Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ask

Solution

Problem with microphone Galaxy S5

AudixDude
2: Seeker
2: Seeker

I have been told by everyone that speaks to me , including operators from vodafone, that they really battle to hear me. It is only on the S5 and it is not me talking softly or holding the phone away from my face - there is a genuine problem.

Any suggestions?

17 REPLIES 17

Retired-Kay
Moderator (Retired)
Moderator (Retired)

Hi AudixDude, 

Welcome to the eForum. :smileyhappy:

It sounds like a fault with the phone. You can see information on arranging a repair here

Thanks, 

Kay

Hi Kay

Thanks for the welcome!! :smileyhappy:

I am an engineer myself and I was just wondering if this is a common problem. I have read on other forums that because of the waterproofing, the way the mic is setup is different and the "bad sound" is as an unaviodable result of that. 

You may however be correct and there may indeed be a fault on the handset. Before I go to the lengths of returning the phone for checking/repair I am first going to take the sim out of the S5t and put it back into my S3 and call the same people again and see if there is any difference in sound quality. If there is, then we know there is an issue with the S5. If there is not, then it is something else.

I will let you know the results

Thanks

Hi AudixDude,

I’ve not seen other reports about this issue.

It does sound like an isolated case with your phone.

Thanks,

Andy

Hi Andy

Let me just make sure my previous post has not been taken up incorrectly. When I said ". .. we know there is a problem with the S5 ...", I meant my S5 not the S5 as a model.

That said, the incidents I have alluded to were from the USA. One of the tech guys at the particular Service Provider said (when the one chap on the forum had called in asking about the same thing I have)  that because of the nature of how the waterproofing has been done, it causes the the mic to be soft and that is how the phone sounds.