Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ask

Solution

Draytek Vigor 130 and gigafast?

chocomocco
2: Seeker
2: Seeker

We've got Gigafast and the VCNT-I vodafone hub. Wifi is pretty rubbish and we're looking to replace with something better. I'm only a tech novice so not 100% sure what we're looking at although it seems sensible to buy a separate modem and router to give us flexibility in the future.

Now... looking on the forums here, I've seen lots of mentions of the Draytek Vigor 130 but when I look at the back of our Vodafone hub, the WAN is an ethernet connection, but the Vigor 130 has an RJ11. I'm therefore not so sure we can connect the Vigor 130 to our fibre box. Am I looking at the right modem for Gigafast? If not, any pointers would be greatly appreciated. I was hoping to just use the existing cable and simply swap out the hub (the fibre box is behind some furniture so is a bit of a pain to get to).

The router is probably less of an issue, we're planning on getting an Asus RT-AC86U.

EDIT: We would also be happy to consider a router/modem combo. We were looking at the TP-Link Archer VR2800. It appears to have an ethernet LAN/WAN port. We have our username and password from Vodafone but liked the potential plug-and-play offered by the Draytek avoiding VLAN IDs and such (zero clue about any of this!)

14 REPLIES 14

Jayach
16: Advanced member

You do not need a modem for FTTP. Your choice of router will connect directly to the fibre box using the same Ethernet cable as the Vodafone router. You will need you username and password from Vodafone.

Edit, I posted before you added the edit to say you have your username an password.

Oh my goodness, I did say I was a tech newbie. All this new-fangled technology!!!