cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ask

Solution

Got a signal but can't connect to internet. Exhausted nearly all possible options. Please help!

gc19
2: Seeker
2: Seeker

Hi folks. I'm new to Vodafone and I have a serious problem which I've been struggling to sort out. It's becoming frustrating to try and solve so my final option is to try the forums.

I recently moved from Three. I had no problems with Three and I enjoyed being on their PAYG. However I've been looking for a new job, most likely going to be London based, so I decided that I would like to change from PAYG to a Sim only contract as I would be able to afford funding it and I'd get some extra bonuses. I personally didn't like what Three had to offer so I decided to move to a different network. I had a look around and I liked what Vodafone had to offer, so I decided to try out a Vodafone PAYG Sim to see if I had issues and if the service was good before considering to go for a Sim only contract.

I don't have a Vodafone store local to me and I knew I had to go shopping at some point so I picked up a Sim from Tesco. As soon as I got home, I put the Sim in my phone, created my Vodafone account, topped it up (got a big ten pound bundle), and went to try it.

I tried texting and calling, had no problem. Tried to connect to the internet, I couldn't connect. This is when the hassle started.

I opened my browser and I couldn't open the webpage. I went on to the My Vodafone app in case something needed to be configured on that, couldn't open that either since I needed a data connection. On the top of my phone there was a notification saying "Unable to Establish a Wireless Data Connection. Cause: SERVICE_OPTION_NOT_SUBSCRIBED" .