Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ask

Solution

Anyone else affected by Vodafone disabling demon.co.uk emails after May 2020

Adtadt
4: Newbie

Vodafone own the domain demon.co.uk which I've used for my email address since the mid 1990's...

... when they purchased the company that owned it they didn't want to continue with the domain name. For the last 5 years or so they leased the domain to names.co.uk who have taken on my emails.

Today I was advised by names.co.uk that Vodafone will no longer lease the domain to anyone or use it themselves. So during the current virus pandemic I face losing my email address from the end of May 2020. While I can change my email address I will obviously face losing access to some services, companies and friends that I miss. Further, some websites etc don't make it easy to change.

Anyone got any ideas...?

200 REPLIES 200

snoopwoody
2: Seeker

Yes I'm also new to the party. Got my email yesterday and also had mine since 1994. 

The cynic in me thinks this is Vodafone trying to push this through now before new legislation stops them and it will go under the radar in these unprecedented times. 

My wife and son also use this address it's really hassle and worry we don't need at the moment.

Reddecks
3: Seeker
3: Seeker

Yes I’ve had the same email from Names.co, I’m absolutely livid!!!! This has been my main email for over 20 years and now they are going to shut it down with no solution!!!???

Vodafone need to continue to support this domain, or at least let Namesco take it over?

How on Earth did they think they could just let it drop like that? Fuming!!!!!!

Update from Adtadt:

This does seem to be progressing a bit...

The cutoff date seems to have been extended, hopefully, get past the current virus pandemic...