main_icn_My_Vodafone main_icn_Search main_icn_Chevron_right main_icn_Chevron_down main_icn_Close main_icn_Menu social-facebook social-google-plus social-linkedin social-twitter social-youtube main_icn_Community_or_Foundation main_icn_Location main_icn_Network_signal

Internet speed

They lied to a journalist. Consumer advice and what causes disconnections.

Highlighted
2: Seeker

Going to start by saying I don't expect support to reply and provide the stock answer of asking me to PM them my info to assist as I am going through my own troubleshooting already. I'm posting this exclusively as consumer advice and awareness - that live chat support will lie to you with fake updates - and I have all the transcripts. It's a long read but well worth it to be ready for future issues.

The long and short of it is I'm a magazine tech journalist. Some hard news occasionally but I'm more than used to dealing with technology. I literally wrote new ways in review guides used by hardware makers now to test their hardware. I signed up early in the year to Superfast 2 and got my maximum speed right away of 65mbps. Two months at that although it would disconnect at 9pm on the dot daily I was fine with. I could set my watch by it.

At this point new neighbours just moved in (worth remembering for later) and my net speed tanks to a stable 27mbps, down to 22mbps and frequent disconnections.  I contact support and follow their logic even when it makes no sense. The phone socket was newly installed by BT (the home didn't have one!) on activation day, the modem was new from Vodafone and so were all the cables.