main_icn_My_Vodafone main_icn_Search main_icn_Chevron_right main_icn_Chevron_down main_icn_Close main_icn_Menu social-facebook social-google-plus social-linkedin social-twitter social-youtube main_icn_Community_or_Foundation main_icn_Location main_icn_Network_signal

Other broadband queries

Vodafone is blocking our service (Splashtop)

SplashtopOskar
2: Seeker

Hello,

 

I am part of the technical support team over at Splashtop (splashtop.com), we provide remote access and remote support to millions of users worldwide. We are one of the industry leaders when it comes to accessing devices remotely.

 

We noticed that users of Vodafone are contacting us and complain that our service/website is blocked by their ISP. They need to manually whitelist us or contact your support to use our remote access software which is tedious and not convenient at all.

 

I would appreciate any help from someone over at Vodafone to talk and potentially resolve the issue as fast as possible. 

 

Thank you very much for your time and I am looking forward to your reply!

View more options
16 REPLIES 16
KeithAlger
16: Advanced member

Good luck getting action by posting anything on these boards!

 

In order to get a meaningful response from Vodafone someone will have to call the VF tech support and battle their way past the level 1 Expurts!

 

FYI, the problem is caused by Vodafone providing their own filtered DNS, so the answer to individual complaints is to change the preset DNS to Google, Cloudflare, Quad9 or similar.  It's supposedly possible to change the settings in the user accounts, to alter the filtering,,,, but it's less than reliable!

View more options
Cynric
12: Established

.@SplashtopOskar

 

Looking here (https://www.blocked.org.uk/check) your URL is not being blocked by anyone except "Talk Talk Kidsafe". However your link (http://splashtop.com/) is http and just about every browser is now either blocking or converting to https.

I see that you do have a https address and that works for me, but if you are still using http in links and documentation then that may be a contributing factor.

View more options
SplashtopViolet
2: Seeker

Hi @Cynric

I don't believe we use http anywhere, could you let us know where you got the information from?
View more options
Jayach
16: Advanced member

@SplashtopViolet wrote:

Hi @Cynric

I don't believe we use http anywhere, could you let us know where you got the information from?

It's the link in your first post.

View more options
SplashtopOskar
2: Seeker

Hey,

 

I apologise but there was a mistake and the link in my initial post was indeed the http instead of our regular https one.

I corrected it.

Thank you for catching that!

View more options
Mark
Moderator

I've been able to connect to your website using a mobile connected to the Vodafone network @SplashtopOskar. If your users are still experiencing problems connecting, please confirm if the site's being blocked when using our mobile network, a fixed line connection, or both? When the site is blocked do the users have Secure Net or a Content Control bar active?

View more options
SplashtopOskar
2: Seeker

Hey,

 

-One of the affected users mentioned that they use Vodafone GigaCube for internet access, so I assumed it's a fixed-line connection.
 
-Some users mention that our software works after turning off ContentControl. They also get a message from Vodafone saying they could not access Adult sites without removing the restriction when trying to download our applications.
View more options
Evie
Moderator

Thank you for confirming the above @SplashtopOskar - Our GigaCubes work on our mobile network so this isn't a fixed line service. I have Secure Net active on my Vodafone number and I was able to load your site without any errors.

Are you able to confirm with your customers if they are receiving the error on our mobile network, fixed line or both? Also can you attach a screenshot of the error message you are getting please?

View more options
BigAds
1: Seeker

Hi Evie, I am a Splashtop business customer and have been using their platform for the past 2 years without issue.

This week, for some reason, my connection has suffered massively, to the extent I am unable to work remotely due to the lag I am now facing.

I've been speaking with Jules (from Splashtop live chat) who has suggested I get in touch with you (Vodafone) and ask you to view the following web page:

https://support-splashtopbusiness.splashtop.com/hc/en-us/articles/115001811966-What-are-the-Firewall...

 

Please can you action whatever is required to make us very happy Splashtop users continue working from home using Vodafone as our ISP. 

 

Many thanks in advance for whatever help you can give to solving this issue.

 

BigAds :Smiling:

View more options
BigAds
1: Seeker

...and I am experiencing this issue on a fixed line, Vodafone Broadband deal and 60mbps download with a standard Vodafone router.

Note, my broadband speed is not suffering, my household can still access the internet and other online services/gaming sites etc, it is just the Splashtop side of things which is the issue, especially as it is affecting my work.

 

Thanks again,

BigAds

View more options
Jayach
16: Advanced member

@BigAds

What are the results when you run the check given on the link you posted?

Check Connectivity to Splashtop Servers

View more options
KeithAlger
16: Advanced member

Certainly, I can't find that the website is in any manner blocked.

 

So it's probably going to be down to Splashtops network guys to pull the logs from the intermediate P2P authentication servers and see if that highlights any issues.  Then pull client router logs from their customer's routers looking for dropped/refused connections.  Such a service should be able to identify the point at which the connection is being blocked, anything else would be incredibly unprofessional!  It might indeed be an issue with something Vodafone, but when running a proprietary P2P system the onus is to identify the precise location of the problem and not just throw out maybes!

 

My sympathies go out to Splashtop customers,  but if this gets passed up the chain to higher-level techs within VF, it's going to be expected that the Splashtop techs basic homework has been done in advance! *rant over*

 

*Not proud here - if I'm wrong I'm fully ready and willing to apologise!

View more options
SplashtopOskar
2: Seeker

Hey @BigAds,

 

Thanks for your feedback!

We are happy to hear you are a Splashtop user.
It seems like this is a separate performance issue and Jules already contacted you via email.

Thanks again!

View more options
SplashtopOskar
2: Seeker

Hey Evie,

 

The main question is if Splashtop is included in any blacklist that has to do with your Content Control system?

I will provide more Infos such as a screenshot once the issue gets reported again by a user.

Thank you for your help!

View more options
Farai
Moderator

I can't see anything that should be preventing access to the www.splashtop.com domain @SplashtopOskar. We'd recommend that you get back to us with the requested screenshots when you have them. Once you have, we'll be able to investigate further and hopefully get a better understanding of the issues you've been seeing 👍

View more options
Cynric
12: Established

Using the service checking page (posted earlier) I notice that the websocket calls are taking just a fraction over 30 seconds to resolve. Could some devices time-out before the websocket is established? Also websockets on port 80 are often blocked and if a proxy is in the way it may blocking them on both 80 and 443.

View more options