Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ask

Solution

VSS ver3 and pppoe

Martin222
2: Seeker
I seem to be stuck with the common problem. in short: VSS ver 3 red light on and first white flashing. We are on fibre optic hence pppoe . Have tried all the usual stuff - resets , resynch, port forwarding and changing mtu . All to no avail. I have a netgear wrn1000 router. My question is (and i am no techie): Is anyone running successfully with pppoe with a normal router in which case I might
change to that router ?
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Update - for anyone else with similar problems!

I tried numerous further minor adjustments to the router settings, without any success at all. I contacted Vodaphone one last time, who suggested returning the VSS unit and getting another one. I was pretty sceptical about this, but did so anyway. After some initial problems, and a re-sync, much to my surprise the replacement VSS has started to work pretty well. In the last 10 days it has been on 95% of the time and mostly when it goes off it manages to recover by itself. However, there are times when only a reset will do the trick.

To summarise things I did (although I am not totally sure which one helped):

I replaced the VSS unit (was the last thing I did)

As advised by Vodaphone I set up Port Forwarding, and a Static IP address.

I messed about with the MTU size, but eventually just went back to the default setting of 1492

I put the VSS IP Address into the DMZ, which I understand takes the VSS out of the firewall (thanks grolschuk)

I didn't need to replace the router.

Fingers crossed.

View solution in original position

18 REPLIES 18

Retired-James
Moderator (Retired)
Moderator (Retired)

Hi Martin222,

Please take a look at our Sure Signal Troubleshooting thread. If this doesn’t resolve your query, please post your reply either below, or in the relevant thread, together with the details requested, including the following information.

Your speed test results from here.