main_icn_My_Vodafone main_icn_Search main_icn_Chevron_right main_icn_Chevron_down main_icn_Close main_icn_Menu social-facebook social-google-plus social-linkedin social-twitter social-youtube main_icn_Community_or_Foundation main_icn_Location main_icn_Network_signal

Other broadband queries

Devices disconnecting regularly

4: Newbie

I've noticed recently that some devices on wifi have been disconnecting from the BB hub on a regular basis. Here is part of the log.

 

Date Time Log details Category

06.12.201807:17:08User sucessfully logged in to UI from LANSystem
06.12.201807:17:02Wi-Fi client Richards-MBP connected with IP address 192.168.0.7LAN
06.12.201807:16:47Wi-Fi client RSiPhoneXsMax disconnected with IP address 192.168.0.6LAN
06.12.201807:15:12Wi-Fi client RSiPhoneXsMax connected with IP address 192.168.0.6LAN
06.12.201807:14:47Wi-Fi client RSiPhoneXsMax disconnected with IP address 192.168.0.6LAN
06.12.201806:50:07Wi-Fi client RSiPhoneXsMax connected with IP address 192.168.0.6LAN
06.12.201806:49:36Wi-Fi client RSiPhoneXsMax disconnected with IP address 192.168.0.6LAN
06.12.201806:47:47LAN client LGwebOSTV connected with IP address 192.168.0.5LAN
06.12.201806:46:36Wi-Fi client RSiPhoneXsMax connected with IP address 192.168.0.6LAN
06.12.201806:46:21Wi-Fi client RSiPhoneXsMax disconnected with IP address 192.168.0.6LAN
06.12.201806:45:56Wi-Fi client RSiPhoneXsMax connected with IP address 192.168.0.6LAN
06.12.201806:45:21Wi-Fi client RSiPhoneXsMax disconnected with IP address 192.168.0.6LAN
06.12.201806:44:06Wi-Fi client RSiPhoneXsMax connected with IP address 192.168.0.6LAN
06.12.201806:44:01Wi-Fi client RSiPhoneXsMax disconnected with IP address 192.168.0.6LAN
06.12.201806:38:31Wi-Fi client RSiPhoneXsMax connected with IP address 192.168.0.6LAN
06.12.201806:38:21Wi-Fi client RSiPhoneXsMax disconnected with IP address 192.168.0.6LAN
06.12.201806:25:36Wi-Fi client amazon-dda21d56e connected with IP address 192.168.0.15LAN
06.12.201806:25:26Wi-Fi client amazon-dda21d56e disconnected with IP address 192.168.0.15LAN
06.12.201806:25:01Wi-Fi client RSiPhoneXsMax connected with IP address 192.168.0.6LAN
06.12.201806:24:46Wi-Fi client RSiPhoneXsMax disconnected with IP address 192.168.0.6LAN
06.12.201806:21:21Wi-Fi client RichardpleWatch connected with IP address 192.168.0.16LAN
06.12.201806:19:31Wi-Fi client RSiPhoneXsMax connected with IP address 192.168.0.6LAN
06.12.201806:19:26Wi-Fi client RSiPhoneXsMax disconnected with IP address 192.168.0.6LAN
06.12.201806:16:16Wi-Fi client iPhone disconnected with IP address 192.168.0.14LAN
06.12.201806:15:31Wi-Fi client RSiPhoneXsMax connected with IP address 192.168.0.6LAN
06.12.201806:15:26Wi-Fi client RSiPhoneXsMax disconnected with IP address 192.168.0.6LAN
06.12.201806:15:11Wi-Fi client iPhone connected with IP address 192.168.0.14LAN
06.12.201806:14:56Wi-Fi client iPhone disconnected with IP address 192.168.0.14LAN
06.12.201806:12:11LAN client LGwebOSTV disconnected with IP address 192.168.0.5LAN
06.12.201806:08:46Wi-Fi client iPhone connected with IP address 192.168.0.14LAN
06.12.201806:08:41Wi-Fi client iPhone disconnected with IP address 192.168.0.14LAN
06.12.201806:07:31Wi-Fi client amazon-dda21d56e connected with IP address 192.168.0.15LAN
06.12.201806:06:21Wi-Fi client amazon-dda21d56e disconnected with IP address 192.168.0.15LAN

 

Has anyone any idea why this is happening? or is it likely that I need a new hub?

 

Thanks

View more options
55 REPLIES 55
2: Seeker

Not a clue but have exactly the same issue as of this week, did they update firmware or something? My connection is awful on all formats across the house because of these constant reconnects. 

View more options
4: Newbie

My router was last updated in July last year. No recent change.

View more options
Moderator

Have you split the SSID in your router settings?

 

From the readings you've given it looks like the devices could be changing from 2.4Ghz to 5Ghz causing it to disconnect and reconnect each time it drops from one to the other.

View more options
14: Advanced member

@MarkF could you explain the machanism that would cause this, specifically if the SSIDs have been split, as opposed to the standard (common SSID) band handover that the router manages based on poor signal strength on a particular band.

 

While I no longer use the VF router, it's ability to dynamically switch (compatible) clients between bands when signal strength on the 5GHz band didn't seem too shabby at all.

 

I just get a little concerned with obsession from Tech Support that "Splitting the SSIDs" is a miracle cure for everything, with little to no explaination WHY?  *I do recognise that the 2.4GHz performance of the VF router is appauling, but trying to get users to shove every client that can use 5GHz onto that band, no matter how far away they are from the router is surely not the solution!

View more options
4: Newbie

The SSIDs are not split at all. The disconnections happen when the devices are not moving at all, when people are in bed. Is this an issue with Vf hubs? Do I need a replacement?

View more options
14: Advanced member

Sorry if I used your question as a vehicle to attempt to get an explanation for the "split the SSIDs" obsession, personally I'm just sitting here scratching my head as to what could cause this.

 

It doesn't look like a classic router fault or and environmental condition, if that were the case "classically" you'd see every device disconnect at roughly the same time.  It also doesn't look like the router dynamically switching between radios based on signal strength (common scenario in tall granite town houses), and confirmed by the fact that the devices are stationary!

 

If you've not changed any settings on the router regards the customizing the SSIDs (such that all your devices could connect straight back up) then I'd probably be using the reset button on the router, and observe if that changes the situation and how.  With out reverting to paranoia and conspiracy theories, I'm grasping at straws here!

View more options
4: Newbie

Sounds worth a try. Shame though as I’d have to set up all my static ports and port forwarding again! Doh!

View more options
Moderator

Hey @richyboy1980, there's certainly quite a lot of disconnections there. 

 

Try a reset on the router first of all, sometimes the most basic things can help with this.

What do you have connected to the router? Do you have a switch, or another router connected perhaps? 

 

Blair

View more options
4: Newbie

The Vf router is hardwired to a netgear 8 port switch, into which my wired devices are plugged.

 

ive reset the router without success so far

View more options
10: Established

I get the same... sitting in the next room to the router, not moving around at all.  Two different iPads (both Air 2) dropping out randomly and if both in use at the same time, both drop out.

 

I have this problem aired in a different thread but I am convinced it is the router as I can't connect to 192.168.1.1 until it comes back to life and the iPad reconnects to WiFi.

 

Have I made a mistake switching to VF?  This problem did not exist with my old EE Brightbox 2.

View more options
4: Newbie

This Ian something that’s only started happening approx 1 to 2 months ago. It’s definitely the router, no question. It’s happening with amazon devices, Apple devices and laptops. 

View more options
Moderator

@richyboy1980, I'd suggest that the switch is causing the issues that you're facing.

 

Please try and run things without the switch for 24 hours and let us know how you get on. 

View more options
Highlighted
10: Established

Switch causing WiFi disconnect / reconnect issues?  Is it a known problem with some or all switches?

 

i have a fully populated 8 port linksys switch that was simply disconnected from my last (Brightbox 2) router and plugged into the VF router... it was working perfectly previously so frankly.  In my case, I'd be surprised if the switch is the problem unless the router is not up to the job.  It is not something I'd want to be without either...  Hive, Hue, TV, Freesat, NAS, printer etc.

View more options
4: Newbie

Hey! Just a quick update. I separated the bands into 2 SSIDs and the disconnect issue has gone. Its a shame it has to be this way, both bands on the same wifi is much more convenient. Maybe the hub isn't as great as VF make out!

View more options
14: Advanced member

@HappyNomad, is there a possible situation where a network switch could cause this?  Not specifically a network switch, but any connected network device!  It's what I alluded to when I mentioned paranoia and conspiracy theories.

 

Frankly with the considering the other issues the VF router has; I would think (personal oppinion) some kind of conflict within the router is more likely than a device on the network deliberatly and maliciously hijacking your internal IP and MAC addresses.  If someone were to be suggesting deliberate and malicious hijacking, then realistically they ought to be warning you about that fear rather than just trying to get it off a device connected to their internet service!

View more options
4: Newbie

I can say that my issues do appear to have only started a few months ago and nothing has changed recently regarding new devices etc. Very strange issue to have just appear from nowhere

View more options
Moderator
Moderator

@HappyNomad  Hey there, just a quick question have you got devices connected to the Wi-Fi on the router as well as the switch? If so have you changed the IP ranges on the 8 port switch? As this may cause disconnections if the router is getting 2 different devices asking for the same internal IP address.. Joe

View more options
14: Advanced member

@Joe Surely a regular switch doesn't has the ability to allocate IP addresses or even ranges, that function would be in the realm of a DHCP server (usually hosted by a router).

 

Even standards compliant devices with static or manually assigned IPs will obtain IP address leases from the DHCP server, and there are protocols in place for conflict resolution.

 

So to create an ongoing conflict would require a deliberate or concerted effort on the part of a user, or the use of a device that had been configured to act in a deliberate and malicious manner!

View more options
10: Established

Yes... I have wired devices connected through the switch and a number of WiFi devices.

 

The switch is not a dhcp server... it just a switch.  The self same setup worked perfectly well prior to moving to VF so on the basis that everything is the precisely the same between the exchange and my kit as it always was - except for the Vodafone Router - the obvious if somewhat simplistic answer has to be the router.  

 

The whole Vodafone thing is just not working for me... I pay for a service and I not unreasonably expect that service to work.  I do not expect to be spending time repeatedly with a stalled service or trying to find solutions to problems that shouldn't be mine.  That is not aimed at anyone here of course and I appreciate the help you guys are giving but after just over a month of less than satisfactory service with Vodafone I may well be looking for the way out.

View more options