Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ask

Solution

Time Capsule + modem + VSS: THE SOLUTION

dso3712
4: Newbie

Hi all,

Judging by the viewings of my post and the subsequent thread 'VSS and Time Capsule: No Hope', there is a lot of interest in how to get Apple Time Capsule to work as a router with an external modem and Vodafone Sure Signal.

I thought there was no solution, but I have found it. Just get the right modem. The Draytek Vigor 120 is a fine modem but they were right when they told me it would never work with TC.

I'm not a tech expert so others can explain this better than me, but here's how I understand it. The Draytek is a true bridge modem in the sense that it sends everything to the router (e.g. Time Capsule), which handles everything from ISP login onward. This means the TC, into which the VSS box is plugged, controls the VSS, but since the TC uses PPPoE and the VSS needs PPPoA, the VSS can never make a proper connection to the Vodafone servers.

Based on a hint I found on the web, I changed modem to the Netgear DM111P. The difference from the Draytek is that it's the *modem* that handles the login, not the router. So when I plugged it all in, the TC set the control to DHCP and did not give me the option of logging into my ISP with username and password. I *had* to do this via the modem interface, which by default is 192.168.0.1, with default login as admin/password. The Draytek doesn't let you do that. 

So after a bit of resetting of the TC and the modem, eventually I was able to log wirelessly into the Netgear interface, where I made sure the VPI/VCI was set to 0,38 since my ISP is BT. I then entered by ISP username and password, and hit connect. I had to do this a few times, with some resetting, but eventually, believe it or not, the VSS box started trying to connect, but instead of going back to solid power light only, the system and phone lights kept flashing and then only the signal light kept flashing, which it never did with the Draytek.