cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ask

Solution

Trouble connecting a 3rd party router (D-link DIR-X1860) with HG612 modem on Superfast 2

sasha1504
3: Seeker
3: Seeker

Hello All,

I've been using Vodafone router for over 2 years and finally got fed up with Internet dropping several times a day for about a minute every time, with a page showing up from Vodafone asking to reset the DSL line.

So I've read a bunch of post on this forum on how people use a 3rd party router instead of Vodafone default hardware. I bought 3rd part hardware and spent countless sleepless hours trying to make it work but to no avail.

Hence, this post - a cry for help before I give up.

More detail:

1. I got my login and password from Vodafone chat. I copy and paste those into the router settings, so no typos.

2. I bought an Openreach Huawei HG612 3B modem that I saw frequently recommended. I made sure that it is unlocked and that I can log into it (using LAN2). I have all green solid lights on the modem.

3. I bought a D-Link DIR-X1860 AX router with a desire to future proof my broadband setup.

4. I connected DSL line to the modem and LAN1 of the modem to the WAN port of the router. I then connected D-link router to my laptop via the ethernet cable.

5. I went through the D-Link setup wizard that included choosing a PPPoE connection and entering my Vodafone login and password. I also see in settings that VLAN 101, priority 0 is activated.

6. I rebooted the router and modem several times just in case.

So as far as I can see, everything should be working, but it doesn't - the broadband connection on the router is broken. 

Any ideas where I may be going wrong and how to fix the issue?

Any technical assistance would be much appreciated.

Thank you

-Sasha

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

CrimsonLiar
16: Advanced member