cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ask

Solution

Huawei: Why am I now paying for an obsolete device?

chris_cardiff
3: Seeker
3: Seeker

Following recent news, we have learnt old devices will still currently support app updates through Google's Play Store. However, Huawei devices won't be getting the next (Android Q) or any future OS upgrades.

In addition, most phone manufacturers are given details of security risks and software issues at least a month in advance. Allowing companies time to run tests and make sure there are no issues with their devices. As such, Huawei will now only receive the information the same day the public are informed of the vulnerabilities; meaning your device could possibly go weeks or months without the patch until Huawei has time to do their tests.

I am a P20 Pro user and my handset is less than 12months old (and part of 24 month contract). Not only is it frustrating knowing that my device will no longer be able to download any newer version of android, but the lack of up to date security is a major concern.

I did not opt to pay over £1200 (over the period of my 24mo contract) for a device and service, for a handset that is prematurely at its peak, and open to possible security risks and software flaws in the future... less than half way through the life of its contract.

I implor Vodafone to offer their existing customers options to upgrade their handsets/contracts early, without additional charges.

3 REPLIES 3

BandOfBrothers
17: Community Champion
17: Community Champion

I'm not a Huawei phone user but like some others I've been following the initial media attention when Huawei were linked to spying etc and arrests within the company to this new media news in regards to what Google have done etc.