Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ask

Solution

Vodaphone Samsung updates

omgitzmo
4: Newbie

Hey Guys, I'm new to vodaphone and this is my first time getting carrier phone, asking people who are experienced with vodaphone whether they have huawei or Samsung, does Vodaphone release software updates fast? Since this is carrier locked so it's up to vodaphone to release it.

The new one ui for Samsung s9 is supposed to be released in January, does anyone think vodaphone will release it in January or perhaps in 2020?

Thanks

14 REPLIES 14

BandOfBrothers
17: Community Champion

Hi @omgitzmo

Officially Vodafone nor Samsung will comment on firmware send out timeframes. 

What happens with Vodafone branded Samsung phones is Vodafone test the firmware first to ensure nothing clashes and then when they are happy authorise Samsung to release the branded version.

This is sent out in waves to stop server melt down and pushed out to phones dependent on their build and serial number.

Samsung One Ui is in Beta and the rumour is that it'll be January 2019 but nothing ja official yet.

Firmware Statement.

android-pie-one-ui-update-roadmap.

Current Phone  >

Samsung Galaxy s²³ Ultra 512gb Phantom Black.

Samsung has officially announced and given a list Of devices and the Month and year, just Google one ui release dates, I'm just asking for your opinion, do you think vodaphone releases updates quick or slow? 

BandOfBrothers

As the firmware updates typically include Security Patches I'm.sure they'll want to release it as fast as possible.

The thing is as it's sent out in waves people receive it at different stages.

I buy direct from Samsung and typically receive updates pretty fast although one person's thinks its fast and another says it's too slow.

There's no definitive answer to your question I'm afraid.

Current Phone  >