You are here:

Vodafone Sure Signal

Ask a question:
Reply
Rank 3: Occasional Poster
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎06-07-2009

Re: Sure Signal - No power light (No lights at all)

[ Edited ]

Hi Laura (and for every Vodafone customer on the FORUMS to see)

 

Honestly - the Vodafone chaps replying to my emails seem are completely incompetent OR they simply do not understand English (unless Vodafone customer service policy dictates NOT reading customer's emails).

 

I sent a long, detailed reply (as per your suggestion) to Vodafone again describing the complete issue (in short, Sure Signal is giving no response) AND emphasising on the time that has passed since I reported this issue (3 weeks then, now almost 4 weeks) and my frustration due to this horrible customer service. 

 

The Vodafone reply I received:

Hi Javed,

Sorry for the last email.

I’ve checked with the technical team and they found no issue with the Sure signal from their end. They advised you to unplug the sure signal cable and asked to plug into a different socket. If the issue persists then please provide us with a suitable time between 8 am – 8 pm where we can call you and dig deeper into this issue.

Regards,

Joseph (Removed according to House Rules)

 

 

Should I not be furious at this?

  1. I have already stated in my email to Vodafone that I have Vodafone V3 which does NOT have a cable. In the reply above, there is a reference to a cable (clearly amazing attention to detail)!

  2. I have also said (now many many times) the Sure Signal I have seems to have died - no lights, no response at all AND that I have tested it in many different sockets (with the other sockets confirmed they are working as other electronic devices work in them). AND THIS IS THE ADVICE I GET FROM VODAFONE TECHNICAL / EFORUM REPRESENTATIVES - like I said, saying this is completely incompetent is an understatement.

 

Now you tell me - it has been 4 weeks, I have wasted so much time in replying to emails, I have had limited to no mobile network signals in my flat (registered address at Vodafone), I have continuously been getting completely unacceptable advice/service from Vodafone via email. WHAT SHOULD I FEEL? WHAT SHOULD I DO TO RESOLVE THIS?

 

Message 41 of 56 (26,490 Views)
Posts: 3,045
Topics: 19
Thanks: 68
Solutions: 41
Registered: ‎11-10-2013

Re: Sure Signal - No power light (No lights at all)

Hi @metalslug14,

 

Please let us know the email reference number that's in the subject of your emails.

 

It'll look like [#8xxxxxx], we'll then have a look into this further for you.

 

Thanks,

Matt B

Message 42 of 56 (26,453 Views)
Rank 3: Occasional Poster
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎06-07-2009

Re: Sure Signal - No power light (No lights at all)

Many thanks Matt. The email reference number in subject line is: #8351427

Message 43 of 56 (26,447 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-03-2012

Re: Sure Signal - No power light (No lights at all)

Thanks to Nathusius - for just £7.50, I fixed my Sure Signal (version 2) box when it packed up the other day. It was the mains adapter, and following his advice I ordered one from the supplier he suggested. It works just fine again.

 

Thank you!

 

 

Message 44 of 56 (26,414 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎18-12-2009

Re: Sure Signal - No power light (No lights at all)

That's great, I'm glad you found it useful!

Message 45 of 56 (26,404 Views)
Rank 3: Occasional Poster
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎06-07-2009

Re: Sure Signal - No power light (No lights at all)

I have the version 3 - as a result don't think I can use that fix Smiley Sad... so hoping that Vodafone ends up doing something... already been weeks - prob 2nd month now since I reported the problem but horrendous customer service (which I see some other customers have also reported on the previous pages only of this topic).

Message 46 of 56 (26,396 Views)
Posts: 2,815
Topics: 22
Thanks: 99
Solutions: 36
Registered: ‎21-11-2013

Re: Sure Signal - No power light (No lights at all)

Hi everyone,

 

@metalslug14 - We’ve got your email and we’ll be in touch as soon as we can.

 

Thanks,

 

Gemma

Message 47 of 56 (26,386 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-12-2014

Re: Sure Signal - No power light (No lights at all)

My V3 Sure Signal died last night and, guess what, the guarantee ran out 2 weeks ago! (And I had to ensure being treated like an idiot and being told to reset, use another socket and so on, even though I kept patiently explaining that there was no power light).   I reluctantly agreed to buy a new one and, guess what again, none available anywhere in the UK but the nice guy tipped me off without actually saying so and suggested Ebay, saying it would cost me around £25.  Well, on Ebay, there's a limitless supply of V3 boxes, new and 2nd hand,  which are going for well over £100!  However, I also read that, where they have previously been registered, even though the seller swears they have been de-registered, Vodafone refuse to acknowledge this and are refusing to register them to the new owner.  I took mine into an electronics boffin this morning who immediately found a blown capacitor, which he has replaced, but it still has no power supply.  So what on earth is going on here.  Dud Sure signals, Vodafone can't sell you a new one but someone else can, at an inflated price, but you might not be able to register it anyway and I'm cut off with no phone and no foreseeable solution.  I've just read another network (was it O2)

now offers a booster and think it's time to change.

Message 48 of 56 (26,319 Views)
Posts: 3,860
Topics: 20
Thanks: 50
Solutions: 65
Registered: ‎05-03-2010

Re: Sure Signal - No power light (No lights at all)

Hi @GillWoolfson 

 

I'm sorry to hear of the issues you've had.

 

It's a simple process for the owner to deregister the Sure Signal before selling or giving it away.

 

At that point, anyone else can register it and use it.

 

We can arrange a repair for you though.

 

Thanks,

 

Ian

 

 

 

 

Message 49 of 56 (26,271 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎30-01-2016

Re: Sure Signal - No power light (No lights at all)

[ Edited ]

Our Sure Signal V3 went bang yesterday while I was sitting next to it.

 

We took it to our local Vodafone shop to be told that we would have to pay for a replacement (it was 2.5 years old). 

 

I decided to try fixing it myself as I am a qualified electronics engineer and specialise in fixing small electronic devices. I immediately saw 2 bulging capacitors, but that was just the beginning. The big, 400V capacitor had failed and this led to the main switching chip blowing itself apart along with the fuse. The bridge rectifier, recovery diode and mains input choke were also blown.

 

Forunately, I had all these parts, so now my Sure Signal is working again, and it has much better quality capacitors, so should last considerably longer than 2.5 years.

 

It seems to me that poor quality capacitors are often used in this type of device, perhaps intentionally, in order that they fail just outside of warranty, so that a replacement must be purchased. If they lasted for 10 years (which they would with decent capacitors), there would be no repeat sales. I have repaired several Powerline/Homeplug adapters with identical failures (which is why I had the required parts for this job). I can't believe that using cheap capacitors is just cost saving; the difference in price for the whole device would be less than 50p if top quality capacitors were used.

 

One other point is that our Sure Signal failed with a very big bang. The case could have shattered, possibly causing injury, or a fire could have started if no one was near when it happened.

Message 50 of 56 (19,343 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎30-01-2016

Re: Sure Signal - No power light (No lights at all)

I've just repaired another one of these. It was also about 2.5 years old and had failed in a very similar way.

Message 51 of 56 (15,062 Views)
Posts: 1,933
Topics: 6
Thanks: 239
Solutions: 16
Registered: ‎29-09-2015

Re: Sure Signal - No power light (No lights at all)

@andyfras I've sent you a private message with details on how to get in touch.

 

 

Message 52 of 56 (15,051 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎30-01-2016

Re: Sure Signal - No power light (No lights at all)

I don't need to get in touch, thanks.

Message 53 of 56 (13,854 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎06-09-2010

Re: Sure Signal - No power light (No lights at all)

I have the same issue. Is my sure signal still in warranty?

 

Serial no: 42144619832

 

Thanks

Message 54 of 56 (1,504 Views)
Posts: 7,380
Topics: 158
Thanks: 128
Solutions: 185
Registered: ‎13-01-2010

Re: Sure Signal - No power light (No lights at all)

@Chotalia

 

I've sent you a private message with details on how to get in touch.

 

 

Message 55 of 56 (1,447 Views)
Rank 6: Frequent Poster
Posts: 405
Registered: ‎01-04-2015

Re: Sure Signal - No power light (No lights at all)

[ Edited ]

Chotalia,

 

IMMEDIATELY REMOVE THIS DEVICE FROM THE SOCKET:

  - IT IS DANGEROUS

  - NO ATTEMPT TO REPAIR SHOULD BE CARRIED OUT!

 

Your SureSignal has failed, please read the following link:

http://forum.vodafone.co.uk/t5/Vodafone-Sure-Signal/Suresignal-V3-Overheated-Blew-Up-Exploded-Hot-Bu...

 

It is an issue that Vodafone have been aware of for over three years and more so in the last 9 months since I got Trading Standards involved who are currently seeking to prove a design fault to force a full recall of all older versions.

 

PLEASE: Report your failed unit to Trading Standards at the address below and also inform them that a Vodafone Tech Team Member has advised you to perform tests when it has clearly failed.

 

You are entitled to a FREE replacement, regardless of warranty status without any suggestion of:

 

  • Payment of any kind
  • Contract upgrade
  • Or that your device is out of warranty

Please see Page1 of the link I put earlier as to Vodafone CEO's agreement with Trading Standards in regards to both in and out of warranty replacement.

 

Any problems, go to the end of my posting and let us know there as my thread is actively monitored by 'knowledgeable' Tech Team Member's.

It is important to report all failed SureSignal V3 using the links below to:

BBC's Watchdog: https://ssl.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b006mg74/contact

Trading Standards: Call them on 0345 4 040506

Vodafone CEO: http://www.ceoemail.com -  (Search Vodafone UK)

Message 56 of 56 (966 Views)
Got a question?

Get help and technical support on Vodafone's devices, products and services from our online community

If your question relates directly to your account or mobile number please contact our customer services team.

My Vodafone

Stay in control of your spending and manage your account online.

Log in

Register for My Vodafone

Help videos

Sure Signal Help