

 

I've also phoned my ISP who informed me that they do no block any traffic and that the Echolife modem does not either.

 

I'm getting to the end ofmy tether having spent hours and hours on this.

 

Some feedback from the Vodafone tech guys would be great.

 

Anyone else out there with technical knowledge of port forwarding problems.

 

Thanks

Message 12 of 16 (4,620 Views)
Rank 3: Occasional Poster
Posts: 59
Registered: ‎13-06-2012

Re: Solid Red Light Only Linksys WRT610N

Hello,

 

I dumped your 610 config into a Linksys simulator and found no problems with the config, it's setup perfectly.

 

This is a very puzzling one indeed.

Regards,


Jesse Moore
Information Technology Professional

IF YOU LIKE MY RESPONE, DON'T FORGET TO KUDOS IT! :smileyhappy:

Twitter: jessemooreuk
LinkedIn: jessemoore08

------------------------------
Disclaimer: Advise given by myself is provided without warrranty, for official support please contact Vodafone Customer Services through your usual support channel.
Message 13 of 16 (4,607 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎19-06-2012

Re: Solid Red Light Only Linksys WRT610N

OK. Thanks.

 

I think the problem may boil down the the BT supplied modem that sits between the router and ISP. I've posted a message on the ISP forum to see if I can get any joy that way. I'll be back once I have more information.

 

Regards

Message 14 of 16 (4,594 Views)
DaveCD
Posts: 6,468
Topics: 74
Thanks: 162
Solutions: 87
Registered: ‎26-07-2011

Re: Solid Red Light Only Linksys WRT610N

Hi ksees

 

Thank you for your posts and it is great to see the support from JesseMoore82.:smileyhappy:

 

So I can check at this end please can you supply us with your Sure Signal serial number.

 

Many Thanks

 

DaveCD

eForum Team

Message 15 of 16 (4,562 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎19-06-2012

Re: Solid Red Light Only Linksys WRT610N

Latest update: there was nothing wrong with the BT supplied modem. It was the WRT610N afterall. I gave up and bought a Billion 7800N and its working like a drean right out-of-the-box. A warning to everyone else: the WRT610N is a piece of rubbish and has problems exposing ports, port forwarding, UPnP, etc. Bite the bullet, get a better router and save yourself days of wasted time.

 

Thank you to everyone on the forum who responded to my cries for help. The advice and help led me to pinpoint the issue and resolve it.

Message 16 of 16 (4,539 Views)