Support:

Vodafone Sure Signal

Ask a question:
Reply
Moderator (Retired)
Moderator (Retired)
Lee
Posts: 19,284
Registered: ‎27-10-2008

Re: New Sure Signal - Steady Power Light Only

Hi barrymc18,

 

Thanks for your post.

 

Looking at the traceroute, hop 11 is quite high and any responses over 200ms will cause a timeout and therefore prevent the VSS from contacting our servers. I'm not able to check the IP address as IT restrictions prevent me from accessing the origins of the address.

 

If you copy and paste the IP address into the IP Lookup link then there will be information regarding the origins of the IP address. You will need to speak with your internet service provider about this particular hop to see if there is anything they can do to speed up the time it takes to get a reply from this address.

 

Until this is addresses there is little I can do.

 

Cheers,

 

Lee

Message 641 of 2,349 (9,325 Views)
Moderator (Retired)
Moderator (Retired)
Lee
Posts: 19,284
Registered: ‎27-10-2008

Re: New Sure Signal - Steady Power Light Only

[ Edited ]

Hi fazzerme,

 

Thanks to you too, for your post.

 

I've checked the IP you've provided and it's on the whitelist so this can be ruled out as an obstacle to getting your VSS working.

 

I can see your VSS connected to our servers yesterday at 06:50am. I've performed a resync for you. Please could you also factory reset the device again and let me know how you get on?

 

Cheers,

 

Lee

 

P.S. Could I get your external IP please?

Message 642 of 2,349 (9,323 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
Paulgp2000
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎04-01-2012

Re: New Sure Signal - Steady Power Light Only

My SS is still not working, I done a factory reset, and followed all the troubleshooting information. Can you please look into this for me.

 

I have the VSSv2

Serial Number: 40113811059

IP address: 86.165.168.86

 

cheers.

Message 643 of 2,349 (9,311 Views)
Rank 2: First Poster
kieronf
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎11-07-2009

Re: New Sure Signal - Steady Power Light Only

Hi Lee,

Still looking at two flashing white lights 3.5 hours after the reset.

If it helps,all my technical data was posted at Mssg No 427 on this thread.

Not happy, there must be something that nobody spotted or noticed wrong here.
Message 644 of 2,349 (9,308 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
Paulgp2000
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎04-01-2012

Re: New Sure Signal - Steady Power Light Only

I have run a Trace Route as follows:

 

>tracert 212.183.133.177

Tracing route to host212-183-133-177.uk.access.vodafone.net [212.183.133.177]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  router [192.168.2.1]
  2    31 ms    26 ms    26 ms  217.47.144.186
  3    25 ms    25 ms    25 ms  217.47.144.193
  4    32 ms    33 ms    32 ms  213.1.69.126
  5    32 ms    32 ms    32 ms  213.120.179.10
  6    32 ms    32 ms    32 ms  213.120.179.178
  7    39 ms    39 ms    38 ms  acc1-10GigE-3-3-0.sf.21cn-ipp.bt.net [109.159.25
1.91]
  8    40 ms    42 ms    43 ms  core1-te0-12-0-6.ealing.ukcore.bt.net [109.159.2
51.5]
  9    41 ms    70 ms    41 ms  peer1-xe1-0-0.telehouse.ukcore.bt.net [109.159.2
54.98]
 10    43 ms    43 ms    42 ms  LNDGW2.arcor-ip.net [195.66.224.124]
 11    42 ms    42 ms    42 ms  85.205.116.6
 12     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 13     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 14     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 15     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 16     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 17     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 18     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 19     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 20     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 21     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 22     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 23     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 24     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 25     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 26     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 27     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 28     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 29     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 30     *        *        *     Request timed out.

Trace complete.

 

Message 645 of 2,349 (9,300 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
MrDerp
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-01-2012

Re: New Sure Signal - Steady Power Light Only

I have recently purchased a VSS2 but I am unable to connect to the Vodafone network.

 

The VSS has been activated through the Vodafone web site and I have configured the firewall as per the guidelines. However,  when switched on, the system and phone lights flash for a few minutes and then stop, leaving only the power light on.

 

The device is being used within a business environment, so the network infrastructure is a little more complex than a standard home network. We are connected to the Internet through a SureStream connection (bonded SDSL) - could this be the problem? The router in use is a OneAccess One80 connected to a SonicWALL Pro 2040 VPN firewall. We also have a managed HP ProCurve 4108GL as part of the mix.

 

I have tried using both DHCP and static addresses, as well as a hardware reset but to no avail.

 

My tracert results are:

 

>tracert 212.183.133.177

 
Tracing route to host212-183-133-177.uk.access.vodafone.net [212.183.133.177]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1     1 ms     1 ms     1 ms  82.109.7.97
  2     3 ms     5 ms     5 ms  ip-87-82-61-208.easynet.co.uk [87.82.61.208]
  3     9 ms    11 ms    11 ms  te0-0-0.er101.telon.uk.easynet.net [87.86.72.109]
  4    16 ms    13 ms    13 ms  ip-89-200-130-5.ov.easynet.net [89.200.130.5]
  5    12 ms    15 ms    15 ms  LNDGW2.arcor-ip.net [195.66.224.124]
  6    35 ms    13 ms    11 ms  85.205.116.2
  7     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  8     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  9     *        *        *     Request timed out.

 

Serial: 40113857045

Message 646 of 2,349 (9,288 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
JonnyHuge
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎30-12-2011

Re: New Sure Signal - Steady Power Light Only

Still not on.

 

Reset my SS and waited for two hours after it was resyncd at your end - no joy.

 

Removed all static SS ip and routing detils from my router (and therefore in the configuration it's been working in for over a year now), rebooded model and reset SS.  Have waited an hour and still no joy.

 

Message 647 of 2,349 (9,285 Views)
Moderator (Retired)
James
Posts: 23,636
Registered: ‎21-07-2008

Re: New Sure Signal - Steady Power Light Only

Hey Guys,

 

@ Paulgp2000, Your IP range is currently in the list which means that this isn’t the cause of your issue, we have re-synced this for you now, please can you let this go through and if you still don’t have any connection or change please reset your Sure Signal.

 

@ kieronf,  it can sometimes take up to 24hours to fully complete especially when there are a lot of Sure Signals going through the same setup configuration.

 

@ MrDerp, We have re-synced the Sure Signal for you today, please can you let me know the IP address that you are using and we can get this checked for you.

 

@ JonnyHuge, Please can you let me know your IP address so we can check this for you before looking at a new Sure Signal.

 

James  

I’m part of the Vodafone Tech Team and here to help. As this is a public forum, we can only answer non account specific queries. Please note, we’re unable to reply to private messages.


If you see a helpful post, please click the 'Thanks' button to let the author know. If a post solves your query, please click the ‘This is the Answer?’ button. This helps others find helpful answers in the community too.

Message 648 of 2,349 (9,274 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
JonnyHuge
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎30-12-2011

Re: New Sure Signal - Steady Power Light Only

Current IP address is 86.142.217.216

S/N is 21227852643

Message 649 of 2,349 (9,270 Views)
Moderator (Retired)
James
Posts: 23,636
Registered: ‎21-07-2008

Re: New Sure Signal - Steady Power Light Only

Hi JonnyHuge,

 

It looks like your Sure Signal box could be faulty as your IP and Serial Numbers are all fine.

 

So we can look into this for you please reply to the email that I have sent you with your details and we will continue our investigation from there.

 

James

I’m part of the Vodafone Tech Team and here to help. As this is a public forum, we can only answer non account specific queries. Please note, we’re unable to reply to private messages.


If you see a helpful post, please click the 'Thanks' button to let the author know. If a post solves your query, please click the ‘This is the Answer?’ button. This helps others find helpful answers in the community too.

Message 650 of 2,349 (9,263 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
Bennybeige
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎30-12-2011

Re: New Sure Signal - Steady Power Light Only

Still not working after a forced reset. Please can someone reply???

 

SS2

IP - 81.102.161.155
 
Serial no. 40114512953

Message 651 of 2,349 (9,272 Views)
Moderator (Retired)
James
Posts: 23,636
Registered: ‎21-07-2008

Re: New Sure Signal - Steady Power Light Only

Hi Bennybeige,

 

I can see that the Sure Signal still hasn’t connected to our server, I have re-synced this for you again now, please can you give this one hour and manually reset the Sure Signal again.

 

Let us know how you get on.

 

James

I’m part of the Vodafone Tech Team and here to help. As this is a public forum, we can only answer non account specific queries. Please note, we’re unable to reply to private messages.


If you see a helpful post, please click the 'Thanks' button to let the author know. If a post solves your query, please click the ‘This is the Answer?’ button. This helps others find helpful answers in the community too.

Message 652 of 2,349 (9,268 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
Thoughtflux
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-12-2011

Re: New Sure Signal - Steady Power Light Only

Mine is still not working.

 

SN: 40110420086

IP: 212.159.117.62

 

Have successfully deregistered and reregistered.

 

Still no connection.

 

Message 653 of 2,349 (9,239 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
mikebilsland
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎18-12-2011

Re: New Sure Signal - Steady Power Light Only

For the third time... Can someone get this sorted...

 

Have added firewall rules and enabled logging. My Sure Signal is sending requests to VF but I am not getting any responces from them.

 

My ISP is Orange

IP is 95.145.65.111

Serial  # 40114231745

 

I have been having this issue since the SS was bought on the 10th of december. IT HAS NEVER WORKED!

 

Regards

Mike

Message 654 of 2,349 (9,238 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
Bennybeige
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎30-12-2011

Re: New Sure Signal - Steady Power Light Only

All working now, thanks for your help.

I need another ss box for my office, should I have the same problem if I buy another?
Message 655 of 2,349 (9,232 Views)
Moderator (Retired)
James
Posts: 23,636
Registered: ‎21-07-2008

Re: New Sure Signal - Steady Power Light Only

Hi Guys;

 

@ Thoughflux, I have re-synced your Sure Signal now as it looks to be connecting to the server.

 

Please can you give this an hour and reset your sure Signal if it still isn’t working.

 

@ mikeblisland, your IP range is on the white list already and I can see that your Sure Signal has connected to our server this afternoon, due to this I have also re-synced your device please follow the instructions above and let me know how you get on.

 

@ Bennybeige, I’m pleased to see that the unit is now working for you, if you were to purchase another unit you shouldn’t have any issue however, each setup is different as it will depend on the ISP, firewalls and modem being used.

 

However, remember that if it doesn’t work we are always here to help.

 

James

I’m part of the Vodafone Tech Team and here to help. As this is a public forum, we can only answer non account specific queries. Please note, we’re unable to reply to private messages.


If you see a helpful post, please click the 'Thanks' button to let the author know. If a post solves your query, please click the ‘This is the Answer?’ button. This helps others find helpful answers in the community too.

Message 656 of 2,349 (9,226 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
mikebilsland
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎18-12-2011

Re: New Sure Signal - Steady Power Light Only

Hi James

 

Just reset the Suresigna;, however still getting the same errors lots of flashing lightes then everything goes out.

 

I can see the sure signal getting the odd responce from vodafone but it is stil not connecting.

 

Mike

Message 657 of 2,349 (9,197 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
Markylew
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-01-2012

Re: New Sure Signal - Steady Power Light Only

Mine STILL isn't working - everyone else seems to be getting a reply but me!

What's happening?!
Message 658 of 2,349 (9,188 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
Markylew
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-01-2012

Re: New Sure Signal - Steady Power Light Only

SS model 9361 Home Cell V2-V

Serial number - 40114512821

Please help!
Message 659 of 2,349 (9,183 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
PaulHennessy
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎30-12-2011

Re: New Sure Signal - Steady Power Light Only

Starting to get really fed up of this thing and Vodafone in general.... Almost time to fire up Word I think!!!

IP 80.229.32.131
S/N 40114207737

All ports configured (not that it should be necessary with a consumer device). Trace route always fails at 85.205.116.2 - the same as everybody else who is posting here.


Traceroute has started…

traceroute to 212.183.133.179 (212.183.133.179), 64 hops max, 72 byte packets
1 192.168.16.1 (192.168.16.1) 9.424 ms 0.492 ms 0.431 ms
2 lo0-central2.pcl-ag08.plus.net (195.166.130.71) 12.547 ms 12.074 ms 11.969 ms
3 gi7-11-882.pcl-gw02.plus.net (84.93.255.43) 11.959 ms 12.012 ms 11.930 ms
4 po5.thn-gw02.plus.net (212.159.1.133) 11.579 ms 11.268 ms 11.332 ms
5 lndgw2.arcor-ip.net (195.66.224.124) 12.728 ms 40.579 ms 13.522 ms
6 85.205.116.2 (85.205.116.2) 13.334 ms 12.636 ms 11.934 ms
7 * * *
8 * * *
9 * * *


Please sort this NOW!

Paul
Freelance technology journalist
Message 660 of 2,349 (9,165 Views)