main_icn_My_Vodafone main_icn_Search main_icn_Chevron_right main_icn_Chevron_down main_icn_Close main_icn_Menu social-facebook social-google-plus social-linkedin social-twitter social-youtube main_icn_Community_or_Foundation main_icn_Location main_icn_Network_signal
Menu Toggle

Welcome to Vodafone Community

Vodafone Sure Signal

Why does Sure Signal not accept Ported numbers?

SOLVED
View solved solution
Highlighted
2: Seeker

I have a sure signal which is provided to me by work at my home address to provide a signal on my business mobile.. It is registered to me and I have full admin access so can add and delete users. This has been in-situ since 2015.

 

Following the end of my exsiting phone contract on another network, I swapped to Vodafone in the past ten days. I was issued with a new vodafone number which I added to the sure signal, received a text and all was working fine while I waited for my old number to be ported across to Vodafone.

 

This took place just over a week ago. I logged in to the Sure Signal, deleted the temp Vodafone number and then proceeded to add my ported number. It does not work. An error message, each and every time.

 

After many conversations, online chats, being passed around from customer services, to tech, to business, back to tech, escalating my problem, I was promised my problem would be resolved in 72 hours. Three days later, still no fix. Still unable to add my number.

Another online chat and a further 24 hour wait. No fix.

 

So despite having to repeat the whole story to multiple members of the help team I am no further forward in solving my problem. Business wont discuss my account and say its a personal account issue, Personal say its a business issue. Tech have de-registered, re-registered the sure signal, I have reset it. No-one at Vodafone can add the number and they have tried several times.

 

After much frustration, I was informed after a 90 minute online chat, yes 90 minutes and three departments later, I was told it would be resolved in a further 72 working hours.

 

A quick google search reveals that I am not alone in this issue. There are a number of customers who have the exact same issue. Ported numbers are not being recognised by the Sure Signal as Vodafone numbers. Some people have had some success with porting and adding numbers after complaining and maybe this hs something to do with the Sure Signal Servers being updated with ported numbers. Others are waiting months and months with no fix.

 

Vodafone- I have seen on other forums and threads that as soon as someone posts with this issue, you want to know the serial number and try to add users your end. This does not work. I have tried multiple times and so have the tech team but they can not make it work. I can add any other Vodafone number but my own. I just want a definitive reason or solution to make this work.

 

I have zero phone signal in my house, zero to one bar outside. Wi-fi calling is not reliable enough so am left with another provider who is unable to provide me with a service.

 

Has anyone else found a solution to this? Is there such thing as an update to the Sure Signal server that Vodafone can refresh? What is the problem? Why are ported numbers not recognised?

 

 

 

 

View more options
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
2: Seeker

@Sabeda wrote:

Just wondering if you ever got a resolution to this. I have just posted in the forum with exactly the same problem, and feel that Vodaphone are just passing me from pillar to post with ever increasing deadlines of when they will resolve the issue with nothing progressing. I am promised calls with supervisors to tell me how issue is progressing and no one ever rings back. As a new customer with Vodaphone i think i will have to cancel contracts if issue not resolved soon.


Hi. Its so frustrating isn't it!!!! 

I finally had this resolved just over a month after swapping to Vodafone.

It took more calls after the above. In the end I registered a complaint through their online form.

Even then they kept saying they needed permission from the business to add my number.

I found out through speaking with someone on 191 that my porting on the screen showed as complete, behind the scenes there were items still open.

Eventually, they explained that the number could be added by basically manipulating the system but needed permission.

 

Again, through repeating everything on two or three occasions they put me through to another back office department who promised a resolve within 3-5 days.

Sure enough it worked.

 

Sorry I don't have an answer as to why or what was going on with the porting but my advice is to log everything down and raise a complaint, eventually you should get your number added. Refer to this thread as they might be able to look up on their systems what the issue/fix was.

Good luck!!

I

 

 

View more options
12 REPLIES
Moderator

This sn't good to hear @alanludewig. So we can take a look into this for you, please send us your details by following the instructions in this private message and we'll be in touch.

View more options
2: Seeker

Mark,

I have now replied as per the instructions. I was last told on the 5th May, it would be escolated and resolved within 72 hours. Its now late afternoon on the 9th May and still no resolve. I appreciate there has been a weekend and bank holiday, but there has been no update or feedback either. Even an acknowledgement that someone is looking into it would have been nice.

Alan

View more options
Moderator
Moderator

Thanks for getting back to us @alanludewig. I completely understand your frustration and apologise for the delay in getting this issue with your Sure Signal resolved.

Rest assured, we'll be in contact as soon as we can to help get you up and running correctly. Please continue to keep us updated and don't hesitate to pop back to us here if you have any further questions, we'll be happy to help in any way we can. 

View more options
2: Seeker

So, it's Thursday evening and the escalation request that was processed last Saturday with a promise of a fix within 72 working hours has not provided any answers.

This was the second escalation.

 

I have now replied to the private message as requested by Vodafone and my communications are now being channeled through email. (So are not shown on the forum, wonder why?)

 

Within the last 24 hours, I have been contacted by four separate Vodafone employees regarding my issue.

 

Although this seems like progress..... I am having to repeat the same information about my issue as I did during the phonecalls and web chats I have already provided.

This is so my issue can be escalated for the third time.

 

Nothing marries up, it appears no one actually checks my records for previous contact and information. It's that or internal departments are working independently and not sharing any information.

 

Including the responses for this post, I have given my details including serial numbers, mobile numbers and usernames at least 5-6 times?!?!?!?!?!

 

I really do not understand what the problem is. I can add mobile numbers to my sure signal but not my own which was ported.... Oops, sorry. Repeating myself again.....

 

Has or is anyone else experiencing the same issue as me? Did you find a solution? I'm holding out for an answer but may have to leave Vodafone before my initial 30 days are up as a mobile contract with a provider that can not offer a signal/service is no good for anyone!

 

The time and effort that goes into calling, messaging and replying to emails is quite frustrating and exhausting.

It feels like an uphill battle at the moment.

View more options
2: Seeker

So another day of zero phone signal! As shown in the pictures. The first image is the level of signal I get when sat at my desk when working from home, which is usually where I keep my phone.

The second is with the phone upstairs by an open window.

Wi-fi calling is available but not reliable enough and texts do not come through.

 

I recall seeing something about a coverage guarantee??

 

20180511_122551.jpg

 

20180511_122534.jpg

 

According to Ofcom, a signal level of at least -86dBm was needed to provide good 2G voice call coverage. Although mobile providers have used a lower (-93dBm) signal threshold to determine 2G voice call coverage.

 

As you can see from both images, my signal is significantly worse. To achieve four bars/full signal my signal would need to be aournd -60dbm.

 

 I have tried the tests on differnet apps and have achieved the same results. The 4g icon in the top bar is showing, however it registers as zero/off when trying to do a speed test.

 

Without my number being added to the sure signal, I have no signal.

At least 10 different thread in the community mention the same issue with ported numbers not working with the Sure Signal, surely someone has an answer or knowhow to fix the issue?

 

Moderator

I'm sorry about the delay in resolving your query @alanludewig. We've got the email you sent earlier today and one of the team will be in touch as soon as possible about this.

View more options
2: Seeker

So here’s an update and timeline on not having any phone signal in my house or in the garden since activating my SIM and porting my number on the 27th April 2018. 

 

Apologies for the length, but hopefully you will understand my frustration level at this point.

 

A brief summary of information I have provided Vodafone between the 27th April and 5th May before my message were being dealt with offline through email;

  1.  I have confirmed through online chats multiple times that I can log into my works sure signal which is registered to me as the owner at my home address.  I can log into this and add as many vodafone numbers as I want. I added my temp number before porting and added another number yesterday. The tech team and I have tried multiple times to add my number but it doesnt work.
  2. I have confirmed the serial number, lead number registered on the sure signal along with my personal number that I want to add mutiple times.
  3. I have passed around various departments as no-one is able to answer the problem and have been promised the issue will be escalated and reolved within 72 hours. This has not happened.

I can access the sure signal thats in my house using my live work email or work mobile number. I can add any Vodafone number personal/business but not my ported number.

Following the private chat message above, the following messages have been sent to me from the social media team-

9th May- Thanks for your email, I’m really sorry you’re experiencing issues with your Sure Signal device, I can imagine how frustrating the issue that you’ve outlined in your forum post actually is. We’d really like to help you get up and running again as quickly as possible.

So we can complete our account security process, I’ve just sent you a text with a four digit PIN. Please confirm this back to me in a reply to this email. Once you’ve provided the correct number back to us, we can get on with looking at the issue for you.

 

I replied with the pin

 

10th May- So we can look into the problem you're experiencing when registering your number Alan, please confirm your Sure Signal serial number. This will be displayed on the back of the device.

Thanks,

Reply Sent

 

10th May- Thanks for confirming your Sure Signal serial number.

We tried to add the line ending 927 to the device and as you've advised previously, we were unable to do this.

So that we can escalate this further to the Specialist team, please confirm that the number you've been trying to add to the Sure Signal. Once we’ve got confirmation of this, we’ll assist further to ensure your number is connected to the device and able to receive a 3G signal.

Confirmed mobile number again

10th May- Thank you for your email.

So we can escalate the sure signal issue further. Please can you confirm the lead number that the sure signal is registered to.

Once we’ve received this we’ll be happy to help.

Kind Regards

Confirmed number again, email, postcode and reminder that I have repeated myself numerous times

11th May- As some time has passed since out last interaction, we'll just need you to confirm the 4 digit pin that we've sent to your mobile number. Pop it back to us in your next email and we'll be sure to provide you an update with your Sure Signal's mobile number registration issue.

Thanks,

Replied again within one minute of receiving the message.....

 

Nothing on 12th & 13th May

 

May 14th - Thanks for getting back to us with your security code.

We appreciate your frustration in relation to experiencing a signal loss and we can assure you that we want to help get your number registered to the Sure Signal.

In order for us to get this escalated to the Specialist team to take a closer look, we'll need confirmation of the following information;

  • Your internet service provider
  • The version of Sure Signal you have
  • Everything the Technical team have tried with you previously to help get your number added
  • The four-digit pin that I've just sent to the line ending 927

Once received, we'll be sure to pass this onto them to help find a resolution.

We can only apologise for any inconvenience caused during this time and we do appreciate your patience whilst we help get this sorted.

Thanks,

Replied again repeating everything I have already stated. As you can imagine my frustration is growing as the service is just terrible.

 

May 15th- Thank you for your response and providing the information requested.

We appreciate you want to get things sorted and we can assure you we want to help. As you mentioned in your email dated 10 May the lead number of the Sure Signal ends in 862, as this isn’t under the account you’ve provided, we’ll need the owner of the number and who owns the account to raise this to us. Please could you get them to email their details to us here -  http.....

Once we’ve received these details and cleared security with the account holder, we’ll be happy to get this raised.

Kind Regards

Replied, trying to explain that the sure signal that is in my house is fully operational. Again I can add numbers and added another yesterday. But mine doesnt work on any sure signal, business or personal.

Request for this to be escalated into a formal complaint and details to be sent back on receipt of email.

May 15th- The named account holder for the  lead number ending 862 will need to provide us with this information. Please advise the person who is responsible for the account and provide them with the link as shown so we can resolve this for you.

Alternatively please call 191 and ask for Business.

Replied again explaining the two accounts are indeed separate. No details of the complaint process and recapped everything I have already stated;

  • The sure signal works and provides signal to my work phone and has been live since 2015.
  • I have access and have added numbers previously and as recently as yesterday, which work.
  • The sure signal allows me to add numbers, it is registered to me!
  • My number which was ported is the issue.

May 15th- Phone call made to 191 for an unrelated query. Your member of staff even called me back as the wi-fi calling failed before I had chance to say anything.

It continued to cut out again, despite hanging out of a window for signal.

I was informed that the porting of my number is still not fully completed and that a request was put in and a call back to check this would take place in a further 24 hours.

 

VODAFONE

I have no phone signal in or outside my house that is sufficient to make or receive calls without the sure signal. Wi-fi calling for some reason on my galaxy S8 is not consistent enough to make a call.

 

I am unable to register my ported phone number to any sure signal that will give me a signal.

 

Other than changing my number completely for a Vodafone generated number which will 100% fix my issue, I have no choice but to escalate this to a complaint as it seems my problem is not being looked at properly and I am not being listened too.

 

I am paying for a service which I am not receiving and not once have Vodafone given me an answer or solution as to why my number is not working on the sure signal. There is the option to buy another sure signal but my number will not work on it anyhow.

 

Please come back to me with a resolution!

 

If anyone else has experience this issue or feels my pain, please get in touch.

 

2: Seeker
Hey Vodafone,
Just thought I would add some evidence to support my claim that the sure signal problem has nothing to do with the business account.
 
Please see attached images.

One is of the sure signal list of users. The first number is my wife's work number. The second is a colleague. The third and fourth are family members who both have personal accounts with Vodafone.
 
20180516_001828.jpg

 

20180516_002025.jpg

 

The latter three have all been added in the last 24 hours.
 
As I have said multiple times. I have access to the sure signal. I can add and remove numbers.
The other image is a screen shot from one of the numbers added confirming it has been added to the sure signal.

So I have access to the sure signal in my house, I can add numbers, receive confirmation they have been added.
 
What else do I need to do to prove that my ported number is the issue??????????

I have offered to add your own numbers at least twice.

My ported number does not work.
 
Also, still waiting for a complant reference number.
View more options
Moderator

Hi @alanludewig I can clearly see there must be an issue with the number due to you being able to add different numbers on to the Sure Signal. I'm really sorry for the continuous scenarios you've been part of. We'll absolutely need to look into why you aren't able to add the number, which will include discussing this privately. 

I've sent you a private message with details on how to get in touch.

 

View more options
2: Seeker

Just wondering if you ever got a resolution to this. I have just posted in the forum with exactly the same problem, and feel that Vodaphone are just passing me from pillar to post with ever increasing deadlines of when they will resolve the issue with nothing progressing. I am promised calls with supervisors to tell me how issue is progressing and no one ever rings back. As a new customer with Vodaphone i think i will have to cancel contracts if issue not resolved soon.

View more options
2: Seeker

@Sabeda wrote:

Just wondering if you ever got a resolution to this. I have just posted in the forum with exactly the same problem, and feel that Vodaphone are just passing me from pillar to post with ever increasing deadlines of when they will resolve the issue with nothing progressing. I am promised calls with supervisors to tell me how issue is progressing and no one ever rings back. As a new customer with Vodaphone i think i will have to cancel contracts if issue not resolved soon.


Hi. Its so frustrating isn't it!!!! 

I finally had this resolved just over a month after swapping to Vodafone.

It took more calls after the above. In the end I registered a complaint through their online form.

Even then they kept saying they needed permission from the business to add my number.

I found out through speaking with someone on 191 that my porting on the screen showed as complete, behind the scenes there were items still open.

Eventually, they explained that the number could be added by basically manipulating the system but needed permission.

 

Again, through repeating everything on two or three occasions they put me through to another back office department who promised a resolve within 3-5 days.

Sure enough it worked.

 

Sorry I don't have an answer as to why or what was going on with the porting but my advice is to log everything down and raise a complaint, eventually you should get your number added. Refer to this thread as they might be able to look up on their systems what the issue/fix was.

Good luck!!

I

 

 

View more options
2: Seeker

Thanks Alan...i guess i need to persevere next week.

View more options