main_icn_My_Vodafone main_icn_Search main_icn_Chevron_right main_icn_Chevron_down main_icn_Close main_icn_Menu social-facebook social-google-plus social-linkedin social-twitter social-youtube main_icn_Community_or_Foundation main_icn_Location main_icn_Network_signal
Menu Toggle

Welcome to Vodafone Community

Vodafone Sure Signal

Sure Signal 2 - Both lights flashing

SOLVED
View solved solution
2: Seeker

Hello -

Sure Signal 2 stuck with both lights permenantly flashing (and power light on); also lots of activity from the ethernet port

 

Port forwarding to SureSignal on static IP for ports 8, 50, 123,500,4500,1723; Firewall open for addresss 212.183.133.177-182 and 212.183.131.128-191

 

Sure Signal serial num: 40114662550

 

Test results below - can you investigate please?

 

Many thanks

 

Speedtest.net result:
Download: 5.82 Mbps
Upload: 0.91 Mbps
Ping: 26ms
 
Pingtest.net result:
Grade A
Packet loss: 0%
Ping: 22ms
Jitter: 1ms
 
Trace Route results:
Tracing route to cluster4.vap.vodafone.co.uk [212.183.133.177]
over a maximum of 30 hops:
  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  192.168.1.1
  2    50 ms    27 ms    32 ms  lo0-central10.ptw-ag01.plus.net [195.166.128.195]
  3    26 ms    25 ms    25 ms  link5-central10.ptw-gw01.plus.net [84.93.248.8]
  4    25 ms    26 ms    25 ms  xe-0-2-0.ptw-cr01.plus.net [212.159.1.16]
  5    26 ms    27 ms    28 ms  LNDGW2.arcor-ip.net [195.66.224.124]
  6    26 ms    26 ms    26 ms  85.205.116.6
  7     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 
External IP address:
146.90.204.183
View more options
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Moderator (Retired)

Hi MattWasp, 

 

Thanks for letting us know you're up and running again, give us a shout if we can do anything else for youi :smileyhappy:

 

Paul

View more options
25 REPLIES
Moderator (Retired)

Hi MattWasp,

 

The light sequence you’re seeing would indicate that the Sure Signal is being configured, how long has you been seeing it? I can see your Sure Signal connected to our servers late last night, are you still seeing the same flashing lights?

 

If you are, can you do a full reset of the device for me:-

 

  • Hold down the reset button until all the lights show/flash (about 30 seconds)
  • Keeping the reset button held down, remove then re-insert the power lead.
  • Once all lights display release the reset button.
  • The Sure Signal will come online in around 1 hour.

Let me know how you go on.

 

Thanks

 

Andrew

 

View more options
2: Seeker
Thanks for responding Andrew,

I tried the reset 3 hours ago and there is no change - both lights constantly flashing in unison.

In answer to your earlier question, I've previously left the device on for 48+ hours and there has been no change in its behaviour
View more options
Moderator (Retired)

Hi MattWasp,

 

Thanks for the update here.

 

I’ve taken a look at the registration and can see that it has connected to the server at 02:31 this morning.

 

Can you confirm if you are still seeing the same light sequence or is this now up and running?

 

James

View more options
2: Seeker
Hi James - I still have the same light sequence. I did the reset at 17:20 yesterday, it's been on and in this state since then (it's now 17:15 so coming up to 24 hours)

BTW Thanks for picking this up over the weekend

Matt
View more options
2: Seeker
Ok - all working now, it came on stream this morning (approx 36 hours after the reset). Thanks guys
View more options
Moderator (Retired)

Hi MattWasp, 

 

Thanks for letting us know you're up and running again, give us a shout if we can do anything else for youi :smileyhappy:

 

Paul

View more options
1: Seeker
Hi guys, sure signal 2 with same symptoms. Tried the full 30sec reset mentioned above but still no change, can U have a look on your end for me please? Otherwise very happy with the product thanks!
Serial No 40112865080
View more options
Moderator (Retired)

Hi morven62,

 

Thanks for your post.

 

From what I can see everything looks fine with the registration.

 

As you’ve done the reset, are you still having trouble today?

 

Also, have you tried resetting your router and then the Sure Signal?

 

Another option to rule out a faulty Sure Signal would be to test this on a different internet connection and also use a different Ethernet cable.

 

James

View more options
2: Seeker

Hi I have same problem. This is the Second box I have had and never had this problem with the first one.

 

I have registered and have done as previous messages say have left for 24 hrs and have done a reset.

 

Still have flashing LEDS.

 

Help Please.

 

S/N 40120934431

 

View more options
Moderator (Retired)

Hi jamesb2k18,

 

I’ve checked the registration and can see that it’s not connected since your deregistered and reregistered the Sure Signal.

 

If both lights are still flashing it could mean that the box is faulty.

 

Are you able to try this on a different internet connection at a friend’s house to see if you get the same issue?

 

If you do, you’ll need to send it for repair.

 

James

View more options
2: Seeker

Hi,

 

Am also having the same issue. My s/n is: 40110422413. Fw'd ports are 8 & 50 TCP and 500, 4500 and 123 UDP. The unit seems to be going up and down like a yo-yo. I have rebooted everything several times, too.

 

Many thanks.

 

Mr_Wobble.

 

 

 

View more options
Moderator (Retired)

Hi mr_wobble, 


Please supply thr following information;


Your speed test results from here.

Your ping test results from here.

Your external IP address from here.

The results of a traceroute.

 

Your Sure Signal serial number:

 


VSS Traceroute command

On a PC:

Click on Start and select Run

Type CMD into the Run box and press enter/click ok

A black box will appear.

In this box type tracert 212.183.133.177 press Enter

Paste the output of this command into your reply.

This will help us get the quickest possible resolution for you.

Thanks

Kay

View more options
2: Seeker
Hi
I'm having the same issues and had the box reset several times over the last few days. Can you re sync If possible please

40112309519

Thanks
View more options
Moderator (Retired)

Hi Julianturners,

 

I’ve re-synced this for you today but your Sure Signal hasn’t connected to our servers since 29 August.

 

So that we can check things further, please get back to us with the following info:

 

  • Your speed test results from here.
  • Your ping test results from here.
  • Your external IP address from here.
  • The results of a traceroute.


VSS Traceroute command

  1. On a PC:
  2. Click on Start and select Run
  3. Type CMD into the Run box and press enter/click ok
  4. A black box will appear.
  5. In this box type tracert 212.183.133.177 press Enter
  6. Paste the output of this command into your reply.


This will help us get the quickest possible resolution for you.

 

Thanks,

 

Jenny 

View more options
2: Seeker
Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Julian.Turner>tracert 212.183.133.177

Tracing route to 212.183.133.177 over a maximum of 30 hops

1 Destination host unreachable.

Trace complete.

C:\Documents and Settings\Julian.Turner>tracert 212.183.133.177

Tracing route to cluster4.vap.vodafone.co.uk [212.183.133.177]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms routerlogin.net [192.168.0.1]
2 24 ms 7 ms 26 ms 10.76.168.1
3 8 ms 9 ms 8 ms perr-core-2a-ae9-604.network.virginmedia.net [80
.1.61.65]
4 9 ms 34 ms 32 ms perr-core-2b-ae1-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.2
55.149.74]
5 9 ms 9 ms 8 ms brhm-bb-1c-ae14-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.25
5.149.69]
6 16 ms 14 ms 20 ms tcl5-ic-2-ae0-0.network.virginmedia.net [212.250
.15.210]
7 20 ms 15 ms 15 ms lndgw2.arcor-ip.net [195.66.224.124]
8 15 ms 15 ms 15 ms 85.205.0.86
9 * * * Request timed out.
10 * * * Request timed out.
11 * * * Request timed out.
12 * * * Request timed out.
13 * * * Request timed out.
14 * * * Request timed out.
15 * * * Request timed out.
16 * * * Request timed out.
17 * * * Request timed out.
18 * * * Request timed out.
19 * * * Request timed out.
20 * * * Request timed out.
21 * * * Request timed out.
22 * * * Request timed out.
23 * * * Request timed out.
24 * * * Request timed out.
25 * * * Request timed out.
26 * * * Request timed out.
27 * * * Request timed out.
28 * * * Request timed out.
29 * * * Request timed out.
30 * * * Request timed out.

Trace complete.

C:\Documents and Settings\Julian.Turner>
View more options
2: Seeker
Ping test b*
Ping 22ms
Jitter 2ms
Server Coventry

IP address
92.238.67.238
IPv6 ::ffff:5cee:43ee
View more options
2: Seeker
Ping 1ms
Download 54.25
Upload 3.11
View more options
Moderator (Retired)

Hi Julianturners,

 

Your IP address is fine.

 

The Sure Signal hasn't connected to the server since 29 August.

 

When you're performing a reset, are you following this process?

 

  1. Hold down the reset button until all the lights show (about 30 seconds)
  2. Keeping the reset button held down, remove then re-insert the power lead
  3. Once all lights display release the reset button
  4. The Sure Signal will come online in around 1 hour

If you are, I advise trying the Sure Signal at a different location, ideally with a different ISP.

 

Thanks,

 

Ian

 

 

 

 

View more options
2: Seeker

Hi, have followed the reset process several times and it seems to not have any effect.  I can try a different location but i do notice that after the reset there is no lights on the sure signal ethernet cable port so it tells me that it is not connecting to the outside world.  When the SS is reset it has a constant power signal showing and the other two flash white - after about 5-10 mins these extinguish and i am left with just the power light

 

Have you come accross this problem before? Firewall is set to low and i cannot see anything else that would mean it wouldnt work - with approx 50 % of the Midlands now on Virgin Broadband surely someone else has had this problem? I have had a brief look on the forum but no-one seems to have the same issue i do?

 

many thanks in advance for your help

 

Julian

View more options