You are here:
Ask a question:
Reply
Rank 1: Guest
ben82
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎31-03-2012

flashing phone AND signal light

Hi, hoping you can help. I registered my suresignal just over 24hrs ago, but still having problems. At times I just have a steady power light but more often the phone and system light are just constantly flashing. I've never had a suresignal before....

 

Router: Sagem F@st 2504n Sky

SureSignal number: 40112317488

ISP: Sky

Phone: Iphone4 (not 4s) - 3G enabled.

 

Link light and data light both working and have tried rebooting......

 

Thanks in advance!

Message 1 of 17 (4,233 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
ben82
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎31-03-2012

Re: flashing phone AND signal light

just to add, here's my tracing route (I see peopele are being asked for this when i've searched similar threads)

 

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6000]
Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation.  All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Ben>tracert 212.183.133.177

Tracing route to 212.183.133.177 over a maximum of 30 hops

  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  SkyRouter.Home [192.168.0.1]
  2    22 ms    23 ms    23 ms  bm2.stwinch-dhcp.isp.sky.com [176.25.100.190]
  3     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  4    30 ms    31 ms    31 ms  ip-84-38-37-66.easynet.co.uk [84.38.37.66]
  5    36 ms    31 ms    31 ms  ip-89-200-131-254.ov.easynet.net [89.200.131.254
]
  6    30 ms    31 ms    31 ms  LNDGW2.arcor-ip.net [195.66.224.124]
  7    30 ms    30 ms    30 ms  85.205.116.6
  8     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  9     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 10     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 11     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 12     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 13     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 14     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 15     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 16     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 17     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 18     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 19     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 20

Message 2 of 17 (4,225 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
ben82
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎31-03-2012

Re: flashing phone AND signal light

Also seen that others are being asked for a ping test:

 

http://www.pingtest.net/result/60060163.png

Message 3 of 17 (4,206 Views)
Rank 18: Instructor II
philip42h
Posts: 446
Registered: ‎07-01-2010

Re: flashing phone AND signal light

Both your tracert and ping results are fine ... no problems there. While you are ticking off possible areas for problems you may as well add a speed test, though I doubt that's an issue, and post you IP address - Sky did introduce some that weren't on the VF white-list, but again, I doubt that's the issue.

 

Beyond that, I'd recommend as much patience as you can manage and leave the SS box to do its thing ... it can take a very long time to get itself configured.

Philip
Message 4 of 17 (4,201 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
ben82
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎31-03-2012

Re: flashing phone AND signal light

Thanks Philip. I looked into the whole port forwarding stuff but it confused me immensely and I saw a lot of people said this was not needed. I know that dhcp is enabled though, as is upnp. It would be nice if a vodafone response came through soon though.....

 

speed test: 5.46 download, 0.67 upload

ip: 176.25.100.152

 


Message 5 of 17 (4,198 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
ben82
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎31-03-2012

Re: flashing phone AND signal light

[ Edited ]

Just to add this is still not working (constantly having a simultanoeous flashing signal and flashing phone light) after 48hrs. Would appreciate some assistance Vodafone please as would like to know whether i need to change mobile provider if it cant be fixed.

Message 6 of 17 (4,178 Views)
Tech Team
Wayne
Posts: 18,193
Registered: ‎04-08-2008

Re: flashing phone AND signal light

Hi ben82

 

Thanks for your post here. I’m sorry to hear that you are having problems with this.  I appreciate how frustrating this must be for you.

 

This sounds like a port forwarding issue. To resolve this you’ll need to log onto your router and open the following ports; 8, 50, 123, 500 and 4500.

 

Here is a guide for your specific router that shows you how to do this. If you have any questions about this please let us know.

 

Port Forwarding

 

Thanks

 

Wayne

 

If you have a spare minute could you please take the time to fill out a short feedback form about me?

You can do so here

 

Message 7 of 17 (4,147 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
ben82
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎31-03-2012

Re: flashing phone AND signal light

[ Edited ]

Cheers Wayne, ok, I've followed the steps in the portforward link and have created a static ip address (please confirm i should have done this). I've then added 5 ports (50 on tcp / 4500 on udp, 500 on udp, 123 on udp and 8 on tcp) using the step marked 'Click the Add Custom Service link near the bottom of the page'. AFter that though, it asks me to go onto the 'Firewall rules' page, and this leads me to be a bit confused......... I am confused by two things that I wondered if you could answeerr?:

 

1) On the steps it says 'Click the Inbound / Outbound Services Addlink'. However, the picture is only for incoming. Do I also need to insert something into the outbound bit as well. If so, this outbound screen appears similar to inbound, but it also asks for start/finish of LAN users (as well as WAN as in picture). What should I put as the start/finish for LAN? Indeed what should I put into the start/finish for WAN for that matter?!?! - my static ip address?

 

2) It says in the instrcutions: 'Enter the ip address to forward these ports to into the Send to LAN Server box. If you are forwarding ports so you can run a program on your computer, you should enter your computer's ip address into that box.'  Is this my new static ip address I put in? I'm unsure as i'm not doing a static ip address to run anything from my computer.....

 

Got to say, it is a bit frustrating that I have to do port forwarding as I use a laptop across many networks. Can you recommend a program to automatically be able to switch from static to dynamic for macs? The portforward program is only pc compatible....

 

Many thanks in advance!

 

 
 
 
Start:. . .
Finish:. . .
 
Start:. . .
Finish:. . .
Message 8 of 17 (4,114 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
ben82
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎31-03-2012

Re: flashing phone AND signal light

Hi Wayne, I'm a little confused as James appears to be diagnosing my suresignals 'symptoms' differently on another thread.... (thread by desrichardson).......
Message 9 of 17 (4,091 Views)
Moderator (Retired)
James
Posts: 23,636
Registered: ‎21-07-2008

Re: flashing phone AND signal light

Hi ben82,

 

Thanks for your posts here.

 

I can see that you are having the same issue as desrichardson.

 

So we can look at your issue at the same time please can you take a look at this thread and post the answers to the questions already asked in my last post in that thread.

 

Cheers.

 

James

 

I’m part of the Vodafone Tech Team and here to help. As this is a public forum, we can only answer non account specific queries. Please note, we’re unable to reply to private messages.


If you see a helpful post, please click the 'Thanks' button to let the author know. If a post solves your query, please click the ‘This is the Answer?’ button. This helps others find helpful answers in the community too.

Message 10 of 17 (4,084 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
paula_shilcock
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-04-2012

Re: flashing phone AND signal light

[ Edited ]

I have exactly the same problem. I contacted Customer Support and they asked me to check a few things (Broadband Speed, latency test to an IP address, etc) The IP address they asked me to check with tracert is 212.183.133.181 and that is not reachable (can't ping it, let alone get to it with tracert so I guess that's the problem. No idea how to fix what looks like a routing issue because even if I conect my PC using a modem dial up connection, I still can't ping that address!  I also tried to ping 212.183.133.177 and can't get to that either.  No idea what 212.183.133.181 resolves to but the latter address 212.183.133.177 seems to be vap.vodafone.co.uk as nslookup vap.vodafone.co.uk gives the following result:-

 

C:\Documents and Settings\Roger>nslookup vap.vodafone.co.uk
Server:  voyager.home
Address:  192.168.254.254

Non-authoritative answer:
Name:    vap.vodafone.co.uk
Address:  212.183.133.177


C:\Documents and Settings\Roger>

 

I've just seen in another thread that it was a claimed to be a router issue but I have previously had one of these boxes (an older model) working on my existing router/broadband setup so I'm not sure if there's a difference with this newer Sure Signal nox (Alcatel Lucent 9361 Home Cell V2 P/N 3JR09110ABBA).  My router is a BT Voyager and my Broadband provider is O2.  Being unable to ping the necessary IP address seems to be a pretty fundamental problem though.

 

Message 11 of 17 (4,063 Views)
Rank 18: Instructor II
philip42h
Posts: 446
Registered: ‎07-01-2010

Re: flashing phone AND signal light

You don't want to get distracted too much by the tracert / ping issue - the VF servers don't respond to ICMP pings which means that neither ping not tracert works within the VF network. The important thing is that you have a stable connection to the VF edge servers - typically 85.205.116.x - and that the round trip time is reasonable (some 10s of milliseconds).

 

Paula,

If a previous SS worked on your current router / broadband set-up it is unlikely that the issue is there either .. :smileywink:

Philip
Message 12 of 17 (4,043 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
paula_shilcock
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-04-2012

Re: flashing signal and phone lights

For what its worth, I was asked to check a different IP (212.183.133.181) but got very similar results, getting as far as 85.205.116.2 but no further (see below).. I am on O2 Broadband.

 

1     1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  voyager.home [192.168.254.254]
2    18 ms    19 ms    17 ms  87-194-224-1.bethere.co.uk [87.194.224.1]
3     *        *       21 ms  10.1.3.50
4    20 ms    22 ms    19 ms  LDNGW1.arcor-ip.net [195.66.224.209]
5    19 ms    19 ms    20 ms  85.205.116.2
6     *        *        *     Request timed out.
7     *        *        *     Request timed out.
8     *        *        *     Request timed out.
9     *        *        *     Request timed out.
0     *        *        *     Request timed out.
11     *        *        *     Request timed out.
12     *        *        *     Request timed out.
13     *        *        *     Request timed out.
14     *        *        *     Request timed out.
15     *        *        *     Request timed out.
16     *        *        *     Request timed out.
17     *        *        *     Request timed out.
18     *        *        *     Request timed out.
19     *        *        *     Request timed out.
20     *        *        *     Request timed out.
21     *        *        *     Request timed out.
22     *        *        *     Request timed out.
23     *        *        *     Request timed out.
24     *        *        *     Request timed out
.

Message 13 of 17 (4,015 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
elbandito57
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎29-06-2010

Re: flashing phone AND signal light

Hi guys, 

 

Received my sure signal 2 box yesterday and same problem. Switch machine on, nothing for around 30secs, lights flash fast for about another 30 secs, then blink slowly for around 10 minutes before they go out and just have a constant red power light.

 

SS Serial # - 40120533167

Ping - 37ms

Download Speed - 2.78mb

Upload Speed - 0.37mb

ISP - Orange Home UK

Connection type - PPPoA

Router - Belkin F5D8632-4 v1

 

Tracert Results - 

 

Traceroute has started…

 

traceroute to 212.183.133.177 (212.183.133.177), 64 hops max, 52 byte packets

 1  192.168.0.1 (192.168.0.1)  1.768 ms  1.994 ms  0.878 ms

 2  217.47.249.58 (217.47.249.58)  16.710 ms  16.553 ms  17.136 ms

 3  217.47.203.145 (217.47.203.145)  16.374 ms  15.473 ms  16.012 ms

 4  213.1.67.14 (213.1.67.14)  20.299 ms  33.461 ms  21.319 ms

 5  213.1.67.252 (213.1.67.252)  20.520 ms  19.944 ms  21.183 ms

 6  213.1.79.10 (213.1.79.10)  22.309 ms  21.496 ms  21.202 ms

 7  87.237.20.244 (87.237.20.244)  20.096 ms  20.602 ms  21.959 ms

 8  bundle-ether1.lontr1.london.opentransit.net (193.251.255.101)  22.368 ms  22.100 ms  22.455 ms

 9  level3-1.gw.opentransit.net (193.251.150.70)  20.376 ms  63.451 ms  30.355 ms

10  ae-1-51.edge4.london1.level3.net (4.69.139.74)  21.420 ms  20.491 ms  22.361 ms

11  195.50.122.66 (195.50.122.66)  25.562 ms  23.550 ms  22.888 ms

12  85.205.116.2 (85.205.116.2)  38.333 ms  38.108 ms  38.788 ms

13  * * *

14  * * *

 

Any help would be appreciated!

Message 14 of 17 (3,988 Views)
Tech Team
Wayne
Posts: 18,193
Registered: ‎04-08-2008

Re: flashing phone AND signal light

[ Edited ]

Hi paula_shilcock

 

Thanks for your post here. I’m sorry to hear that you are having problems with this. I appreciate how frustrating this must be for you.

 

Can you please try your Sure Signal device on another connection? Perhaps a friend or family members? We need to make sure the device isn’t faulty.

 

Please let me know how you get on.

 

Thanks

 

Hi elbandito57

 

Thanks for your post too. Don’t worry about the light sequence too much because that’s normal. The 10 minutes slow flashing means that the Sure signal unit is downloading a profile update and is completely normal.

 

Please have a read through this part of our troubleshooting section as it directly relates to the issue that you are having and ways to fix it.

 

Troubleshooting.

 

Thanks

 

Wayne

 

If you have a spare minute could you please take the time to fill out a short feedback form about me?


You can do so here

 

Message 15 of 17 (3,971 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
paula_shilcock
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-04-2012

Re: flashing phone AND signal light

Oddly, after many failed attempts the box has now started working as it should with just the System light on and the phone light comes on when the registered mobile makes or receives a call so I have no idea why if failed previously because nothing has changed on my router/broadband setup.  I also took the Sure Signal over to my son's flat and tried it there because he has a worse Vodafone signal that we have here at home. Seems to work OK with full 3G signal although I would say that the voice quality is acceptable but not brilliant and not as clear as a normal call.  I was also initially puzzled because doing a credit balance request with the registered mobile phone (PAYG) didn't cause the phone light to come on but making and receiving a call does.  Anyway, I guess you can't have everything and slightly flakey voice quality is a small price to pay for a full signal. 

Message 16 of 17 (3,899 Views)
Rank 1: Guest
ben82
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎31-03-2012

Re: flashing phone AND signal light

Yeah, mine started working suddenly as well. Got home yesterday and it had finally set itself - only took a week. Really not sure what i did, if anything. Ii did create a static ip address and  started open up the ports in port forwarding but did not complete this. I arrived back 7 days later and it seems to now work. Bizarre!

Message 17 of 17 (3,853 Views)