Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ask

Solution

Broadband Activation - Never happened

neo4403
3: Seeker
3: Seeker

I see there are several posts on failed broadband activation, I didnt know if it makes sense to open up another post but I thought I would atleast get a reply from Vodafone by doing this.

Vodafone disconnected our old broadband on activation date on 13 Nov and did not provide any service to us. 5 days without internet now, this is the first time in my life I am seeing such a worst migration process. Helpdesk is crap and broadband activation team dont care about my calls except reading a script - "Openreach will update again on so and so date". This is utterly ridiculous. Its my mistake that I havent seen the forum before placing the order with Vodafone otherwise I wouldnt have ordered.

How can Vodafone disconnect my old broadband if they cant activate new connection? I work in IT, seeing all this is mind boggling!!

Has anyone experiencing the same issues thought of complaining to Ofcom or the Ombudsman?

39 REPLIES 39

Jayach
16: Advanced member

@Divizion wrote:

I keep getting confused as I refer to Mb/s as Megabytes per second, however in the ISP "advertising world" they refer to Mb/s but they mean (if they were to spell it out) Megabits per second.  Big difference as there are 8 bits in a byte...

Mb/s is Megabits per second. MB/s is Megabytes per second
@ Jayach I was on ADSL with SKY.  Vodafone speed quote was what was on the website at the time for "Superfast 2".  I registered online.

I have recently transferred fro Sky ADSL also.

@ Evie Thanks, however I'm concerned at how no one came out from Openreach to physically disconnect me from SKY to connect me to Vodafone on my activation date.

The transfer takes place at the cabinet/exchange not at your home. The copper wire from the cabinet to your home doesn't change.