You are here:

Windows

Ask a question:
Reply
RBA
Rank 1: Guest
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎22-11-2016

vodafone r206 windows 10

I've just installed software from a R206 device on Windows 10 but there is no response when I click on the software to initiate startup. How can I rectify this problem?

Message 1 of 13 (5,829 Views)
Posts: 20,948
Registered: ‎14-08-2011

Re: vodafone r206 windows 10

Hi,

 

Is there any firewall or security suite that maybe hindering it and needs permissions to run ?

 

 

image.jpeg

 

Message 2 of 13 (5,813 Views)
RBA
Rank 1: Guest
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎22-11-2016

Re: vodafone r206 windows 10

I don' think so, I've right-clicked and ran as administrator with the same results.

Message 3 of 13 (5,767 Views)
Posts: 20,948
Registered: ‎14-08-2011

Re: vodafone r206 windows 10

It maybe then worth searching for any relevant drivers etc. 

image.jpeg

 

Message 4 of 13 (5,765 Views)
RBA
Rank 1: Guest
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎22-11-2016

Re: vodafone r206 windows 10

Would you have any suggestions as to how I should go about this?

Message 5 of 13 (5,758 Views)
Rank 50: Grand Master
Posts: 22,711
Registered: ‎13-10-2009

Re: vodafone r206 windows 10

Hi there

 

I was under the impression that the R206 is an older device and as such isn't compatible with Windows 10. I may be wrong on this though.

Has my post helped you? If so please click the Thumbs Up button! Smiley Wink

Message 6 of 13 (5,757 Views)
RBA
Rank 1: Guest
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎22-11-2016

Re: vodafone r206 windows 10

I tried it with Windows 8 previously as well 

Message 7 of 13 (5,754 Views)
RBA
Rank 1: Guest
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎22-11-2016

Re: vodafone r206 windows 10

I was told by a customer care rep the device does work with Windows 10

Message 8 of 13 (5,745 Views)
Posts: 20,948
Registered: ‎14-08-2011

Re: vodafone r206 windows 10

It maybe beneficial to speak with customer service on 191 or via Live Chat on this. 

 

They may pass you through to Tech Support. 

image.jpeg

 

Message 9 of 13 (5,743 Views)
Rank 50: Grand Master
Posts: 17,307
Registered: ‎25-03-2008

Re: vodafone r206 windows 10

Hi @RBA

 

The device is not on the list of compatable Windows 10 devices on the link below.  This will be the reason you are unable to run the software.

 

The later device R207 is on the list. 

 

Mobile Broadband Software

 

 

Message 10 of 13 (5,735 Views)
RBA
Rank 1: Guest
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎22-11-2016

Re: vodafone r206 windows 10

It goes to show how useful live chat and phone are with this, I was told twice it was compatible with Windows 10, I think live chat may have even sent me a link to a page to prove it but I didn't check it. They post links to a lot of stuff whenever I have problems. I tried this on Windows 8 as well and had the exact same problem.

 

Also whenever I plug it in it asks me for an unlock code. I bought the device on ebay and didn't get a code. Vodafone won't give me one, even though the advice I'm given in regards to get the code is to contact support. Then they dismiss me.

Message 11 of 13 (5,686 Views)
RBA
Rank 1: Guest
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎22-11-2016

Re: vodafone r206 windows 10

I just went through the links for compatibility you posted Ann, I can't see the R206 anywhere from Windows 7 upwards.

Message 12 of 13 (5,685 Views)
Rank 50: Grand Master
Posts: 17,307
Registered: ‎25-03-2008

Re: vodafone r206 windows 10

@RBA

 

If you purchased on ebay, if possible it may be better to make a return.

 

You will then be able to purchase a device more suitable for your needs.

Message 13 of 13 (5,682 Views)
Got a question?

Get help and technical support on Vodafone's devices, products and services from our online community

If your question relates directly to your account or mobile number please contact our customer services team.

My Vodafone

My Vodafone

Stay in control of your spending and manage your account online.

Log in

Register for My Vodafone

Top up