Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ask

Solution

SureSignal causing dropped ADSL connections

JamesOakley
4: Newbie

I have been using my SureSignal box for a couple of months now, and configuring it was no problem. Within half an hour it was working, and I was getting the 5 bars of 3G on my handset.

But: Since adding the SureSignal to my Router (which is a NetGear DGN2000), I began to get my ADSL connection drop to the exchange. The connection was flawless before, but now it will stay connected for anywhere between 24 hours and 4 days before dropping out. I'm not being logged out by my ISP; the router is totally disconnecting, as the line shows no upstream or downstream sync at all. Sometimes this can be fixed by unplugging the cable between the router and the splitter; at other times it requires a router reboot.

I have searched and found multiple forum threads such as this one (http://forum.vodafone.co.uk/t5/Vodafone-Sure-Signal/VSS-working-with-Netgear-DGND3700v2/m-p/1220300/... which say that I need to (a) assign maximum QoS to the SureSignal, and (b) allow ports 50, 123, 500 and 4500 through the Firewall so that outbound traffic is allowed out, and so that inbound traffic is routed through NAT to the SureSignal.

I did all of that, and the problem was not solved. What this did allow was more careful diagnostics, because any traffic that is let through the Firewall is logged. I can now see that, shortly before the connection drops, the SureSignal box starts sending one UDP packet to a remote IP on port 123 every second, and one UDP packet to a remote IP on port 4500 every ten seconds. Because the router's log gets full I cannot see how long this goes on before the connection drops, but it would seem to be more than a minute and less than 15 minutes.