Skip to content
main_icn_My_Vodafone main_icn_Search main_icn_Chevron_right main_icn_Chevron_down main_icn_Close main_icn_Menu social-facebook social-google-plus social-linkedin social-twitter social-youtube main_icn_Community_or_Foundation main_icn_Location main_icn_Network_signal
Menu Toggle

Welcome to Vodafone Community

Vodafone Sure Signal

System and Phone Light constantly flashing

SOLVED
View solved solution
Highlighted
2: Seeker

Hi,

 

I received my Sure Signal v2 yesterday evening and plugged it straight into my wirelss router. Power light is on constantly but the system light and phone light are constantly flashing. I left it overnight but even after 12 hours it was still the same. I've reset the Sure Signal and rebooted the wireless router this morning but still 4 hours later I still have both the system and phone lights constantly flashing. I'm far from an IT expert so any layman thoughts/help would be much appreciated. Thanks

 

Jason

View more options
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Moderator (Retired)

Hi holliebint,

Can you take a look at our Sure Signal Troubleshooting thread, and then post back your results if you’re not directed to an existing thread?

Thanks

Andy
Moderator

View more options
19 REPLIES
Moderator (Retired)

Hi holliebint,

Can you take a look at our Sure Signal Troubleshooting thread, and then post back your results if you’re not directed to an existing thread?

Thanks

Andy
Moderator

View more options
4: Newbie

I had the same issue but found that patience prevails, let it go for 24 hrs at least before you get stressed

View more options
2: Seeker

Thanks, it's working fine now, it did take 24 hours though. On the box is mentioned it takes up to an hour thats why I was geting concerned. Thanks for yuor help.

View more options
4: Newbie

I have the same problem with my Netgear DGND3700v2 router.  Already spoke to and had an online chat with a technician, manually configured some of the ports, but still I get a steady power light, and the system & phone light flashing in sequence together.

 

I have attached a screenshot of my router port forwarding page in the hope someone can have a gander and advise on any mistakes.

 

Or, if anyone can help me further.

 

Thanks.

View more options
4: Newbie

Further to my last message, the VSS has had a steady power light and the system & phone lights flashing for over 24hrs now.  So I got fed up......with the VSS powered off I've just carried out a factory reset on the router and returned it to the last good known configuration when the VSS was working.  Powered up the VSS, carried out a full reset......now it's a waiting game.

 

I may like to add that I have actually had the VSS working with the DGND3700, and without having to manually configure port forwarding. But this was at a time when we were experiencing an intermittent loss of internet connection caused by a BT line problem.  The indication of this would be seeing the system light off and phone light flashing on the VSS, and then seeing a corresponding red light on the router that indicated a dropped internet connection.  Rebooting the router cured this, and then the VSS would automatically get a good connection again.

 

However, since the BT line fault has been fixed and the router has not dropped the connection at all, the VSS has not worked.  Every attempt to reboot the router or to reset the VSS gives the same fault.

 

Frustrated doesn't even come close.....but fortunately I'm now over 6 months into my 12 month contract and at the end, when Vodafone may be expecting me renew with them, they'll have a shock cos I'm taking my business elsewhere.

 

Regards,

 

Andy

 

 

View more options
Administrator

Hi AndyT557

 

I’d like to help to resolve this VSS (Vodafone Sure Signal) issue for you, but to do this I will need to take some further information from you.

 

Can you post the following results to this thread?

 

 Speedtest and Pingtest.

 

Your IP address.

 

Traceroute.

 

  • On a PC / Laptop :
  • Click on Start  and select Run
  • Type CMD into the Run box and press enter/click ok
  • A black box will appear.
  • In this box type tracert 212.183.133.177    press Enter
  • Paste the output of this command into your reply.

 

And finally, your VSS serial number.

 

Many Thanks

 

DaveCD

eForum Team

 

View more options
4: Newbie

Hi Dave,

 

Thank you for the reply, to say I am grateful for your help is an understatement.

 

Speedtest result taken at 21:32 on 24/07/12:

Download speed: 7.46 Mbps

Upload Speed: 0.26 Mbps

 

Pingtest result taken at 21:37 on 24/07/12:

Packet loss test Failed!!  Looked into this, I have Java installed and I disabled my Firewall for test, not sure why this test failed.

Ping: 56 ms

Jitter: 1 ms                                                                        

 

IP Address:  86.133.150.189

 

Traceroute result:

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Andy.MeshNero955>tracert 212.183.133.177

Tracing route to 212.183.133.177 over a maximum of 30 hops

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.0.1
2 35 ms 35 ms 35 ms 217.47.105.250
3 36 ms 33 ms 37 ms 217.47.105.145
4 43 ms 43 ms 43 ms 213.1.69.162
5 42 ms 43 ms 43 ms 31.55.165.75
6 43 ms 42 ms 44 ms 31.55.165.107
7 42 ms 43 ms 56 ms acc1-10GigE-7-3-0.mr.21cn-ipp.bt.net [109.159.250.98]
8 51 ms 59 ms 59 ms core2-te0-3-0-13.ilford.ukcore.bt.net [109.159.250.28]
9 68 ms 50 ms 49 ms peer1-xe3-0-1.telehouse.ukcore.bt.net [109.159.254.219]
10 52 ms 51 ms 51 ms LNDGW2.arcor-ip.net [195.66.224.124]
11 51 ms 50 ms 52 ms 85.205.116.14
12 * * * Request timed out.
13 * * * Request timed out.
14 * * * Request timed out.
15 * * * Request timed out.
16 * * * Request timed out.
17 * * * Request timed out.
18 * * * Request timed out.
19 * * * Request timed out.
20 * * * Request timed out.
21 * * * Request timed out.
22 * * * Request timed out.
23 * * * Request timed out.
24 * * * Request timed out.
25 * * * Request timed out.
26 * * * Request timed out.
27 * * * Request timed out.
28 * * * Request timed out.
29 * * * Request timed out.
30 * * * Request timed out.

Trace complete.

 

VSS Serial Number:

40112018482

 

Kind regards,

 

Andy T

View more options
Administrator

Hi AndyT557

 

Thank you for your post and the additional information.Smiley Happy

 

All the results look fine, the tracert shows it hitting our servers, the IP range is included in the whitelist, speed and ping tests look solid so I have checked your serial number and can see that you have still not connected.

 

I have resynced your device to jump start it from this end, please can you let me know if this allows you to connect after an hour or so.

 

Many Thanks

 

DaveCD

eForum team

View more options
4: Newbie

Hi Dave,

 

I noticed your reply at about 22:30 last night.  At that point the VSS had the same symptoms so I carried out a full reset on the VSS.

 

It is now 00:52 and the same symptoms are still apparent.  I will report back in the morning.

 

If no change by midday today (27th), and given that all the results from the tests are good, what next?

 

Kind regards,

 

Andy

View more options
4: Newbie

Dave,

 

It is now 12:15, and it's been nearly 14 hours since I carried out the reset of the VSS box, and........no change!!!

 

Same symptom.

 

What now?

 

Regards,

 

Andy

View more options
Moderator (Retired)

Hi AndyT557,

 

Thanks for the update here.

 

If you are still seeing a solid power light and flashing phone and system light it would suggest that the Sure Signal is faulty as it sounds like it is continually going through a reboot cycle.

 

If this is the case, please follow the instructions that I have sent to you via PM and we can then look at a replacement for you.

 

You can find your PM inbox here.

 

James

View more options
4: Newbie

Thanks James,

 

Contactus form submitted with all info that your PM requested.

 

Waiting on a reply and next course of action.

 

Kind regards,

 

Andy

View more options
4: Newbie

It's Deja Vu time.......

 

Been here before but this time I'm utterly befuddled and don't know what to do.

 

I'm using a Netgear DGND3700 router and after some trial and error with the port forwarding I did manage to get the SureSignal working, and quite happily so for about 6 weeks.  Until one morning when I got the dreaded flashing system & phone lights fault that refuses to clear.

 

Checked my port forwarding settings, all ok.

Factory reboot of SureSignal carried out.

 

No change.

 

Help...please...someone...!!!

Déjà vu Déjà vu Déjà vu

View more options
Moderator

Hi Andy,

 

I’m sorry to see you’re having this problem again and I can appreciate how frustrating this will be.

 

So that we can look into this further, please get back to us with the same information as Dave requested last time here.

 

Also, can you confirm that you’ve left this for 24 hours?

 

Cheers,

 

Jenny

View more options
4: Newbie

Hi Jenny,

 

Thank you for the reply.

 

Info you require:

 

Ping 66ms

Download speed 3.34 Mbps

Upload speed 0.36 Mbps

 

Pingtest:

Ping 56ms

Jitter 1ms

Line quality B*

 

Traceroute:

 

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Andy.MeshNero955> tracert 212.183.133.177

Tracing route to cluster4.vap.vodafone.co.uk [212.183.133.177]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.0.1
2 36 ms 36 ms 36 ms 217.32.95.250
3 36 ms 35 ms 36 ms 217.47.211.161
4 44 ms 44 ms 44 ms 213.1.69.166
5 44 ms 44 ms 44 ms 31.55.165.102
6 44 ms 44 ms 45 ms 31.55.165.53
7 44 ms 44 ms 43 ms 31.55.165.107
8 44 ms 109 ms 43 ms 109.159.250.90
9 59 ms 55 ms 55 ms core1-te0-0-0-16.ealing.ukcore.bt.net [109.159.2
50.26]
10 90 ms 51 ms 51 ms peer1-xe3-2-0.telehouse.ukcore.bt.net [109.159.2
54.205]
11 59 ms 59 ms 59 ms LNDGW2.arcor-ip.net [195.66.224.124]
12 54 ms 53 ms 54 ms 85.205.116.6
13 * * * Request timed out.
14 * * * Request timed out.
15 * * * Request timed out.
16 * * * Request timed out.
17 * * * Request timed out.
18 * * * Request timed out.
19 * * * Request timed out.
20 * * * Request timed out.
21 * * * Request timed out.
22 * * * Request timed out.
23 * * * Request timed out.
24 * * * Request timed out.
25 * * * Request timed out.
26 * * * Request timed out.
27 * * * Request timed out.
28 * * * Request timed out.
29 * * * Request timed out.
30 * * * Request timed out.

Trace complete.

C:\Users\Andy.MeshNero955>

C:\Users\Andy.MeshNero955>

 

VSS Serial No: 40122419381

 

Left it for 24hrs.....I've left it for 4 days!!!

 

Regards,

 

Andy

View more options
Moderator (Retired)

Hi there AndyT557,

 

Thanks for your post and the information we requested.

 

Sometimes ISPs will update routers and connections overnight when there's minimal disruption to the service.

 

This can sometimes affect the VSS and IP addresses can also change.

 

I've forced a resync for you. Please factory reset the device and let me know the external IP if the reset fails to bring you back online.

 

Cheers,

 

LeeH

 

 

View more options
4: Newbie

Hi Lee,

 

Been over 24hrs and no connection following your system resync.

 

As requested, my external IP address is 81.147.181.76

 

Are there any plans to update the SureSignal device so it's possible to access it via the device IP address, much the same way as a router?

 

Thanks,

 

Andy T

View more options
Moderator (Retired)

Hi there AndyT557,

 

Thanks for the response and update.

 

The IP is fine and on the whitelist so that's not the issue.

 

So far everything checks out.

 

One last check, if it's possible; could you try the device on a separate connection such as a friend or relative's house? If the symptoms remain then we'll have to assume your VSS is faulty. If they don't then it has to be a setup issue which I'll be unable to help with.

 

It would be worthwhile you posting your ISP and router make/model so the community might be able to lend a hand.

 

Let me know how you get on.

 

Cheers,

 

LeeH

View more options
4: Newbie

Hi Lee,

 

A faulty VSS, I really doubt it, but of course there is no way to be certain since the device cannot be accessed like a router to see if it's communicating ok. And I am 100% certain it's not a router issue since the VSS has been working with the port forward settings satisactorily, and I haven't changed these settings.

 

To be honest Lee, I'm pretty fed up of trying to get the VSS working.  It's so un-user friendly.  Flashing lights, perform reset, is that all that can be done, pretty poor really.  Wouldn't it be simpler and more cost effective for Vodafone to provide a decent network signal in the first place, rather than supplying what is in effect a shoddy, unreliable piece of cr*p!!

 

If anyone else has an idea I'd be open to suggestions, before I change to Orange!!  Router is a Netgear DGND3700.

 

Regards,

 

Andy

View more options