Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ask

Solution

Unable to get signal abroad

dht32559
2: Seeker
2: Seeker

I received the new Blackberry bold. 9900, I think. Touch screen, anyway.

It worked fine in the UK, but I then travelled to Toronto where inexplicably, the phone can only obtain a SOS signal.

I have checked the settings, and everything seems to be fine (2G and 3G enabled; roaming enabled)... I'm not an expert on this stuff, but have a reasonable amount of common sense when looking through the config menus. Have tried removing battery and sim and giving it a cold reboot.

The problem seems to be fairly well reported in various circumstances, but I haven't been able to find a solution by looking online.

I can't seem to get hold of Vodafone's customer services. I had thought they were 24/7, but apparently not, and I'm on business, and have to attend lots of functions, which make it very difficult for me to call Vodafone at their convenience... and to do that even, I had to put some credit on a Skype account... and of course, VOD don't offer a geographic number because they're enjoying the income from the 087 number.  I don't imagine the other suppliers are any better, but I might still ditch this new VOD contract as the only way I have of really explaining how cross I am. Not that it'll really make a difference, but it might make me feel better.

My old Blackberry (the old Bold with the trackball) worked all over the place without a problem.

Connectivity aside, issue 2 is that I synched the new bberry with Outlook. If I receive a call from someone in my address book, the name does not show on-screen.

Anyway, if someone could tell me how to make this very expensive shiny pile of excrement work, that'd be great and would even bring a smile to my face.

Thanks!

D

13 REPLIES 13

DPH
14: Advanced member
14: Advanced member