Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ask

Solution

SureSignal won't work.

AdrianMontagu
2: Seeker

I have been using a sure signal box for 18 months. A pig to get it to register and work but it does work. I had a need to have a second SureSignal box for a conversion cottage.  I have found out the following:-

1.  The error messages that are given by VodaFone bear no resemblance to the problem whatsoever.

2.  That support staff are not well informed and do not have sufficient skills to cope with the problems.

3.  That the version 3 SureSignal box (the one with the power pass through) suffers incompatibility with other devices such as switches.

If you are like me and need to communicate via your mobile and your mobile does not work at the remote location - which is the reason why you want a second SureSignal box, you will NOT be able to check the lights  on the new box whilst still on the phone that is going to get disconnected from the old box as you go out of range.

I decided to start from scratch after VodaFone failed me. I walked to my cottage and found that the sureSignal ethernet lights were not coming on where it was plugged into the Netgear switch I use.  The PC was working, The Franking machine ethernet connection was working etc.  I swapped the switch and found that the system came up and a DHCP ip address was issued to the SureSignal box.  As the other devices worked irrespective of the switch, it must be an incompatibility with the Suresignal box.  I suspect the auto-negotiation of duplex caused the problem. I am not going to sniff the port with ethereal or the like but I am sure that it will indicate the problem.  This may be the problem that the SureSignal is having with BT's latest Wireless Router. I would suggest putting a switch in between to see if that fixes the problem.

Overall, I am NOT impressed with VodaFone. They are one of the richest companies in the world and very poor in the support area. 

4 REPLIES 4

AdrianMontagu