Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ask

Solution

No internet connection, seemingly a problem on the line

Archer1988
2: Seeker

So, my experience with Vodafone broadband has been mixed at best so far. Aside from the delayed activation and supposed 'fault on the line', our connection has been plagued with frequent connection drops of up to 5 minutes (usually a daily occurrence, if not multiple times a day).

Cut to today where our connection died around 6am and here we are 6 hours later still without internet, and by extension no TV (thanks Netflix and NowTV). After eventually getting through to an operator and finally convincing him that everything is set up correctly and has been working for the last few months until this morning, he began attempting to convince me to start disassembling our openreach socket (for reasons beyond my comprehension). After being straight with him and stating I'm not an engineer and I don't necessarily know what it is I'm pulling apart, he reluctantly agreed to arrange for an engineer. If I'm entirely honest, I'm not quite sure why I should be pulling an openreach box apart anyway. 

This would be great... Except for the part where he first mentioned something about a problem that would be dealt with within a month and then quickly changing this to "you'll have internet within 3 working days". For starters I'm not convinced that this is going to get fixed within that time span given that initial talk of a month to begin with , but secondly I'm pretty irate that we're without a service that's being paid for (and by extension screwed on other fronts, since it also means we have no TV either).

So realistically I guess I'm simply asking what's the deal? Is this going to be addressed sooner rather than lately, and am I supposed to just twiddle my thumbs in the meantime? I'm sure Vodafone wouldn't be quite as understanding if payment was delayed by three working days... 

3 REPLIES 3

Evie
Moderator (Retired)
Moderator (Retired)