Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ask

Solution

Problems when using Microsoft Lumia 550 for the first time

Buster2017
3: Seeker
3: Seeker

I am a complete newbie to SmartPhones.  Just brought a new Microsoft Lumia 550 and trying to set it up, but am having a few problems.

My first problem is I'm trying to find out my new number and top it up with £10 of credit via the voucher I purchased from Argos when buying it.  I try to dial 2345 to top it up, and the phone says Emergency Calls Only!  I also dial #100 to find out my mobile number, and again it says Emergency Calls Only!

VERY frustrating!

Any helpful advice to solve this will be welcome.  Then I'll post what the other problem is.  Thanks.

6 REPLIES 6

BandOfBrothers
17: Community Champion

Hi,

Chrck the packaging the SIM card came in as the number should be printed on it. 

Look in your contacts app to see if your number is showing there. 

You may need the SIM card to be activated. 

Live Chat should be able to help and or your most local Vodafone store. 

To add.... This may help. 

Lumia-550-manual-setup-guide

Current Phone  >

Samsung Galaxy s²³ Ultra 512gb Phantom Black.

Thanks for that bandofbrothers and Ann S.  

I checked the packaging of the SIM card and my mobile number was on there.  I called it on my landline to see if it worked, and it did.  So that's that problem solved.  

I also activated my £10 voucher online(on my home PC) and it said that it was credited.

However, still getting the message about I can only make Emergency Calls only.  So I'm unable to dial 17298 to activate the SIM.