Did you mean: 

Ask

Solution

Joining Vodafone Sim Only with No Credit History

TIWYCF_E1
2: Seeker
2: Seeker

Hi All, 

Apologies if this was posted before but I couldn't find a definive answer!
I'm new to the U.K with no credit history yet (I'm in the process of building some but again just moved here a few weeks ago).
I've been approved for a monthly SIM only with Everything Everywhere (ha) but I know Vodafone service is better in my area - I'm aware each carrier have different criteria and that's fine.

My question is:
I've been declined online for a 12-month sim only - do I have a better shot applying in store as they can verify my identity? Just trying to save a trip to my local Vodafone store as I was under the impression a sim only would be easier to be approved.

I come from a market where security deposit is the norm for people with bad and no credit history so that they can have service. But I don't think Vodafone offer that. Differtent countries, different rules!

Thanks for your help!

2 REPLIES 2

BandOfBrothers
17: Community Champion
17: Community Champion

Is Vodafone Payg no good to you @TIWYCF_E1  ?

Current Phone  >

Samsung Galaxy s²³ Ultra 512gb Phantom Black.

TJ
Community Manager (Retired)
Community Manager (Retired)

Hey @TIWYCF_E1, thanks for getting in touch! If you've been to EE and they've done a credit search, you'd need to leave a little time before reapplying for anything else; to give your credit file time to recover a little. If you did this before you tried to get the Vodafone SIM, that could be why you've been declined unfortunately. 

As @AnnS advised, it won't make any difference popping into store instead and you'd need to give it at least 90 days.