cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ask

Solution

Superfast2 degraded evening service (logged speedtests)

richbos
3: Seeker

We signed up for Superfast2 which was initially stable at over 70mbps 24/7. After a month or so it started to degrade with notable speed fluctuations. Although now stable during the day the speed drops to between 5mbps and 15mbps between 5.30 and 11pm every evening.
I'm an IT systems engineer so have a rolling speedtest configured from a Raspberry Pi to monitor the connection. The Pi plugs directly into the router via ethernet and runs a cli speedtest on a cronjob every 30 minutes. The results are pushed into InfluxDB and pulled into Grafana. I have attached some of the results to highlight the issue (30 days and 7 days), as well as the Vodafone speed test advisory.
I am keen to get this resolved as signup guaranteed 55mbps and we are now paying for a service we are not receiving. Although their wording with this is ambiguous as it reads "If it doesn't achieve the minimum guaranteed speed for a sustained period"

Vodafone do state that if connection speed doesn't meet advised standards and they are unable to resolve it that customers are entitled to cancel, as such I will be contacting them during the evening slowdown to report the issue. 

19 REPLIES 19

Hi, to update, after a week or so I finally had a response on the Twitter DM, again asking for security account/verification details I'd already given them multiple times (they like repeatedly asking, it feels like a delay tactic to try and beat you into apathy). Details supplied - tumbleweeds. Expect they will get back in another few days asking me to go round the scripted testing routines again. Meanwhile the connection is further degrading, now with periods of zero connectivity (see attached grab).