main_icn_My_Vodafone main_icn_Search main_icn_Chevron_right main_icn_Chevron_down main_icn_Close main_icn_Menu social-facebook social-google-plus social-linkedin social-twitter social-youtube main_icn_Community_or_Foundation main_icn_Location main_icn_Network_signal

Vodafone Sure Signal

Sure Signal not working - Please check IP whitelist

4: Newbie

Hi

 

Please can you check that my public IP is whitelisted so my Sure Signal can connect.  My public IP is 213.104.210.68.

 

Thanks

View more options
18 REPLIES 18
Moderator

Hi @CuckooCleeves I've checked this for you and it does show it's been whitelisted so this won't be the problem. We're happy to help further if you need.

View more options
4: Newbie

Hi Adam

Thanks for comfirming this.  I've been Wiresharking the Sure Signal and it does appear to be communicating correctly. When it is is turned on I can see it create an IPSEC link first to port 500 and then moving to 4500. However after a hour or so the Power Light flashes and the two outside lights (internet and Phone) both light up solid orange.

 

Customer Services have reset the registration many times and each time assured me that it will now work but it doesn't.

 

Is there anything you can do to help as this is getting rather frustrating.

 

View more options
Moderator

@CuckooCleeves Judging by the lights that you mentioned, there could be 2 solutions here. The first would be:
-Confirm that port 123 has not been closed
-Reboot both the router and the Sure signal
-Report the issue to your internet service provider.

 

The second would be:

-Contact your internet service provider and advise that you're trying to set up a VPN tunnel and that the IPsec is being blocked on an internal firewalled service within their network. 

 

I hope this helps. 

View more options
4: Newbie

Hi Adam

 

The NTP port (123) is open and there is traffic flowing to and from the Sure Signal.

 

My ISP has confirmed there is noting blocking IP SEC. Indeed I can see, via Wireshark, that the VPN does get established.  My ISP has also traced the traffic and can see no issues - everything looks like it is working.  It seems that the problem is at the Vodafone end and the Vodafone servers are not letting the Sure Signal register correctly for some reason.

 

View more options
Moderator

@CuckooCleeves Thanks for that information, we can look to reset the Sure Signal from our side to see if this helps at all. I'll need you to complete this  template so we can help further. Thanks a lot. 

View more options
4: Newbie

Hi Adam

 

Here's the information:-

What light sequence you're seeing: Initially Solid Red Power and slow flashing white Internet. After a couple of hours Flashing Red Power, Internet Solid Orange, Phone Solid Orange.

Speed test: 80mS Ping, 75Mbps download and 7Mbps upload.

External IP: 213.104.210.68

Serial Number: 42180817621

Tracert:-


C:\>tracert 212.183.133.177

Tracing route to 212.183.133.177 over a maximum of 30 hops

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.1.1
2 17 ms 19 ms 13 ms 66.210-104-213.static.virginmediabusiness.co.uk
[213.104.210.66]
3 19 ms 18 ms 22 ms hawk-geam-1a-ge34.network.virginmedia.net [82.0.
240.129]
4 21 ms 13 ms 17 ms aztw-core-2a-ae5-995.network.virginmedia.net [80
.1.241.30]
5 * * * Request timed out.
6 25 ms 22 ms 28 ms brnt-ic-1-ae0-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.254.
42.198]
7 26 ms 22 ms 30 ms m686-mp2.cvx1-b.lis.dial.ntli.net [62.254.42.174
]
8 20 ms 16 ms 18 ms 213.46.174.130
9 21 ms 19 ms 29 ms ae32-xcr1.lns.cw.net [195.2.24.126]
10 * * * Request timed out.
11 * * * Request timed out.
12 * * * Request timed out.
13 * * * Request timed out.
etc

 

View more options
Moderator

Hi @CuckooCleeves thanks for that information, it's a massive help! I've resynced your Sure Signal so this should hopefully correct it. Leave it up to 6 hours before resetting it. Please let us know how you get on after this time. 

View more options
4: Newbie

Hi Adam

 

Thanks for this. When you say "reset it" should I do a factory reset or just power cycle it?

View more options
Moderator

@CuckooCleeves Just your basic power cycle should do the trick to be honest. Once the time elapses and you reset it, give it a few minutes to kick in, then that should hopefully sort it. Do let us know if you have any problems though. 

View more options
4: Newbie

Hi Adam

 

I followed your instructions but unfortunately it didn't help.  The Sure Signal is still doing the same thing.  What's the next step?

View more options
Moderator

The light sequence you've described @CuckooCleeves indicates your internet provider needs to open port 123. I know this sounds like jargon, but they'll know what you mean.

View more options
4: Newbie

Hi Mark

 

As per one of my earlier mssages in this thread, port 123 is definately open and I can see (using Wireshark) that the Sure Signal is sending out NTP client request and receiving responses via port 123.  As such that is not the issue causing the problem.

Please let me know what the next step is to getting this issue resolved.

View more options
4: Newbie

Hi Mark

 

I've done somemore testing and the Sure Signal is sending NTP Client messages and is receiving NTP Server responses so port 123 is devfinately open.  However the Sure Signal is sending the NTP Client requests every 50mS so it looks like it doesn't like the response from your NTP server.  I've looked at the signals (see traces below).  It looks to me that the Sure Signal is sending an invalid Transmit Timestamp. The server copies this into the Original Timestamp field, as it should do. However I suspect the Sure Signal doesn't like this, marks the response as invalid and immediately tries again.

 

Therefore it looks like there is a bug in the latest Sure Signal firmware and this may only affect new Sure Signals that have not yet established a local time. By the way I have just purchased another Sure Signal and this does exactly the same!

 

Please could you escalate this issue to you third line tech support as it really does need to be resolved.

  

NTP Signal Trace

Client message sent from Sure Signal (192.168.1.13) to Vodafone NTP Server (212.183.131.132)

913 56.358491 192.168.1.13 212.183.131.132 NTP 90 NTP Version 4, client
 
Network Time Protocol (NTP Version 4, client)
    Flags: 0xe3, Leap Indicator: unknown (clock unsynchronized), Version number: NTP Version 4, Mode: client
    Peer Clock Stratum: unspecified or invalid (0)
    Peer Polling Interval: 16 (65536 sec)
    Peer Clock Precision: 1.000000 sec
    Root Delay: 0 seconds
    Root Dispersion: 0 seconds
    Reference ID: NULL
    Reference Timestamp: Jan  1, 1970 00:00:00.000000000 UTC
    Origin Timestamp: Jan  1, 1970 00:00:00.000000000 UTC
    Receive Timestamp: Jan  1, 1970 00:00:00.000000000 UTC
    Transmit Timestamp: Feb  7, 2036 06:28:20.066560748 UTC
 
NTP Server response from 212.183.131.132 to Sure Signal (192.168.1.13)
914 56.386206 212.183.131.132 192.168.1.13 NTP 90 NTP Version 4, server
Network Time Protocol (NTP Version 4, server)
    Flags: 0x24, Leap Indicator: no warning, Version number: NTP Version 4, Mode: server
    Peer Clock Stratum: primary reference (1)
    Peer Polling Interval: 16 (65536 sec)
    Peer Clock Precision: 0.000000 sec
    Root Delay: 0 seconds
    Root Dispersion: 0 seconds
    Reference ID: Global Position System
    Reference Timestamp: May 24, 2018 11:43:07.000000000 UTC
    Origin Timestamp: Feb  7, 2036 06:28:20.066560748 UTC
    Receive Timestamp: May 24, 2018 11:43:12.151499254 UTC
    Transmit Timestamp: May 24, 2018 11:43:12.151510250 UTC
 

 

 

View more options
Moderator

Thanks for providing us with your latest results @CuckooCleeves.

We would need to complete security with you in order to raise this with our Technical team.

So we can do this, please follow the steps I've given in the private message I've sent to you. Once we receive your details we'll then be in touch to help with your Sure Signal

View more options
4: Newbie

Hi Natasha

 

I've responded to the private message. However please note that for some reason I never receive an auto-response email from it (this has happened on another thread) so it would be good if you can confirm you have received it.

View more options
Moderator

@CuckooCleeves I've checked the email address registered to your Community profile however I've been unable to locate an email from you. 

Please try the below when submitting your details to us and you should then receive an automated email response from us:

- Clear your cache and cookies on the device you're using.
- Try a different device or send your email using a different web browser.
- Try an alternative email address.
- Manually type your email address into the box when prompted, rather than copy and paste and also include the routing code.
- Ensure your message is under 2500 characters.

Once you receive this reference number, please confirm this back to us 

View more options
4: Newbie

Hi Natasha

 

Ok it was pasting in a link to the forum thread that stopped it working. You should see ticket #18754236 which relates to this thread.

View more options
Moderator
Moderator

Thanks for providing us with your reference number @CuckooCleeves, I'm glad you've managed to get the email sent over to us.

I apologise for the delay in getting back to you. I've chased this up and one of the team will be in touch as soon as they can, thanks very much for your patience. 

View more options