cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ask

Solution

Why was my new phone previously someone else's old phone?

Graemedthompson
2: Seeker

I completed a master reset on my iPhone 5s tonight as it has been crashing recently when taking and recieving calls from my bluetooth car system.

After reseting the phone is now asking me to enter a password for an Apple ID that is not associated with me? I have been to the Apple Store, who have advised me that this means my iPhone has previously been associated with another user?

The Apple Store said that they need proof of purchase from me in order to fix the phone, which I do not have, as the phone was an upgrade with yourself.

So I am looking for two things... an explantation as to why a phone I got as new has been associated with another user, and therefore a refirbished phone and not what I thought I was buying? and I also need proof of purchase that I can take to the Apple store?

4 REPLIES 4

BandOfBrothers
17: Community Champion
Hi

When you received the upgrade phone did it have the sealed plastic around the box ?

If the iPhone had been used by another owner you would not have been able to enter your own Apple ID into it from the start of powering it up, unless they (the original owner ) had gone into the iPhone's settings and used the 'Erase All Contents and Settings 'option to remove their info and Apple ID details.

This security feature is called 'Activation Lock ' and 's help link on that is https://support.apple.com/kb/PH13695?locale=en_GB

As far as I'm aware performing a reset by pressing the Home Button and Power button until the  logo appears or even restoring the iPhone wouldn't bring back any previous owner details because if so anyone purchasing a used iPhone would have these issues ,and to date I haven't come across anyone that has replicated what you are experiencing.