You are here:
Ask a question:
Reply
Rank 2: First Poster
kieronf
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎11-07-2009

Re: New Sure Signal - Steady Power Light Only

The latest wheeze from the 823rd person at Vodafone that I have spoken to since 22nd December suggests that the problem I, and many others, have is broadband latency. It is suggested that where the tracert results show 'request timed out' from the 12th attempt onwards, it is because there is too long a period between the request for a connection and a response from the Vodafone server. It is suggested that a certain speed of latency, or ping, mine is 112m/secs, is the cause.

 

So far I have a new 'probable cause' suggested each time I call, none of which actually solve the problem, but all of which require me to 'wait up to 24 hours' i.e. bugger off while i move on to another caller to keep up my quota.

 

This has to be the most appalling customer service that i have ever encountered. This forum, in particular, is supposedly moderated by technical staff, but instead appears to have become a 'self--help' excercise. It simply isn't good enough in this day and age not to have a response to issues within 24 hours. To have a member of technical staff 'pop in' to read the posts here once a week or so is ridiculous.

 

I shall be leaving Vodafore at the very first opportunity if this is how they treat their customers.

 

All I want to know is how to get the VSS working, it can't be that difficult can it?

Message 441 of 2,361 (11,265 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
easygoingchap
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎24-12-2011

Re: New Sure Signal - Steady Power Light Only

 

I have had my SS since before Christmas, still not working.

 

My ISP is Sky with a netgear router. dispite posting on here a few days ago, I am yet to have a response.

 

If there is an inherent compatability problem with VSS and some ISP's please let me know and I will sent it back.

 

I have spoken to 191 "non technical dept in outer mongolia" who, I'm sorry but, are as much use as Sky's "help line" who are probably next door.

One nice young lady suggested that because there was a red light on the VSS, this indicates a fault and I should take it to a Vodafone shop, although calmly explaining the issue to her, she would not budge on her initial 60 second fault diagnosis.

 

For a product bought in good faith, expected to work out of the box, I am very disapointed. But also disapointed with the after sales support. And phoning 191 for anything other than a simple enquiry is like going to the dentist, knowing he enjoys inflicting pain.

 

Can anyone help!! at the moment the VSS sits on my desk imitating something usefull. I have come to regard it as a very expensive, and utterly useless, small red nightlight.

 

My current IP address is: 90.217.149.132 .....................

 

Tracing route to host212-183-133-177.uk.access.vodafone.net [212.183.133.177]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1     1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  192.168.0.1
  2    30 ms    27 ms    26 ms  cr1.cmshel.uk.easynet.net [87.87.253.168]
  3    24 ms    23 ms    22 ms  80.238.49.161
  4    29 ms    28 ms    28 ms  g0-0-tr0.bllon.isp.sky.com [89.200.131.63]
  5    28 ms    28 ms    28 ms  89.200.131.64
  6    29 ms    31 ms    31 ms  te0-1-0-0.er10.thlon.ov.easynet.net [89.200.134.
123]
  7    32 ms    31 ms    31 ms  te0-2-0-2.er11.thlon.ov.easynet.net [89.200.131.
89]
  8    31 ms    31 ms    31 ms  LNDGW2.arcor-ip.net [195.66.224.124]
  9    28 ms    29 ms    29 ms  85.205.116.2
 10     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 11     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 12     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 13     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 14     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 15     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 16     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 17     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 18     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 19     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 20     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 21     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 22     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 23     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 24     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 25     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 26     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 27     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 28     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 29     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 30     *        *        *     Request timed out.

Trace complete.

 

If you need anything else, please let me know. Thanks

 

HELP !

Message 442 of 2,361 (11,239 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
clairo
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎18-05-2011

Re: New Sure Signal - Steady Power Light Only

I was told you need ports 50, 1723, 8, 123, 4500 and 500 opening... still no joy after umpteenth reset - about to phone 191 again

 

Message 443 of 2,361 (11,197 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
barrymc18
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎03-10-2011

Sure Signal Not Working - Constant Red Light

Hi - I Desperately need help with my VSS

 

I have had the VSS - SN 40112217639

 

for a number of months now and have tried in vain to get it to connect at all, following all the steps on the forums.

Currently I have it connected to a Netgear WGR613v7 Router (having had it previously connected to a Zyxel with no sucess)

 

I have followed the forum, assigned a static IP address to the VSS and portforwarded 50,500,4500,123,8 ports to this IP address

 

STILL I get the fixed red light - if I reset the VSS it comes on with the red light and flashing signal light for a while and then goes back to the fixed red light - this has not worked at all from day 1 and I am extremely fustrated with it by this stage !!

 

I have also completed a Trace RT as follows

 

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>tracert 212.183.133.177

Tracing route to host212-183-133-177.uk.access.vodafone.net [212.183.133.177]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  192.168.1.1
  2     1 ms     1 ms     1 ms  172.24.172.33
  3     4 ms     3 ms     3 ms  172.24.172.1
  4     3 ms     3 ms     4 ms  10.108.1.1
  5     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  6     6 ms     4 ms     5 ms  10.100.6.1
  7     5 ms     4 ms     5 ms  10.109.254.1
  8     4 ms     4 ms     5 ms  10.109.254.254
  9     5 ms     4 ms     5 ms  bgp1.nwewn.com [78.155.224.1]
 10     9 ms     9 ms    10 ms  ge-6-11.car1.Dublin3.Level3.net [195.16.170.5]
 11   201 ms   203 ms   200 ms  ae-7-7.car2.Dublin1.Level3.net [4.69.148.58]
 12    14 ms   106 ms   168 ms  ae-11-11.car1.Dublin1.Level3.net [4.69.136.93]
 13    24 ms    21 ms    22 ms  ae-5-5.ebr1.London1.Level3.net [4.69.136.90]
 14    22 ms    23 ms    22 ms  ae-56-111.csw1.London1.Level3.net [4.69.153.114]

 15    23 ms    22 ms    21 ms  ae-1-51.edge4.London1.Level3.net [4.69.139.74]
 16    26 ms    24 ms    26 ms  195.50.122.66
 17    37 ms    36 ms    36 ms  85.205.116.6
 18     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 19     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 20     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 21     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 22     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 23     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 24     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 25     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 26     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 27     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 28     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 29     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 30     *        *        *     Request timed out.

Trace complete.

 

Can you please let me know what I need to do next ?? before I giveup on Vodaphone !!

Message 444 of 2,361 (11,074 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
barrymc18
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎03-10-2011

Re: Sure Signal Not Working - Constant Red Light

Oh! -  and in addition my IP Service provider is north west electronics

Message 445 of 2,361 (11,055 Views)
Rank 2: First Poster
kieronf
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎11-07-2009

Re: New Sure Signal - Steady Power Light Only

Re port forwarding - I've been told umpteen times that 8,50,123 (not 1723),500 and 4500 need to be opened in both TDP and UDP, firewall enabled - doesn't work mind, just what I've been told. There again, a friend of mine with BT Home Hub 2, the same as mine, opened the box and the unit was plug & play without messing with any settings
Message 446 of 2,361 (11,172 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
DMOC
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎24-12-2011

Re: New Sure Signal - Steady Power Light Only

Customer care advised me that I need to use PPPoE from my router. This is a HomeHub 3 and has no PPP options. I contacted BT and was advised that HomeHub uses PPPoA but that it doesn't matter. In fact the support agent advised that his brother uses SureSignal with BT Infinity and HomeHub 3 without any problems.

 

Regarding TRACERT, the traces listed in the forum above seem to fail at the Vodafone firewall, which would be likely anyway. The last server sits behind the firewall. A visual route trace suggests that the destination server is down, but that is probably because it can't penetrate the firewall.

 

I've not heard about ports that 8,50,123 (not 1723), 500 and 4500 need to be opened in both TDP and UDP. As far as I am aware  ports 8 & 50 use TCP only and the others use only UDP.

 

Seems to me that vodafone support haven't a clue and don't seem to care either. I've made 3 calls to Customer Care and when I've finally been put through to Support the line is cut-off just after I get connected. Even though I've given my contact details I don't get a call back. Has anyone else had this problem? I've raised an e-mail complaint but no response to that yet.

 

If anyone gets any joy with resolving this please let us know. looks like we need to resolve the problem ourselves, though my inkling is that it is a Vodafone registration server issue as it seems to me that this problem is only impacting new users/new VSS boxes.

 

 

Message 447 of 2,361 (11,166 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
pman
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎28-12-2011

Re: New Sure Signal - Steady Power Light Only

DMOC- I had a very lengthy conversation with Vodafone customer services today- my journey is similar to yours and documented here. I asked to raise a complaint and spoke to the escalation team. Their initial gambit was that I had to wait another 24 hours as I had just re-registered my device. My challenge back to them was that given the fact I had already done this multiple times and that there were a plethora of people on this forum with similar issues, that they really need to share a useful update. They have taken this away. In fairness, they were very polite and helpful (without really being in a position to fix it). I am going to give them the benefit of the doubt that they will come back to me by close of play today. I'll update once I have it.

Message 448 of 2,361 (11,157 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
Suresignalred
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎29-12-2011

Re: New Sure Signal - Steady Power Light Only

I have just changed my ISP from BT to Ultity Warehouse which involved changing my router from a BT hub to a Netgear DGND3700. My sure signal 2 stopped working showing one red light. I have set a static ip for the sure signal and reset the sure signal box. Still not working do I need any other settings for the router
Message 449 of 2,361 (11,149 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
pman
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎28-12-2011

Re: New Sure Signal - Steady Power Light Only

Looks like my confidence was misplaced: I never got a call back as promised by customer service and there is no useful update on this forum by anyone from Vodafone.

 

Anyone got any suggestions on how we get a resolution?

Message 450 of 2,361 (11,125 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
pmountny72
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎29-12-2011

Re: New Sure Signal - Steady Power Light Only

Hi,

 

Just received sure signal and its not working, power light stays on after 10 mins and thats it!

 

Reset the ports

 

Ports all set at TCP/UDP

Port 1 4500

" 2 50

" 3 500

" 4 123

" 5 8

 

What IP address do I give each port?

 

My router is netgear DG834GSP, ISP is vodafone!!!!!!!!!

 

contacted netgear their respone was:-

Please follow the steps given below.

Step 1: Physical Connection.

1 Please connect the ADSL line into the Internet port [i.e. the standalone port near the antenna] of the router and the computer into one of the LAN ports of the router.
2 We should be getting the power, Internet, wireless and the LAN port light on the router.

Step 2: Steps to do a port forwarding in the router.

1 Open Internet Explorer or any other browser and access the site: http://192.168.0.1 or http://www.routerlogin.com/basicsetting.htm.
2 When prompted enter the User name as "admin" and Password as "password" If you have changed the password then try with that password.
3 Click SERVICES under SECURITY and click on "Add custom service".

Service 1:
Service name: VSN 1.
Port Type: TCP/UDP.
Start port: 50.
Finish port: 51, click APPLY.

Service 2:
Service name: VSN 2.
Port Type: TCP/UDP.
Start port: 500.
Finish port: 500, click APPLY.

Service 3:
Service name: VSN 3.
Port Type: TCP/UDP.
Start port: 4500.
Finish port: 4500, click APPLY.

Service 3:
Service name: VSN 4.
Port Type: TCP/UDP.
Start port: 123.
Finish port: 123, click APPLY.

Service 3:
Service name: VSN 5.
Port Type: TCP/UDP.
Start port: 8.
Finish port: 8, click APPLY.

4 Then click FIREWALL RULES under SECURITY.
5 Under Inbound Services, click ADD.
6 Select the Service as "VSN 1”, Action: Allow always and enter the LAN Server: IP address of the Computer 192.168.0.x.
7 Click APPLY to save the changes.
8 Follow the same procedure to open the ports for other Services.

HELP!!!!!!!!

 

Thanks

 

Paul

 

 

Message 451 of 2,361 (11,099 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
oranj
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎29-12-2011

Re: New Sure Signal - Steady Power Light Only

This box doesnt work, I've set my firewall to log packets to the ports involved and nothing appears. Two white lights flash for a few minutes then go off leaving the red light on. UPNP is on, nothing appears in upnp devices, so I forwarded the 5 ports manually..nothing.

 

serial is 40114610435.  ISP Bethere. My IP is 188.220.252.80. Router Netgear DG834GT

 

Oh, the reset button does nothing.

 

 

 

Message 452 of 2,361 (11,090 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
easygoingchap
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎24-12-2011

Re: New Sure Signal - Steady Power Light Only

 

As per the two posts above, I have a similar router, Netgeear DG834GT. ISP is Sky.

 

5 ports forwarded today, and VSS reset.

 

In the router menu (attached devices) the VSS is showing (correct MAC number) but I still have the solid red light after about 5 mins.

 

I'll  be phoning Vodafone tomorrow for further advice, I just hope they don't bat me back to Sky !

Message 453 of 2,361 (11,085 Views)
Rank 2: First Poster
mrblack
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎28-11-2011

To vodafone - please help me help you - Re: New Sure Signal - Steady Power Light Only

Same issue

Have followed instructions at George's initial post with no luck - surestart box is registered serial number 40114611821

ISP is sky broadband with their new router - all details below

before I start trying to do semi-pro IT work could vodafone please

1. confirm that there is no problem with this IP address, or that Sky uses MER system, as have seen on other posts.

2. advise link to specific instructions on how to open ports or whatever it is that has to be done....

thanks

 

System DetailsManufacturerModel NumberFirmware VersionADSL Firmware Version

Sagemcom
F@ST2504n
5.23.1a4N
A2pD030n.d23b
 

ModemModem StatusDownStream Connection SpeedUpStream Connection SpeedVPIVCI

Connected
18008 kbps
1146 kbps
0
40
 

ADSL Port IP AddressNetwork TypeIP Subnet MaskGateway IP AddressDomain Name Server

 
90.195.165.227
MER
255.255.255.255
90.195.165.254
90.207.238.97 90.207.238.99

Message 454 of 2,361 (11,067 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
Bennybeige
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎30-12-2011

Re: To vodafone - please help me help you - Re: New Sure Signal - Steady Power Light Only

Hi Tech,

 

Same issue for me I'm afraid and its very frustrating as I have an old SS box that works fine in my office.

 

I don't use a router, just my Virgin cable modem and the SS2 has been on for about 72 hours, re-registered successfully and reset numerous times.

 

IP - 81.97.155.148

 

Serial no. 40114512953

 

Look forward to hearing from you soon!

 

 

 

Message 455 of 2,361 (11,043 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
alcharlton
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎30-12-2011

Re: New Sure Signal - Steady Power Light Only

[ Edited ]

Hi,

 

I only get a steady power light, tried everything with port forwarding... including completely disabling the firewall

 

Sure signal SN: 40114677590

 

If someone could get back to me ASAP please!!!!

 

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation.  All rights reserved.

C:\Users\ALI>tracert 212.183.133.177

Tracing route to host212-183-133-177.uk.access.vodafone.net [212.183.133.177]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1     1 ms     1 ms    <1 ms  BTHomeHub.home [192.168.1.254]
  2  1017 ms    15 ms    14 ms  217.47.186.58
  3    13 ms    13 ms    13 ms  217.47.186.161
  4    22 ms    22 ms    21 ms  213.1.69.78
  5    21 ms    22 ms    22 ms  213.120.162.97
  6    21 ms    21 ms    21 ms  213.120.157.78
  7    21 ms    21 ms    21 ms  213.120.157.178
  8    21 ms    21 ms    21 ms  acc1.10GigE-9-3-0.mr.21cn-ipp.bt.net [109.159.25
0.102]
  9    29 ms    35 ms    35 ms  core1-te0-3-0-5.ealing.ukcore.bt.net [109.159.25
0.13]
 10    28 ms    28 ms    28 ms  peer1-xe1-0-0.telehouse.ukcore.bt.net [109.159.2
54.98]
 11    37 ms    35 ms    31 ms  LNDGW2.arcor-ip.net [195.66.224.124]
 12    30 ms    30 ms    30 ms  85.205.116.2
 13     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 14     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 15     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 16     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 17     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 18     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 19     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 20     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 21     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 22     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 23     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 24     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 25     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 26     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 27     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 28     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 29     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 30     *        *        *     Request timed out.

Trace complete.

C:\Users\ALI>

 

 

Message 456 of 2,361 (11,010 Views)
Al1
Rank 1: Guest
Al1
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎30-12-2011

Re: New Sure Signal - Steady Power Light Only

Hi. I have an issue with my SureSignal (new model) whereby only the the power is on (the other two are off). I have check all cables, connections, etc. By Broadband provider is Orange. I have an Inventel Livebox DV4210-WU and my Sure Box serial number is 40114512938. Help gratefully received!

 

Message 457 of 2,361 (10,996 Views)
Moderator (Retired)
James
Posts: 23,636
Registered: ‎21-07-2008

Re: New Sure Signal - Steady Power Light Only

Hi Guys,

 

Many thanks for getting back to me.

 

I have been speaking to our support teams regarding this for you and we both believe that there could be two issues in this thread.

 

The first issue could be an outage effecting certain customers and the second is the issue with the IP white list.

 

From the traceroutes that have been posted on here I can see that it is pinging our server (85.205.116.6 but going no further which would indicate an issue with the IP being blocked.

 

So we can get this fully raised with as many examples as possible please can you post below me with the following information only;

 

Your Sure Signal Version

Your Sure Signal Serial Number:

Your IP address (this can be obtained from here)

 

Many thanks for you support and cooperation as together I’m sure we can get this sorted.

 

James

I’m part of the Vodafone Tech Team and here to help. As this is a public forum, we can only answer non account specific queries. Please note, we’re unable to reply to private messages.


If you see a helpful post, please click the 'Thanks' button to let the author know. If a post solves your query, please click the ‘This is the Answer?’ button. This helps others find helpful answers in the community too.

Message 458 of 2,361 (10,985 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
WhatSureSignal
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎30-12-2011

Re: New Sure Signal - Steady Power Light Only

Good afternoon


Same problem as everyone else on this thread. Power light stays on, but both other lights off. Only received the Sure Signal two days ago.

Sure Signal Version 2
Serial Number: 40114611946
IP Address: 192.168.2.4

Results of Tracert if this helps:

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
tracert 212.183.133.177

Tracing route to host212-183-133-177.uk.access.vodafone.net [212.183.133.177]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 1 ms 1 ms 2 ms router [192.168.2.1]
2 32 ms 100 ms 29 ms cr0.wmhas.uk.easynet.net [195.189.159.122]
3 25 ms 23 ms 24 ms 80.238.54.161
4 115 ms 102 ms 102 ms g0-0-tr0.bllon.isp.sky.com [89.200.131.63]
5 113 ms 200 ms 206 ms 89.200.131.64
6 114 ms 100 ms 103 ms te0-1-0-0.er10.thlon.ov.easynet.net [89.200.134.
123]
7 121 ms 100 ms 106 ms 89.200.131.171
8 98 ms 98 ms 98 ms LNDGW2.arcor-ip.net [195.66.224.124]
9 142 ms 91 ms 100 ms 85.205.116.2
10 * * * Request timed out.
11 * * * Request timed out.
12 * * * Request timed out.
13 * * * Request timed out.
14 * * * Request timed out.
15 * * * Request timed out.
16 * * * Request timed out.
17 * * * Request timed out.
18 * * * Request timed out.
19 * * * Request timed out.
20 * * * Request timed out.
21 * * * Request timed out.
22 * * * Request timed out.
23 * * * Request timed out.
24 * * * Request timed out.
25 * * * Request timed out.
26 * * * Request timed out.
27 * * * Request timed out.
28 * * * Request timed out.
29 * * * Request timed out.
30 * * * Request timed out.

Trace complete.
Message 459 of 2,361 (10,980 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
alcharlton
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎30-12-2011

Re: New Sure Signal - Steady Power Light Only

Hi

 

Sure Signal Version 2?? Ive only just got it a few days ago....

 

SN: 40114677590

 

IP: 86.165.250.217

 

Thanks

Message 460 of 2,361 (10,975 Views)