You are here:

Vodafone Sure Signal

Ask a question:
Reply
Rank 1: Guest
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-10-2012

Re: Sure signal stopped working after sim card changed

Hi James

 

Please could you take a look at my Sure Signal. I'm having issues connecting my number which was transferred from a a micro SIM to a nano SIM to work in an S3

 

Serial number: 21231795234

 

Thanks

Message 21 of 529 (47,556 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎15-05-2012

Re: Sure signal stopped working after sim card changed

Hi James,

 

Please can you reset VSS No : 40110435175 to register the new sim card.

 

Regards,

 

Graham.

Message 22 of 529 (47,520 Views)
Moderator (Retired) Lee
Moderator (Retired)
Posts: 19,284
Registered: ‎27-10-2008

Re: Sure signal stopped working after sim card changed

Hi everybody,

 

Thanks to you all for your requests for a resync.

 

I've completed the requests for those that have supplied their VSS serial numbers. For those that haven't since our last reply, please supply them as soon as you can so we can force the resync for you.

 

You all need to factory reset the VSS for the resync to complete fully.

 

Hold the reset button till all the lights come on or flash (about 30 seconds)

Keeping the reset button held, remove and re-insert the power lead

Once all the lights come back on or flash, release the reset button

The VSS should come online within the hour

 

It's also worth noting that anyone who has recently had a new SIM may need to follow Dave's advice here.

 

Also, there are planned software upgrades occurring over the coming weeks. These started approximately a week ago and more information on the upgrades can be found at this link.

 

Cheers,

 

LeeH

Message 23 of 529 (47,498 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-10-2012

Re: Sure signal stopped working after sim card changed

Hi ,

 

Could you re-sync me please...

 

Changed to a micro sim with a new HTC One X and I've just noticed I'm not getting any Sure Signal action. Lights 1,2 and 4 are on.

But no 3 during calls. Tried a re-set anyway, no change.

SS Ser No. 21196752683

Thanks,

 

 

Andy

Message 24 of 529 (47,418 Views)
Rank 3: Occasional Poster
Posts: 56
Registered: ‎02-10-2012

Re: Sure signal stopped working after sim card changed

|Hi I have got my new phone but it keeps dropping signal? can you reset my sure signal to see if this will help. thanks in advance ser no 21229660739, or 253264385 unsure which number you need,

Message 25 of 529 (47,334 Views)
KPG
Rank 1: Guest
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎04-09-2009

Re: Sure signal stopped working after sim card changed

Hi

 

Just got my iPhone 5, so would appreciate a re-sync also.

SS# 21221065382

 

Many thanks.

Message 26 of 529 (47,139 Views)
Moderator (Retired)
Posts: 23,636
Registered: ‎21-07-2008

Re: Sure signal stopped working after sim card changed

Hi Guys,

 

Thanks for your posts here.

 

As requested I have re-synced all of the Sure Signals except one.

 

@ malduncan, please can you double check the second serial number as it appears to be a digit short.

 

James

I’m part of the Vodafone Tech Team and here to help. As this is a public forum, we can only answer non account specific queries. Please note, we’re unable to reply to private messages.


If you see a helpful post, please click the 'Thanks' button to let the author know. If a post solves your query, please click the ‘This is the Answer?’ button. This helps others find helpful answers in the community too.

Message 27 of 529 (47,051 Views)
Rank 3: Occasional Poster
Posts: 56
Registered: ‎02-10-2012

Re: Sure signal stopped working after sim card changed

Hi James can you  do my ss there are 2 numbers the one that says serial number is 21229660739 plus another number above this 253264385if you could do this I would be gratefull as I have a poor signal at home without this and its hard to asses the phone not being able to use it as it should be,

thanks again

Malcolm

Message 28 of 529 (47,045 Views)
Rank 3: Occasional Poster
Posts: 56
Registered: ‎02-10-2012

Re: Sure signal stopped working after sim card changed

Hi James it seems our emails have crossed, I haveput both numbers as I did not know which one you wanted there is only one ss, so the number that has digits missing is the wrong number you can ignor that one but the other is still not working,

thanks again

 

Message 29 of 529 (47,040 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-10-2012

Re: Sure signal stopped working after sim card changed

[ Edited ]

Hi

 

I have recently upgraded my iPhone 3 to a 5 and my new nano sim won't work with my sure signal and being the only user on it I can't change the user to another person as to your post

 

Please can you re sync my sure signal

Serial number is 21222186468

 

Many thanks

Matt

Message 30 of 529 (47,008 Views)
KPG
Rank 1: Guest
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎04-09-2009

Re: Sure signal stopped working after sim card changed

Hi Again

 

I'm afraid I need you to re-sync my Sure Signal again.

Having switched over to my iPhone 5 I've discovered I have no WiFi (after many hours of trying).

The iPhone 5 is going back in its box (nearly went out the window) and I'm going back to my iPhone 4.

Thanks again:

SS# 21221065382

Message 31 of 529 (46,980 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎23-07-2011

Re: Sure signal stopped working after sim card changed

Please can my unit be re synced following card change yesyerday.  Thanks

 

21196753533

 

Kevin

Message 32 of 529 (46,915 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-10-2012

Re: Sure signal stopped working after sim card changed

Hi, can you comment on this please:

I requested a re-sync after a sim change (normal sim to a micro - HTC One X) after I noticed my sure signal wasn't working. I tried a re-set and the 1st light stayed on and nothing else.

 

After the re-sync it worked for a bit. But Is now showing just the first light again and wont re-set. Was it re-synced the first time?
Does it need to be done again?

Thanks

 

Andy

 

SER NO 211 967 526 83

Message 33 of 529 (46,833 Views)
Rank 3: Occasional Poster
Posts: 56
Registered: ‎02-10-2012

Re: Sure signal stopped working after sim card changed

My SS is still not working, with the sim change, is it the micro sims that is the problem or the ss itself, my ss 21229660739 thanks again

Message 34 of 529 (46,826 Views)
Moderator (Retired) Lee
Moderator (Retired)
Posts: 19,284
Registered: ‎27-10-2008

Re: Sure signal stopped working after sim card changed

Hi everyone,

 

@ malduncan - James resynced the device for you anyway! I've just performed another one for you. Please see the factory reset instructions at the bottom of my post to complete the process.

 

@ Mattyt - I've forced a resync for you too! Please also see the end of my post.

 

@ KPG - Resynced! Check the bottom of this post.

 

@ kkent - You too Smiley Wink Could you also factory reset the VSS for me?

 

@ andylights - You shouldn't need another resync but I've forced one anyway. Please also factory reset your VSS.

 

Because you are suffering with the steady power light issue, could I ask that you check the Sure Signal Troubleshooting thread? If this doesn’t resolve your query, please post your reply either below, or in the relevant thread, together with the details requested, including the following information.


Your speed test results from here.
Your ping test results from here.
Your external IP address from here.
The results of a traceroute.


VSS Traceroute command

On a PC:
Click on Start and select Run
Type CMD into the Run box and press enter/click ok
A black box will appear.
In this box type tracert 212.183.133.177 press Enter
Paste the output of this command into your reply.

This will help us get the quickest possible resolution for you.

 

Thanks

LeeH

 

VSS Factory Reset

 

Hold the reset button till all the lights come on or flash (about 30 seconds)

Keeping the reset button held, remove and re-insert the power lead

Once all the lights come back on, release the reset button

The VSS should come online within the hour

Message 35 of 529 (46,810 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎23-07-2011

Re: Sure signal stopped working after sim card changed

Thanks LeeH. All working OK now.

 

KevinSmiley Happy

Message 36 of 529 (46,792 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-10-2012

Re: Sure signal stopped working after sim card changed

Thanks Lee

 

Ive done the reboot as to your instructions but when I reinsert the power lead whilst still holding the reset button in all I get is the power light. I've tried holding reset button in for over 5 mins but cant get anymore lights on and it never got my iPhone working leaving it with one bar signal or no signal. Proper puzzled could this be a faulty sure signal even though it's been working fine on my old iPhone 3gs 

 

Many thanks for your help

Matt

Message 37 of 529 (46,781 Views)
Rank 3: Occasional Poster
Posts: 56
Registered: ‎02-10-2012

Re: Sure signal stopped working after sim card changed

thats what i get as well, no light for the phone? must be my problem as well?

Message 38 of 529 (46,770 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-10-2012

Re: Sure signal stopped working after sim card changed

[ Edited ]

Hi LeeH,


I tried another re-set - no change still just the power light.
Ser No 2119 6752 683

It was woring fine right upto when the phone/sim was cchanged

Thanks

Andy


Results:
From Speedtest: ping 53ms, down 31.14 Mbps, up 1.74 Mbps

From Pingtest pacet loss 0%, ping 84ms, jitter 9ms

IP 94.168.117.144

 

Traceroute

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Andy>tracert 212.183.133.177

Tracing route to 212.183.133.177 over a maximum of 30 hops

1 8 ms 7 ms 7 ms cpc1-sout7-2-0-gw.basl.cable.virginmedia.com [94
.168.116.1]
2 6 ms 7 ms 7 ms basl-core-2a-ae7-610.network.virginmedia.net [81
.96.2.41]
3 9 ms 11 ms 7 ms brnt-bb-1a-ae10-0.network.virginmedia.net [81.96
.0.145]
4 12 ms 11 ms 11 ms glfd-bb-1b-as1-0.network.virginmedia.net [212.43
.163.105]
5 10 ms 13 ms 9 ms glfd-tmr-1-ae5-0.network.virginmedia.net [213.10
5.159.46]
6 14 ms 19 ms 11 ms tcl5-ic-1-as0-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.253.
185.78]
7 17 ms 15 ms 16 ms LNDGW2.arcor-ip.net [195.66.224.124]
8 14 ms 15 ms 15 ms 85.205.116.2
9 * * * Request timed out.
10 * * * Request timed out.
11 * * * Request timed out.
12 * * * Request timed out.
13 * * * Request timed out.
14 * * * Request timed out.
15 * * * Request timed out.
16 * * * Request timed out.
17 * * * Request timed out.
18 * * * Request timed out.
19 * * * Request timed out.
20 * * * Request timed out.
21 * * * Request timed out.
22 * * * Request timed out.
23 * * * Request timed out.
24 * * * Request timed out.
25 * * * Request timed out.
26 * * * Request timed out.
27 * * * Request timed out.
28 * * * Request timed out.
29 * * * Request timed out.
30 * * * Request timed out.

Trace complete.

 
After posting this I did another re-set and it made a connection ! So I'm back to having lights 1,2 & 4 but NO 3rd light during a call, so is this thing woring or not? 

Cheers,

 

Andy

Message 39 of 529 (46,745 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-10-2012

Re: Sure signal stopped working after sim card changed

Hi Lee

 

For some strange reason when I got in from work this afternoon my sure signal is working fine now. I've got full reception on my iPhone with 3G so problem solved

 

Thanks for all you have done its much appreciated 

 

Matt

Message 40 of 529 (46,644 Views)
Got a question?

Get help and technical support on Vodafone's devices, products and services from our online community

If your question relates directly to your account or mobile number please contact our customer services team.

My Vodafone

Stay in control of your spending and manage your account online.

Log in

Register for My Vodafone

Help videos

Sure Signal Help